We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ben Youssef Madrasa

Ben Youssef Madrasa
Kaat Benahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$40*
and up
Marrakech Discovery Tour
Ranked #2 of 150 things to do in Marrakech
Attraction details
Surrey
Level Contributor
102 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

As with many of the buildings in Marrakech - it is difficult to single any out. This was complete with the "cells" that the pupils had lived in until 1962. All the signs are in French or Arabic - so unless you read either language it can be a little awkward. I have "schoolgirl" French - which was sufficient to get the gist! It was certainly worth the trip.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,939 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,142
    1,422
    328
    35
    12
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
150 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Beautiful and relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Do not miss this place if you stay in Marrakech. The courtyard is beautiful and relaxing with impressive architecture. The walls are full of details and the place is more impressive than the other palaces in Marrakech. It is not so big and located in central Marrakech. It is easy to find if you have a map. The entry fee is quite high compared to other places in Marrakech (but not to in many other countries). You can buy a ticket that also includes the Marrakech museum.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very impressive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Worth to visit! Marvelous decorations. They furnished two student rooms to show you the differences between a peasant and a city student. It is a good idea to visit it together with the museum.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“What a beautiful site”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Very peaceful and beautiful monument in the heart of the Marrakech Souk. Liked the caligrapher who will inscribe your names in arabic for a very reasonable price. And loved the mosaics, the fountains, in fact the entire experience.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
90 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,007 helpful votes
“Beautiful Architecture!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Our of all the places we visited, except for maybe the Hassan II Mosque in Casablanca the Madrasa al ben youssef had the most beautiful architecture and mosaics that we saw. I highly recommend a visit.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ben Youssef Madrasa also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Ben Youssef Madrasa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ben Youssef Madrasa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.