We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the few monuments to see in Marrakesh - a must in my opinion” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ben Youssef Madrasa

Ben Youssef Madrasa
Kaat Benahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 100 Attractions in Marrakech
Type: Architectural buildings, Historic sites, Colleges & universities, Sights & Landmarks
Attraction details
Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“one of the few monuments to see in Marrakesh - a must in my opinion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The patio is nice, the rooms of the former students impressive (as very small). You have to pay to enter but you get to see some nice architecture.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,784
    1,163
    279
    31
    10
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely for a bit of respite in the Medina”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Worth a visit to sit and take in the atmosphere. Beautiful carvings, really interesting to see all of the dorms.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Beautifully decorated madrassa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This is one of the few religious buildings that non-Muslims are permitted to visit in Marrakech. It has been exquisitely decorated with patterns and reliefs.

The price of entry is nominal, but there are few explanations of any kind so you may wish to ask for a guide.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“In the old town.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Nestled inside the wall of old town, this old school is worth visiting. It is slightly derelict and run down and at 50MAD per person it seems like an expensive attraction. You will see plenty going into the old town and the souks are on your doorstep which is close to the main square Place Jemma el Fnaa.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

A bit tricky to find, but persevere as it's well worth it. Don't listen to the locals who'll tell you it's closed and offer to take you to the tanneries instead.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ben Youssef Madrasa also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Ben Youssef Madrasa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ben Youssef Madrasa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.