We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive architecture.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ben Youssef Madrasa

Ben Youssef Madrasa
Kaat Benahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$41*
and up
Marrakech Discovery Tour
Ranked #2 of 137 things to do in Marrakech
Attraction details
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Impressive architecture.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

A very good restoration which does not make it look too new
A very intriguing neighborhood and a perfect stop after The Photography museum

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,074 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,219
    1,462
    343
    38
    12
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful example of Islamic architecture”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

If you are into history , religion,art and architecture, you're in luck this has it all. Beautiful example of the symmetry incorporated in Islamic art and architecture. Also great insight into the life of Islamic students in the glory years. Gives a totally different connotation to the word "Madrasa" then what it is often associated with in today's charged political climate. Must see

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“One of the few opportunities to see Islamic architecture in Morocco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

As other reviewers have explained, non muslims cannot enter mosques in Morocco, so the madrasa offers an almost unique opportunity to see historical Islamic architecture. The building is not only beautiful, but also gives an insight into the lives of the students who studied here. There is a joint ticket for the Madrasa and the Museum of Marrakech, which is less interesting, but worth the few extra Dirham (I wouldn't pay full price for the single entry ticket to the museum only).

If you get a bit lost on your way here, don't accept directions from "Guides" (there are no official guides) as this will result in demands for money, or a trip to a shop, which will overcharge your to pay your "guides" commision. If you want directions ask a shop keeper or a restaurant receptionist (and express interest in returning after you have seen the madrasa to shop or dine).

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrera, Spain
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Simply breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Ali Ben Youssef Madrasa put me at a lost of words. The attention of this building is amazing! The quality of materials used is the best...A lot of history I learned and a few times I felt chills...

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat, Morocco
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“always a stunner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I've visited twice. It is truly beautiful. Try to go early to avoid the crowds. Go up both sides of the courtyard to the student rooms. One side has a little student room set up as it would have been. You can buy a combined ticket to the museum here too.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ben Youssef Madrasa also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Ben Youssef Madrasa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ben Youssef Madrasa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.