We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Madrasa” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ali Ben Youssef Madrasa

Ali Ben Youssef Madrasa
Just off Rue Souk el Khemis, Marrakech, Morocco
+212 5246-54578
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #3 of 84 attractions in Marrakech
Type: Architectural Buildings, Historic Sites, Educational Sites
Attraction Details
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Madrasa”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Nice to visit locally the architecture was beautiful. Nice place to take photos. There was a tour guide there to go throught the history.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,226
    770
    184
    26
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“A Must See!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Amazing, the architecture and detail is unbelievable! Great history behind this historical building.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Interesting bit of history”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

If you have been to another medrasa-well you get the idea... Hard to dialog, even with an educated guide about 'compare and contrast' to Western education.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Absolutley beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The palace is beautiful. Defenetly worth a visit. You can buy the ticket for the entrance togheter with the Musée de Marrakesh also very nice

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Well worth visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

bought combined museum and Ali Ben ticket, well worth it the ticket. Amazing architecture and attention to detail. The museum is small but the building is worth a visit on its own. After which you can go to the souks which are close by.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Ali Ben Youssef Madrasa also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Ali Ben Youssef Madrasa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ali Ben Youssef Madrasa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.