We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic hotel - is struggling with details” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amanjena

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Amanjena to your Saves list
Amanjena
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Route de Ouarzazate, km 12 | Amelkis, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #167 of 474 Hotels in Marrakech
Hamburg, Germany
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“fantastic hotel - is struggling with details”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The service is a class of its own - no signing of bills, no filling of laundry forms or any other forms, may it be for an excursion or a rental car. The hotel its trustful with its clients.

We entered a car and the driver was asking if it is our first time in Marokko. I said yes and added that we just arrived yesterday - the driver was simple saying "I know". This is what often happens. Staff knows the room number from day one, the names and what you were doing yesterday.

The rooms are large, very well decorated and furnished.

All this matches and is worth the price of 1000 Euro and up per night per room.

But some details make it impossible to rate this place excellent (in relation to the price of course). The air condition put at its coldest and 24 hours constantly running was not able to get the temperature to where we wanted it at about 20 Celsius. Even though it was october, meaning the temperatures were comparatively low. We had the hotel check the aircon and were told that is gonna work properly within an hour. The engineer was obviously not doing anything and the result was as expected. We had to deal with the more or less too high temperature throughout our stay. The minibar was completely wrong designed as the fridge was completely biuld into furniture avoiding any circulation behind it. With my fingers I could feel that it is about 30-40 Celsius around the fridge running at max - inside it was then about 10-15 degrees. Not the temperature I like for a beer or a coke. All these things are unnecessary.

From my point of view mattresses unusal hard for a 5 star hotel.

From my impression nothing in the hotel is actually old (buildings) or nature (garden). It is an oasis and very beautiful - but it keeps a somewhat artificial atmosphere which is not so Aman style.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    16
    9
    0
    4
See reviews for
28
64
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fontainebleau, Ile-de-France, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We were not staying at the hotel, but decided to visit for some late afternoon tea. The resort is a 15 minutes drive from the Madina, and the roads are very scenic. The architecture of the hotel is very beautiful, and all the staff are very helpful (the theme in Marrakech).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed in the amanjena hotel and it was excellent!
The exquisite architecture, the details of design, interior design, the gardening, and ta marvelous service and great chefs!
We had a beautiful morrocan style villa with private garden and swimmingpool and a veranda.
We have stayed in several aman hotels around the world and we are aman junkies ! love the service and the sophisticated atmosphere!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
314 helpful votes 314 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

This is another beautiful Aman resort. The usual obsession with symmetry, elegance and privacy. Beautiful and most comfortable villas. Fantastic spa. But the pool area is nauseous. If the locals don't want scantily dressed westerners, they should say so, and we'll close the hotels. The whole atmosphere is rather Weird. Room service is, like in all Amans, passable at best. The driver booked to take us to the Median ended up being a disaster. A militant anti-american with stereotyped views who was too keen to discuss issues we had little interest in during our trip. Altogether, a very average stay despite the steep price tag. Not recommended.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
230 helpful votes 230 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

i would not consider this Hotel "resort" of being perfect but, i have to be fair and give it the Grade it deserves which is five stars.

defnitly i would put ahead of it the royal mansour in marrakech , they are both very diffrent from each other therefore still i would not hesitate to praise this hotel if asked.

the service is over the top attentive, very very good , the rooms are normal not too much details on the design , but it has this special tranquility feeling to it , its very spacious, calming, nice pvt heated pools

the best part is the garden , and the view of the resort it self, nice artificial stream/lake infront of you that reflects the entire resort, and finally waking up on the sounds of birds singing makes it all better

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Amanjena is the definition of understated luxury, from the moment you enter this oasis you know its going to be a great stay, or Meal the staff are Amazing, the food best in Marrakech eating the thai green curry is like being teleported to Amanpuri in Thailand, the chicken pastilla and tajine are both as good at it gets in the city!

It's stunning at night candle light with live music in the garden in summer and Moroccan restaurant inside in the winter with its grand courtyard and marble columns makes a dramatic setting for a romantic dinner!

The pool area lovely to relax with a salad and cocktail and catch some rays!

There are many high end hotels in Marrakech but none with the staff as good as Amanjena!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I haven't written a review in while but everyone who wants to know should know that this hotel is amazing. I wasn't sure where to stay and went back and forth over and over with my travel agent before we left. There are so many incredible hotels in Marrakech, and let me tell you this hotel is out of this world. I seriously loved, loved, loved every minute of it. They are so warm and endearing and hospitable and just amazing. I can't say one bad thing, not one. We travel soooo much and this is by far the best hotel I have ever stayed in. Aman properties are superb and this place just lives up to it. Any questions or concerns send me a message. Best decision we made was staying here, wish it was for longer. Hope to be back next May for my birthday! So jealous of anyone who stays here!

Room Tip: Even the lowest category room is gorgeous and ginormous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Amanjena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanjena

Address: Route de Ouarzazate, km 12 | Amelkis, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Marrakech
#79 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#91 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Amanjena 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is a place in paradise where peace holds time, where nature and culture know no seams, where comfort and luxury unite in style and where water reflects the blush of clay. This place is Amanjena, Morocco’s Moorish rose, a resort secluded in a private lush haven near the pulsating Medina of Marrakech and the High Atlas Mountains. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Amanjena Hotel Marrakech
Amanjena Resort Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amanjena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.