We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get cultured!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ben Youssef Madrasa

Ben Youssef Madrasa
Kaat Benahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 61 Attractions in Marrakech
Type: Architectural Buildings, Educational Sites, Historic Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Amman, Jordan
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Get cultured!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I enjoyed the architecture of this school, the entry door and the country yard. Very cultural tour and highly recommended for the first time travelers to Marrakech. For more information visit alextravelblog.com

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,949 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,632
    1,031
    249
    30
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Stunning building dating back to Shakespeare's time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This building, restored in the past 20 years, was a sort of campus for Koranic scholars. Most of the rooms are small cells, plain and simple, many without daylight, where the scholars used to sleep. The most amazing part was the central courtyard where the patterning (tiles, wood and plaster) was overwhelmingly beautiful. A peaceful, inspiring space - definitely worth a visit.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, UK
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great arab design”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We, after a long trip from the main square, found the Ben Youssef Madrasa and we did not regret it !
It has a great history and some wonderful arabic design. We took lots of pictures and really enjoyed seeing the orginal arabic design and it is really unspoilt. It is worth every penny !

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knokke-Heist
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Interesting place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We visited this place and found it to be one of the most interesting places of historical and religious meaning in Marrakech, especially as the mosques are not accessible for not-muslims.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful and SO interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

At first, visiting a school seemed like an odd and potentially boring trip.

However, the building itself was worth the small fee (we bought a double ticket that also included entry into the Museum of Marrakech which is also worth a quick visit). The architecture was stunning, the intricacies of the stone and mosaic are astounding. We spent most of our visit taking photos in every room and corner.

There is also an educational function in that you get an insight into what life was like within an Islamic school- there are still little individual bedrooms and a communal bathroom.

This is a great place to visit and it is close to the Museum of Marrakech and the souks in the centre of the Old Town.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ben Youssef Madrasa also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Ben Youssef Madrasa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ben Youssef Madrasa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.