We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful building” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ali Ben Youssef Madrasa

Ali Ben Youssef Madrasa
Just off Rue Souk el Khemis, Marrakech, Morocco
+212 5246-54578
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #3 of 84 attractions in Marrakech
Type: Architectural Buildings, Historic Sites, Educational Sites
Attraction Details
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Beautiful building to visit but that is all it is, we had a guide to explain the history of the school and what the different rooms were used for.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,226
    767
    184
    25
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worth the visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Worth the visit. For those with a view to history, this is a must see. Use a private guide. Not one that comes up to you in the street.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“one of the few monuments to see in Marrakesh - a must in my opinion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The patio is nice, the rooms of the former students impressive (as very small). You have to pay to enter but you get to see some nice architecture.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely for a bit of respite in the Medina”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Worth a visit to sit and take in the atmosphere. Beautiful carvings, really interesting to see all of the dorms.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautifully decorated madrassa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This is one of the few religious buildings that non-Muslims are permitted to visit in Marrakech. It has been exquisitely decorated with patterns and reliefs.

The price of entry is nominal, but there are few explanations of any kind so you may wish to ask for a guide.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ali Ben Youssef Madrasa also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Ali Ben Youssef Madrasa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ali Ben Youssef Madrasa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.