We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grounds and pool provided quiet by day; night-time disco spoiled sleep” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Marrakech le Semiramis

Save Saved
You added Hotel Marrakech le Semiramis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Marrakech le Semiramis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Route de Casablanca | Quartier Semlalia, Marrakech 525 , Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #337 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Crowborough, UK
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Grounds and pool provided quiet by day; night-time disco spoiled sleep”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2010

Nicely away from the hurly-burly of the Medina and frenetic centre of Marrakech the Semiramis is a haven of calm (well - by day anyway). My room was well furnished, clean and well-maintained. Couldn't get the air-con to work. Breakfast a great choice of qaulity edibales availbale. The pool and grounds are kept in top condition, with palmtrees and greenery everywhere. Concierge and reception staff a bit busque, porters very courteous and helpful, restaurant staff on the ball too. A pity that the disco ruined my getting to sleep, but overall I was happy with my stay although the hotel is quite a way from the city centre

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    192
    148
    66
    55
See reviews for
175
155
25
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

I read some bad reviews before going, but fortunately was not put off booking. There seems to be a theme that reception staff are unhelpful but all other staff are great and I would agree with this. Location is 10 min drive out of Marrakech, but for us was ideally located to be close enough to Jamaa El Fna, but away from the chaos. Cabs are between £1.80 and £5 each way, depending on your haggling power and the time of day. However the number 1 bus costs about 30p per person and stops outside the hotel and takes you straight into town (come out of main entrance, turn right, walk to road and cross over. Buses about every 20 mins). Hotel food was fresh and varied, and in my experience better than most local restaurants - however I don't eat meat and most of the local restaurants don't really cater for veggies and pescatarians. Freshly squeezed orange juice is plentiful in the square and costs about 30p for a glass. Enough of a reason to visit each day.

The hotel swimming pool is amazing and extremely well tended, however it wasn't heated at the end of October which put my teenage daughter off going in it on some days. It didn't put me and my husband off tho, in fact it suited us as we had it to ourselves some days. Watch out non swimmers tho - as it is very deep, apart from the childrens area which is safely sectioned off. The gym was clean and well equiped for a hotel gym and we used it most days.

Rooms were clean and comfortable and very quiet. Air con did not work, which would have been a big problem had we been there in the hottest months, but was not a major problem at the end of October. We were very satisfied with our family room.

If we wanted to find things to complain about, then we could have found some. However, bearing in mind the price we paid we were very happy with our choice and would recommend it to most realistic travellers, who are there to enjoy themselves and use it as a base to experience Marrakech, and not nit pick about small inconveniences.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

The Kenzi Semiramis is 2 miles out of town. But if you want to relax by a pool and chill out - then chance your arm at the souks and visit the Kasbah on another day this is great. A taxi into the centre is about 30 dirhams - £2.50. You wont get a nice pool area in a riad so the choice is yours. We went into town 3 or 4 times and relaxed the rest of the time. Yes the rooms are dated - but this is Africa and it all works fine. It's a 3 star hotel anywhere else in the world, but rooms are clean & large - twins have 2 doubles. Staff all speak French and some speak English. All staff were courteous and friendly - we only had one bad experience all week and used the buffet breakfast, a la carte restaurant and room service. Food very good, no illness whatsoever. If you don't want to haggle then go to Ensemble Artisanal (not Sunday) or Complex Artisanal - a little more expensive but fixed price. All in all a good stay and would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

I like most people read what others have said about this Hotel, and find it difficult to believe the gripes that have been written and i am glad i ignored them.
The Hotel was excellent value, we stayed AI, for 4 nights, great location, great staff,fantastic pool,food was excellent plenty of choice, the flat bread baked at the hotel was delicious. Some French will get you a long way
50 MAD to the medina, 40 back,loads of little shops nearby for righteous dates, cashews and honey nuts, taxi drivers are barking the visit to the Souk with the taxi from the hotel was hair raising, a adventure on its own.
Only drawbacks were shower and sun loungers both travellers being tall aside from that would recommend the Hotel

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

i am in the hotel at the moment and i am really disppointed from the personals from the hotel fornituer s especially the carpets they really must be cleaned when we 1st arrived they gave us a very bad room u cannot open the slide door and the view out side was covered with a big tree , in the hotel loby and in the coridore u sometimes smell the the hotel kitchin especially when they cock fish , i didnt like the room facilities
and the hotel is setuated not close to the marrakesh center
and let me tell u about the hotel garden
its small and limited and when it is night u cannot find a place where to set only in the restorants or in the bar the sweaming pool light were off and u cannot stay close to it
my stay will finish after 2 nights then we will move to kinzi farah i wish the condition there is better
have a nice vacation to everyone
Marwan

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

This hotel stood out because of the friendly staff. At the end of a 2 week holiday in Morocco I finally found myself staying with at a hotel where the staff spoke english and were helpful.
The pool is magnificent. Huge! There were plenty of sun loungers.
I got a taxi to the medina and would advise that, at 30 dirhams its not expensive and loads better than walking 45mins in the heat.
If I stayed again I would ask for a room away from the nightclub, I had a disturbed sleep, mainly because of the noise of people shouting outside as they left.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

Great rooms, we had a interconnecting suite and I can't fault the housekeeping. The front of house staff we dealt with were very helpful and professional.
We spent two nights on "all inclusive" and to be honest this was not a very strong point for the hotel. They appear to believe that as you're "all inclusive" that they don't need to offer a 4/5 star service.
I can understand (almost) disposable cup around the pool (although it wasn't due to H&S as they served beer in glass bottles), but getting soft drinks served in disposable cups in the main hotel bar is a joke and taking the cost saving way to far. This is after all a 4/5 star hotel.
No one is forcing them to offer the "all inclusive" option, I feel that once they made the business decision to offer it they then started to find ways of doing it as cheap as possible and this comes across in the service and quality of food.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Marrakech le Semiramis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marrakech le Semiramis

Address: Route de Casablanca | Quartier Semlalia, Marrakech 525 , Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#131 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#135 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marrakech le Semiramis 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 4-story Hotel with 2-story Atrium Lobby, situated on palm-studded grounds, near commercial area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Marrakech le Semiramis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kenzi Semiramis
Kenzi Semiramis Marrakech
Kenzi Semiramis Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Marrakech le Semiramis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.