We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the few opportunities to see Islamic architecture in Morocco” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ali Ben Youssef Madrasa

Ali Ben Youssef Madrasa
Just off Rue Souk el Khemis, Marrakech, Morocco
+212 5246-54578
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 91 attractions in Marrakech
Type: Architectural Buildings, Historic Sites, Educational Sites
Attraction Details
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“One of the few opportunities to see Islamic architecture in Morocco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

As other reviewers have explained, non muslims cannot enter mosques in Morocco, so the madrasa offers an almost unique opportunity to see historical Islamic architecture. The building is not only beautiful, but also gives an insight into the lives of the students who studied here. There is a joint ticket for the Madrasa and the Museum of Marrakech, which is less interesting, but worth the few extra Dirham (I wouldn't pay full price for the single entry ticket to the museum only).

If you get a bit lost on your way here, don't accept directions from "Guides" (there are no official guides) as this will result in demands for money, or a trip to a shop, which will overcharge your to pay your "guides" commision. If you want directions ask a shop keeper or a restaurant receptionist (and express interest in returning after you have seen the madrasa to shop or dine).

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,437 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,359
    845
    201
    27
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Utrera, Spain
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Simply breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Ali Ben Youssef Madrasa put me at a lost of words. The attention of this building is amazing! The quality of materials used is the best...A lot of history I learned and a few times I felt chills...

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat, Morocco
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“always a stunner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I've visited twice. It is truly beautiful. Try to go early to avoid the crowds. Go up both sides of the courtyard to the student rooms. One side has a little student room set up as it would have been. You can buy a combined ticket to the museum here too.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espinho, Portugal
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely week in Marrakech”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

As you are not allowed to enter mosques unless your a moslem. this old mosque and school because it is not used anymore as a religious place can be visit.
Nice architecture and nice to see how the student leaved in this place.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Beautiful architecture”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The architecture and the intricate works were beautiful! Being here felt like you were transported to another era. The small courtyards and the dorm rooms are well worth exploring.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ali Ben Youssef Madrasa also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Ali Ben Youssef Madrasa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ali Ben Youssef Madrasa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ali Ben Youssef Madrasa to your Saves list