We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply superb in every way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amanjena

Save Saved
You added Amanjena to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Amanjena
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Route de Ouarzazate, km 12 | Amelkis, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #133 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Simply superb in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Late May, looking for a quiet, relaxing week in the sun not too far from the UK. Wanted a private pool, serenity, pampering. The Amanjena filled the bill perfectly. We took a pool villa, a beautiful 3000 sq ft compound that included a whopper of a master suite, a huge outdoor lounge area where we had room service breakfasts and lunches every day, and our pool. All glowing reviews of the immaculate grounds and facilities are correct: the place is gorgeous, the villas fabulous and most of all, super peaceful, the food excellent. We ventured out only once, for a drink at the Mamounia, which although beautiful, is a totally different experience. If you want peace and quiet away from the bustle in an beautiful setting and exceptional, personal care, Amanjena is the place. No bling, no 'scene'. This is a discreet, subtly elegant place. And what stands out particularly is in fact the service. The staff are, without exception, wonderful. We were made to feel at home from the second we arrived. Friendly, warm, professional, and incredibly helpful. Every request (and, trust me, we had a few, starting with room service and some rather complicated vegetable and fruit juices every morning) was greeted with an unreserved "Of course." One very special place, a winning combo of beautiful design and superlative service. Definitely intend to be back very soon.

Room Tip: If you're taking a pool villa (the reservations manager is going to kill me!) I'd go for a w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    97
    15
    7
    0
    3
See reviews for
24
54
5
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gallarate, Italy
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Third time in Aman resorts, amanpuri (thailand) amanusa (bali) and now amanjena in marakesh. Always the best, the architecture is amazing and as soon as you step in the first time your eyes need of an extra job. What a wonderful place, difficult to destcribe. And even here in amnjena a breathtaking setup is always around you. The room can be understood only from people who the style of aman resort because are gorgeous. Expensive with no doubt we are really close to perdection.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Amanjena, as in all Aman hotels we've tried, was near perfect with extraordinary service from beginning to end, perfect rooms and wonderful food in both the Moroccan and Thai restaurants. Pool is amazing and a welcome respite as the temperature in April was over 100 (41c) so we limited our touring to the morning.

Room Tip: Except for 2br villas all rooms are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigginsBoy
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

I am currently sitting at the Amanjena. It's the last of my 5 days here and I have to say this place is as good as it gets. Tranquil location, palatial room, literally dozens of staff who cannot do enough for you and currently perfect weather. A rockstar at the pool (one of my idols so I'm biased there), trip arranged into Marrakech with a great guide, surprise cake on my birthday......... I could go on.

This is the 2nd Aman resort I have stayed at. The first was in Phuket. I love the fact there are no bills to sign and the staff remember your name - it feels like visiting someone's home rather than a hotel. Even though the hotel is almost full you feel like there is almost no one here. Don't come if you like people watching. Do come if you want to relax in private.

The price is eye watering and nothing is cheap when you get here - but if you can then my advice would be you should visit.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Amanjena once in April of 2011 and again in May of 2012. We tried to find another resort to tempt us away from returning to the same venue but nothing came close. The first time we stayed in a basic one room villa with small private courtyard and fountain. The second time we were upgraded to a two story huge villa with two bedrooms, a large living area and gorgeous private pool! The upgrade was complementary and is typical of the stellar service Aman resorts bestow upon their returning guests!
Both of the times we stayed at the Amanjena, we experienced the same amazing service, peaceful relaxation in a luxurious setting and enjoyed delicious meals. What more can you ask for?
There are three (Poolside for lunch & breakfast, Thai and Moroccan) restaurants on the resort and you never have to worry about booking in advance. The staff bend over backwards to give you whatever you ask for. Both times we traveled with our young son who required meals that weren't on the menu but it was never an issue. The quality of the food is what you would expect to get in a 5 star resort.
The service at this resort is exemplary, from the greeting at the airport when you land (staff whisks you through immigration and into a waiting luxury vehicle) to the time of your departure when a big group of the staff gather in courtyard to wish you safe travels and farewell. Upon entering your room for the first time, there is always a complementary bottle of wine or champagne with a lovely note from the GM who will take time to come and greet you in person during your stay. The room is fully stocked with a Nespresso machine, daily filled bowls of nuts, dates and fresh fruit and of course bottled water, all complementary.
The gym on the property is small but never crowded so my husband and I were able to get a daily workout in. The spa is well laid out and provides all the basic services (massage, facials etc) including traditional Hammam.
There is one large pool on the property which is very peaceful as many the guests have their own private pools so there is the option to sunbathe in the privacy of your villa on at the main pool.
One of best things about this resort aside from all the obvious which I mentioned above, was the amazing nanny who cared for our son during our stay, she was so lovely and wonderful with him and it was one of the main reasons we chose to return to this hotel. The staff here are all wonderful and go out of their way to make you feel at home, cater to your every whim and do so with smiles on their faces. It is the little things like this which can make or break a holiday.
If you are looking for a stress, hassle free, luxurious, peaceful and relaxing holiday and are willing to pay the price, this resort is for you! I would not think twice about returning for a third time.
I have also stayed at the Amanusa in Bali and the Amanpuri in Phuket and while they both stunning properties and are sublime in their own right, the Amanjena is truly special!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This is our favourite hotel EVER.
We travelled to Marrakech with our 4 children (15,13,11,8) for the mid-February break, and wanted to stay a bit out of the chaos of the Medina to really relax and enjoy our holiday, and this hotel was phenomenal for just that.
From our arrival to our departure, there was not a flaw to be found. The staff treated all of us like guests at their own house...they greeted us always by our names, including the children...and the havianas, slippers and authentic Morrocan robes in the villa made us really feel at home. Omar went out of his way to make sure everything was perfect along the way.
The grounds and spa facilities were immaculately upkept. The pools were beautiful and warm enough for the children to swim in even at 18*C outdoor temperatures.
The food at each meal was delicious (we ate at each of the restaurants -- the Thai restaurant being a nice departure from the traditional Moroccan cuisine, which was superb, by the way).

This was our first Aman experience, but certainly, now, not our last!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

As always Aman hotel chain provides the best hospitality in Marakesch. They have the best trained staff for a boutique hotel even the people in the courtyard has the attitude of greeting the guests not to mentioned the drivers who has a very thorough knowledge about Morocco. Superb...!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amanjena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanjena

Address: Route de Ouarzazate, km 12 | Amelkis, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Marrakech
#30 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#51 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#121 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Amanjena 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is a place in paradise where peace holds time, where nature and culture know no seams, where comfort and luxury unite in style and where water reflects the blush of clay. This place is Amanjena, Morocco’s Moorish rose, a resort secluded in a private lush haven near the pulsating Medina of Marrakech and the High Atlas Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Amanjena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amanjena Hotel Marrakech
Amanjena Resort Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amanjena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;