We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for sunset tea” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amanjena

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Amanjena to your Saves list
Amanjena
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Route de Ouarzazate, km 12 | Amelkis, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #138 of 463 Hotels in Marrakech
Fontainebleau, Ile-de-France, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place for sunset tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We were not staying at the hotel, but decided to visit for some late afternoon tea. The resort is a 15 minutes drive from the Madina, and the roads are very scenic. The architecture of the hotel is very beautiful, and all the staff are very helpful (the theme in Marrakech).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    15
    8
    0
    3
See reviews for
25
58
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed in the amanjena hotel and it was excellent!
The exquisite architecture, the details of design, interior design, the gardening, and ta marvelous service and great chefs!
We had a beautiful morrocan style villa with private garden and swimmingpool and a veranda.
We have stayed in several aman hotels around the world and we are aman junkies ! love the service and the sophisticated atmosphere!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
298 helpful votes 298 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

This is another beautiful Aman resort. The usual obsession with symmetry, elegance and privacy. Beautiful and most comfortable villas. Fantastic spa. But the pool area is nauseous. If the locals don't want scantily dressed westerners, they should say so, and we'll close the hotels. The whole atmosphere is rather Weird. Room service is, like in all Amans, passable at best. The driver booked to take us to the Median ended up being a disaster. A militant anti-american with stereotyped views who was too keen to discuss issues we had little interest in during our trip. Altogether, a very average stay despite the steep price tag. Not recommended.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
260 reviews 260 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
212 helpful votes 212 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

i would not consider this Hotel "resort" of being perfect but, i have to be fair and give it the Grade it deserves which is five stars.

defnitly i would put ahead of it the royal mansour in marrakech , they are both very diffrent from each other therefore still i would not hesitate to praise this hotel if asked.

the service is over the top attentive, very very good , the rooms are normal not too much details on the design , but it has this special tranquility feeling to it , its very spacious, calming, nice pvt heated pools

the best part is the garden , and the view of the resort it self, nice artificial stream/lake infront of you that reflects the entire resort, and finally waking up on the sounds of birds singing makes it all better

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Amanjena is the definition of understated luxury, from the moment you enter this oasis you know its going to be a great stay, or Meal the staff are Amazing, the food best in Marrakech eating the thai green curry is like being teleported to Amanpuri in Thailand, the chicken pastilla and tajine are both as good at it gets in the city!

It's stunning at night candle light with live music in the garden in summer and Moroccan restaurant inside in the winter with its grand courtyard and marble columns makes a dramatic setting for a romantic dinner!

The pool area lovely to relax with a salad and cocktail and catch some rays!

There are many high end hotels in Marrakech but none with the staff as good as Amanjena!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I haven't written a review in while but everyone who wants to know should know that this hotel is amazing. I wasn't sure where to stay and went back and forth over and over with my travel agent before we left. There are so many incredible hotels in Marrakech, and let me tell you this hotel is out of this world. I seriously loved, loved, loved every minute of it. They are so warm and endearing and hospitable and just amazing. I can't say one bad thing, not one. We travel soooo much and this is by far the best hotel I have ever stayed in. Aman properties are superb and this place just lives up to it. Any questions or concerns send me a message. Best decision we made was staying here, wish it was for longer. Hope to be back next May for my birthday! So jealous of anyone who stays here!

Room Tip: Even the lowest category room is gorgeous and ginormous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stayed at this hotel in 2011. It is a little way out of the city of Marrakech but the complimentary mini bus was a godsend. From the moment the plane landed on the tarmac and we embarked the plane we were greeted by the staff from the hotel. Our luggage was collected for us and the luxury treatment began.

The villa was superb. We had a two storey large two bedroom villa with a pool.

The service is second to none. I have not stayed anywhere else where the service came even close. We were treated like family.

The restaurants are all excellent. You have to try the chocolate fondant in the thai restaurant that's all i'm saying.

This hotel is one of the best in the world and has a high price tag to show for it. But I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

If there is a criticism its that everything is for an additional price. I think the room price should include the breakfast.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who can afford it and also to couples planning a honeymoon to remember. It is everything you could possibly want

Room Tip: Anywhere is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amanjena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanjena

Address: Route de Ouarzazate, km 12 | Amelkis, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Marrakech
#44 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#55 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#110 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Amanjena 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is a place in paradise where peace holds time, where nature and culture know no seams, where comfort and luxury unite in style and where water reflects the blush of clay. This place is Amanjena, Morocco’s Moorish rose, a resort secluded in a private lush haven near the pulsating Medina of Marrakech and the High Atlas Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Amanjena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amanjena Hotel Marrakech
Amanjena Resort Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amanjena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.