We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Islamic Architecture” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ben Youssef Madrasa

Ben Youssef Madrasa
Kaat Benahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 141 things to do in Marrakech
Attraction details
Livingston, Scotland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Interesting Islamic Architecture”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This is a beautiful building and it is easy to imagine the scholars still studying here. I would not have cared to have had some of the rooms with no windows which must have been awfully dark pre-electricity.

Make sure to buy a joint ticket including the museum - it is really great. The exhibits are ok - but it is the building itself that is the main event. Even the toilets are done in a fantastic ornate style.

There is also a really good café where we had a nice meal accompanied by an orange cat which ate most of my tuna :)

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,688 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,010
    1,324
    310
    33
    11
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Madrasa”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Nice to visit locally the architecture was beautiful. Nice place to take photos. There was a tour guide there to go throught the history.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“A Must See!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Amazing, the architecture and detail is unbelievable! Great history behind this historical building.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Interesting bit of history”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

If you have been to another medrasa-well you get the idea... Hard to dialog, even with an educated guide about 'compare and contrast' to Western education.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Absolutley beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The palace is beautiful. Defenetly worth a visit. You can buy the ticket for the entrance togheter with the Musée de Marrakesh also very nice

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ben Youssef Madrasa also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Ben Youssef Madrasa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ben Youssef Madrasa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.