We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ben Youssef Madrasa

Ben Youssef Madrasa
Kaat Benahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 140 things to do in Marrakech
Attraction details
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

A bit tricky to find, but persevere as it's well worth it. Don't listen to the locals who'll tell you it's closed and offer to take you to the tanneries instead.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,672 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,999
    1,320
    309
    33
    11
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
250 helpful votes 250 helpful votes
“Worth a visit but needs more information in english”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

50 Dirhams entry although you can buy a combined ticket with the Musee de Marrakech next door for 60 dirhams. It is not easy to find but locals showed us the way. The site is pretty well intact but poorly maintained with very few signs or information in English. Much of the stucco work has been restored and is fantastic - very similiar to the Alhambra in Granada Spain. Some of the artwork on the ceilings is also very impressive.Initially it is awe inspiring and interesting but there is a lot of it and it is easy to become a little blase about it after a while. The site has great potential to provide a great visitor experience but currently it is great to look at but unless you have a guide book(we did) it fails on a number of levels. It would be easy to kit out some of the rooms to show what the students had to experience. There were only 2 out oof 132 rooms with some furniture etc but no signs showing where they are so without a guide book you have to stumble upon them.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Very worth seeing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Walk through souks to get there if possible. It was set up in a convent way where the students lived in cells. The architecture and wooden carved walls are like a little Alhambra. See the museum next door on joined ticket.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
“Interesting ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We had to follow a local guy to show us the way. Very near to museum of Marrakech so easy to combine these two attractions. Take your time and enjoy the souks till you arrive. Our guide show us a bakery in a small underground room. When you arrive, its the same ticket for both Ben Youssef and museum 3?. Interesting yard and roofs. About a half of hour is enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Yardley Gobion, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An amazing place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

A great insight in to life as it was. Beautiful and interesting. We had a combined ticket with the Musee De Marakech--greay value!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ben Youssef Madrasa also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Ben Youssef Madrasa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ben Youssef Madrasa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.