We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the few opportunities to see Islamic architecture in Morocco” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ben Youssef Madrasa

Ben Youssef Madrasa
Kaat Benahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 62 Attractions in Marrakech
Type: Architectural Buildings, Educational Sites, Historic Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“One of the few opportunities to see Islamic architecture in Morocco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

As other reviewers have explained, non muslims cannot enter mosques in Morocco, so the madrasa offers an almost unique opportunity to see historical Islamic architecture. The building is not only beautiful, but also gives an insight into the lives of the students who studied here. There is a joint ticket for the Madrasa and the Museum of Marrakech, which is less interesting, but worth the few extra Dirham (I wouldn't pay full price for the single entry ticket to the museum only).

If you get a bit lost on your way here, don't accept directions from "Guides" (there are no official guides) as this will result in demands for money, or a trip to a shop, which will overcharge your to pay your "guides" commision. If you want directions ask a shop keeper or a restaurant receptionist (and express interest in returning after you have seen the madrasa to shop or dine).

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,976 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,645
    1,043
    251
    30
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Utrera, Spain
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Simply breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Ali Ben Youssef Madrasa put me at a lost of words. The attention of this building is amazing! The quality of materials used is the best...A lot of history I learned and a few times I felt chills...

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat, Morocco
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“always a stunner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I've visited twice. It is truly beautiful. Try to go early to avoid the crowds. Go up both sides of the courtyard to the student rooms. One side has a little student room set up as it would have been. You can buy a combined ticket to the museum here too.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espinho, Portugal
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely week in Marrakech”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

As you are not allowed to enter mosques unless your a moslem. this old mosque and school because it is not used anymore as a religious place can be visit.
Nice architecture and nice to see how the student leaved in this place.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Beautiful architecture”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The architecture and the intricate works were beautiful! Being here felt like you were transported to another era. The small courtyards and the dorm rooms are well worth exploring.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ben Youssef Madrasa also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Ben Youssef Madrasa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ben Youssef Madrasa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.