We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice architecture, take you back in time.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ben Youssef Madrasa

Ben Youssef Madrasa
Kaat Benahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 99 Attractions in Marrakech
Type: Architectural buildings, Colleges & universities, Historic sites, Sights & Landmarks
Attraction details
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very nice architecture, take you back in time.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

This medrassa is in the middle of the Old Medina area, it can be quite tricky to find but if you get lost, just ask one of the shop keepers where it is and they will give you the directions without "attaching" themselves onto you (like some of the locals may do, then ask for money at the end).

This is a great building to visit, the architecture takes you back in time, the building use to be a school and walking around the many rooms you get a feel of how things use to be.

There are lots of nice photo opportunities at this place, go just after midday and the sun will be shining at you will get the best photos. We would recommend a visit to Ali Ben Youssef Medrassa.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,789
    1,165
    280
    31
    10
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Highlight of Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

An exquisite building - the most beautiful we saw in Morocco - some relief from the extraordinary ornament in the others that covers the walls from top to toe - here beautiful chalk coral or buff plaster walls give some breathing room for the mosaic, wood, and carved plaster ornament. Also, a chance to see and learn how students of all classes (rural and urban) lived and studied as their quarters on the upper level are open for viewing.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“One of the highlights of Marrakech...must see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

I love the beautiful architecture and seeing the students' rooms. It made me imagine a different time.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Beautiful designs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

Traditional Moroccan art, a lot of history, well-kept. Very, very interesting - well worth a visit!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hard to find, but worth the search”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

We enjoyed visiting the Madrasa very much - the inside was gorgeous, and it was interesting to see a school of that design. We had quite a bit of trouble actually finding the place, but it was worth it when we finally arrived.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ben Youssef Madrasa also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Ben Youssef Madrasa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ben Youssef Madrasa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.