We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ali Ben Youssef Madrasa

Ali Ben Youssef Madrasa
Just off Rue Souk el Khemis, Marrakech, Morocco
+212 5246-54578
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #7 of 90 attractions in Marrakech
Type: Architectural Buildings, Historic Sites, Educational Sites
Attraction Details
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Interesting with beautiful architecture. Fascinating and worth seeking out. In a maze of alleys. Atmospheric

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,221
    766
    184
    24
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful Koranic school”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

i was a bit sceptic, but definitely worth visiting. come to think of it, it was the best attraction in Marrakech. its part of the ticket to the museum. therefore its worth visiting both places. minimum will be 30 minute, we spent 1 hour and some. great picture spots.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful and peaceful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Wonderful carvings, water spouts and tiles.Fantastic central courtyard! Loved it! Was like an oases from the hectic Souks.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fascinating and evocative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Very enjoyable and could imagine student life in the Medresa due to ability to climb around the buildings. Beautiful architecture and a great visit

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballerup, Denmark
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Amazingly courtyard and buildings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This old Quranic school is so amazing on a sunny day. In the courtyard you can look around at so many beautiful details. Afterwards going around you can see how the students used to live, and that was really cool to step in a room, and look how things used to be and how people used to live.

Also, you can take a look out of into the courtyard in some windows. Leaving one behind in the courtyard and you can have some nice pictures with your head popping out of some beautiful building :)

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ali Ben Youssef Madrasa also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Ali Ben Youssef Madrasa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ali Ben Youssef Madrasa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.