We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a beautiful site” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ben Youssef Madrasa

Ben Youssef Madrasa
Kaat Benahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 150 things to do in Marrakech
Attraction details
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“What a beautiful site”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Very peaceful and beautiful monument in the heart of the Marrakech Souk. Liked the caligrapher who will inscribe your names in arabic for a very reasonable price. And loved the mosaics, the fountains, in fact the entire experience.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,842 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,089
    1,387
    319
    35
    12
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Provo, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
91 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,010 helpful votes
“Beautiful Architecture!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Our of all the places we visited, except for maybe the Hassan II Mosque in Casablanca the Madrasa al ben youssef had the most beautiful architecture and mosaics that we saw. I highly recommend a visit.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

The architecture of this place is breathtaking, and although there were lots of visitors around, one can almost feel the tranquil atmosphere

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Hidden within the souk, this was a bit of a walk but the architecture was beautiful with lots of carved details. It would be a shame to go to Marrakech and not take the time to visit this Gem

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Educational”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Loved the architecture and guide was very interesting when he talked about the history of the place.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ben Youssef Madrasa also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Ben Youssef Madrasa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ben Youssef Madrasa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.