We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ali Ben Youssef Madrasa

Ali Ben Youssef Madrasa
Just off Rue Souk el Khemis, Marrakech, Morocco
+212 5246-54578
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #7 of 90 attractions in Marrakech
Type: Architectural Buildings, Historic Sites, Educational Sites
Attraction Details
Uppsala, Sweden
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
66 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful and relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Do not miss this place if you stay in Marrakech. The courtyard is beautiful and relaxing with impressive architecture. The walls are full of details and the place is more impressive than the other palaces in Marrakech. It is not so big and located in central Marrakech. It is easy to find if you have a map. The entry fee is quite high compared to other places in Marrakech (but not to in many other countries). You can buy a ticket that also includes the Marrakech museum.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,221
    766
    184
    24
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lugano, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very impressive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Worth to visit! Marvelous decorations. They furnished two student rooms to show you the differences between a peasant and a city student. It is a good idea to visit it together with the museum.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“What a beautiful site”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Very peaceful and beautiful monument in the heart of the Marrakech Souk. Liked the caligrapher who will inscribe your names in arabic for a very reasonable price. And loved the mosaics, the fountains, in fact the entire experience.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah, United States
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
752 helpful votes 752 helpful votes
“Beautiful Architecture!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Our of all the places we visited, except for maybe the Hassan II Mosque in Casablanca the Madrasa al ben youssef had the most beautiful architecture and mosaics that we saw. I highly recommend a visit.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

The architecture of this place is breathtaking, and although there were lots of visitors around, one can almost feel the tranquil atmosphere

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ali Ben Youssef Madrasa also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Ali Ben Youssef Madrasa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ali Ben Youssef Madrasa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.