We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amanjena

Save Saved
You added Amanjena to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Amanjena
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Route de Ouarzazate, km 12 | Amelkis, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #140 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Manchester, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

Stayed at Amanjena for 4 nights. What a hotel! The staff were unbelievably attentive throughout the resort and the food was out of this world - better than any restaurants we ate in within Marrakech itself.
The rooms are spectacular having stayed in both the larger and smaller villas. Golf next door was perfect for a few holes in the evening and arranged by the hotel. Their spa and gym facilities were also a great addition to our trip.
Amanjena is a truly magnificent establishment and a testament to the quality and luxury of Aman resorts - and only encourages me to visit more of their hotels around the world.
Yes it is expensive but you get what you pay for, in this case, unparalleled luxury. Nowhere looks more impressive than this slice of heaven as it basks in the warm Moroccan winter sun.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    97
    15
    7
    0
    3
See reviews for
24
54
5
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire england
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

we visited amanjena for five days in march 2010 - it is expensive but worth every penny - we were greeted with a traditional greeting of a glass of morroccan mint tea and shown round the hotel before being shown to our pavilion piscine which was out of this world - before unpacking we stripped off and plunged into our private heated pool - absolutely fabulous.
it is expensive - if you cannot afford it , dont go - but if you can afford it the service and attention to detail is out of this world.
in march the hotel was quiet which suited us and we went to la mamounia for dinner one evening but the food was not to the standard of amanjena.
the privacy and solitude suited us and we will definitely look at other aman resorts - but for marrakech - it will only be amanjena

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2010

Just returned from the Amanjena and we loved it. The palace is amazing, very peaceful and relaxing. There were very few people staying there and we had the feeling that we were not in a hotel but in our home. Service is perfect, always very helping, quick and discret.
Our room was a basic pavillon and it was awsome : falling asleep in an absolute sechluded ambiance with a warm fire in the fireplace was magic.
Bring your ipod/iphone, you can put your music over the flat TV and the sound is top notch.
The bathroom is very very large, the Aman bath products are very rich and smell ginger. The hotel offers you a pair of typical slippers for his and her which are very comfortable. Towels are really fluffy, the bed is extra and very welcoming. You can drink tea mint all over the day. You never sign anything during your stay, and the night before your departure, they give you the bill. A driver comes to pick you up at the airport in a rutilent Mercedes (the same to go back at your departure). Anytime you want to go to town (about 15 min), a driver is available with a rutilent Mercedes (charged for about 45 euros) and you can just call him whenever you want to go back to the Amanjena.
You can ask the hotel to call a taxi (very dumpy and smelly car) and it will cost you about 10 euros for one trip without the return. It is more economic also.
I can understand why some people do not appreciate this place because it is quite desert in people, it is not close to the Medina and it is an expensive place to stay but if you are looking for an exclusive service and environment, Amanjena is for you. Clients are very discret because the place is it for : many international celebreties come here and you never see them as you almost never see the other client. The resort is really huge, and it has only 34 rooms...
The Spa is small and very well maintained and the massage was good but the hammam was not hot enough for me. There is no sauna or interior swimming pool but there is a jacuzzi (whirlpool).
We spent some time during our stay in la Mamounia which is more central and close to touristic attractions. It has been all renewed and we did not like the ambience there : it seems to be like any other 5 stars hotel and the world, very new, very perfect and so much more people than at the Amanjena, who are looking at you and overall, wanting to be seen.
All in all, I could say that if you want to see and be seen, you should stay at la Mamounia : you'll get for your money (although its Spa is wonderful). If you want calm, discretion and not be seen : choose the Amanjena. People who are staying at the Amanjena don't want to show off, they don't want to expose how rich they are, how successfull they are... So, it really depends on your own expectation. But nobody care at the Amanjena how pricey is your watch or diamond, neither you can show your last it bag, it really doesn't matter ! On the other hand, you will find at the Amanjena so many details to make you feel special (each night, you have a surpise on your bed : a little gift from the hotel, you always have some fresh fruits, nuts etc.. with a bottle of wine waiting for your pleasure in your room). Each room has a large terrace with a fountain, a large gazebo with comfortable chairs. You have storage in your dressing space for a minimum of 15 days of stay, you have a hat to protect you from the sun, a large coat to protect you from the cold, etc... You just feel at home.
I higly recommend this place for people looking for true luxury in an absolute discretion and warm peace. I just cannot wait for going to an other Aman resort...

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2010

We were there on our honeymoon , thankfully only for 2 nights . Everything is extra , and extremely expensive , including the car service into Marrakech for $40.00 a ride for about 20 minutes . Food - awful , I returned my frozen fish at our meal there . You're not in Morocco there . Just in a giant fake setting , where there is none of the warmth of this lovely country .

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2009

Stayed here in October and I recommend it. It is expensive but worth every penny. Great villas, fantastic food (I ate at the hotel almost every day, I particularly liked the pool restaurant). Small details make such a difference like the free provision of water in the rooms, refreshments and towels by the tennis courts, free car service, etc. The staff provided probably the best service I've ever had. I will definitely go back. The only slightly negative point was the quality of the massage. I think it could have been better.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

what can i say. it is paradise on earth. i am writing this review from Amanjena, and so far it is incredible. the beauty of this hotel is just unbelivable. the rooms are amazing, we are stay in the bassin with pool. the staff is beyond, and the manager is always there.
the only dowside is the food is not consistant, the Thai food is the best (there r 3 menues - Spanish,Marrocan and Thai) i recommend the guided tours, they r done in S class or ML class which is great. the spa and gym are amazing. i read an unfaforable comments about it, but coming from the best spas in Europe (last one four seasons provence which won the best in Europe) i prefer this one. if i think of a place i want to renew my vows, this will be the place. i do recommend though for all Aman resorts to try and do some networking activities - like a big table dinner or cocktail or shesh besh tournament. we do pay alot for this privacy - but it would be nice to communicate with some of the guests (who r interested).
i will definetly come back

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somewhere
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2009

This is an absolutely beautiful resort with only 37 rooms spread over a large, nicely landscaped area with many water details. The rooms are basically "Casitas" with a walled enclosure and a pavilion outside with built in lounging furniture. The rooms are large and clean with large baths having windows to small outside gardens. There were always snacks in our room, fruit, dates, almonds and peanuts, the limited menu room service was good.

We were there a week and a half and the service and cleanliness throughout the hotel were excellent. The car service provided by the hotel was efficient and the drivers knew the area quite well.

I was a bit surprised at some of the negative comments in other reviews. Other than the food falling a bit short of my expectations, I did not experience any issues with service or cleanliness and I will gladly return to Amanjena in due course.

The manager of the hotel is Miguel Guedes De Sousa and I had several conversations with him during our stay. He was very helpful to us and he certainly seems committed to maintaining a quality operation.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amanjena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanjena

Address: Route de Ouarzazate, km 12 | Amelkis, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Marrakech
#30 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#55 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#121 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Amanjena 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is a place in paradise where peace holds time, where nature and culture know no seams, where comfort and luxury unite in style and where water reflects the blush of clay. This place is Amanjena, Morocco’s Moorish rose, a resort secluded in a private lush haven near the pulsating Medina of Marrakech and the High Atlas Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Amanjena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amanjena Hotel Marrakech
Amanjena Resort Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amanjena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.