We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet and interesting spot...”
Review of Ali Ben Youssef Madrasa

Just off Rue Souk el Khemis, Marrakech, Morocco
+212 5246-54578
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #7 of 90 attractions in Marrakech
Type: Architectural Buildings, Historic Sites, Educational Sites
435 visitor photos
Write a Review

2,201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,221
    766
    184
    24
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Ali Ben Youssef Madrasa
See the most recent reviews
Richland, Washington
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“A quiet and interesting spot...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The Ali Ben Youssef Medersa is no longer a school..but is an excellent example of a long ago time and its architecture. The lower level consists of a huge courtyard with reflecting pool and wonderful examples of Moorish architecture. There is also a prayer room that you can enter. Upstairs are the rooms the students stayed in..small and labyrinthine...with one room set up as it would have been back in the day. This is not an exciting trip and honestly there is not much to see after you have been there for half hour or so, but it is quiet and peaceful and worth the stop!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Islamic School”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Some beautiful mosaic work and wooden and stone carvings inside parts of the building. Interesting history. A peacefull space amidst the hustle of the souq.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Beautiful building to visit but that is all it is, we had a guide to explain the history of the school and what the different rooms were used for.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worth the visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Worth the visit. For those with a view to history, this is a must see. Use a private guide. Not one that comes up to you in the street.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“one of the few monuments to see in Marrakesh - a must in my opinion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The patio is nice, the rooms of the former students impressive (as very small). You have to pay to enter but you get to see some nice architecture.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ali Ben Youssef Madrasa also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Ali Ben Youssef Madrasa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ali Ben Youssef Madrasa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.