We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Old School for Boys for Koranic Study” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ben Youssef Madrasa

Ben Youssef Madrasa
Kaat Benahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 62 Attractions in Marrakech
Type: Architectural Buildings, Educational Sites, Historic Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“An Old School for Boys for Koranic Study”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Hundreds of little rooms, some with outside windows, surrounded lightwells in this amazing large courtyard building where the First Koranic School in Marrakech educated Moroccan youth in life's essentials from the time of the Scholarly Ali Ben Youssef, an Almoravid Emir 1106 -1125.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,960 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,637
    1,037
    249
    30
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

... architecture. Peaceful and interesting. No need for a guide unless you really want to know details.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This was a truly worthwhile trek through the souks to eventually find this, the only mosque non-muslims are allowed in in marrakech(apparently). It is absolutely stunning and has some great history to go with it.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

As with many of the buildings in Marrakech - it is difficult to single any out. This was complete with the "cells" that the pupils had lived in until 1962. All the signs are in French or Arabic - so unless you read either language it can be a little awkward. I have "schoolgirl" French - which was sufficient to get the gist! It was certainly worth the trip.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
70 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Beautiful and relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Do not miss this place if you stay in Marrakech. The courtyard is beautiful and relaxing with impressive architecture. The walls are full of details and the place is more impressive than the other palaces in Marrakech. It is not so big and located in central Marrakech. It is easy to find if you have a map. The entry fee is quite high compared to other places in Marrakech (but not to in many other countries). You can buy a ticket that also includes the Marrakech museum.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ben Youssef Madrasa also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Ben Youssef Madrasa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ben Youssef Madrasa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.