We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aman luxury and service at it's finest!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amanjena

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Amanjena to your Saves list
Amanjena
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Route de Ouarzazate, km 12 | Amelkis, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #135 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Aman luxury and service at it's finest!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Amanjena once in April of 2011 and again in May of 2012. We tried to find another resort to tempt us away from returning to the same venue but nothing came close. The first time we stayed in a basic one room villa with small private courtyard and fountain. The second time we were upgraded to a two story huge villa with two bedrooms, a large living area and gorgeous private pool! The upgrade was complementary and is typical of the stellar service Aman resorts bestow upon their returning guests!
Both of the times we stayed at the Amanjena, we experienced the same amazing service, peaceful relaxation in a luxurious setting and enjoyed delicious meals. What more can you ask for?
There are three (Poolside for lunch & breakfast, Thai and Moroccan) restaurants on the resort and you never have to worry about booking in advance. The staff bend over backwards to give you whatever you ask for. Both times we traveled with our young son who required meals that weren't on the menu but it was never an issue. The quality of the food is what you would expect to get in a 5 star resort.
The service at this resort is exemplary, from the greeting at the airport when you land (staff whisks you through immigration and into a waiting luxury vehicle) to the time of your departure when a big group of the staff gather in courtyard to wish you safe travels and farewell. Upon entering your room for the first time, there is always a complementary bottle of wine or champagne with a lovely note from the GM who will take time to come and greet you in person during your stay. The room is fully stocked with a Nespresso machine, daily filled bowls of nuts, dates and fresh fruit and of course bottled water, all complementary.
The gym on the property is small but never crowded so my husband and I were able to get a daily workout in. The spa is well laid out and provides all the basic services (massage, facials etc) including traditional Hammam.
There is one large pool on the property which is very peaceful as many the guests have their own private pools so there is the option to sunbathe in the privacy of your villa on at the main pool.
One of best things about this resort aside from all the obvious which I mentioned above, was the amazing nanny who cared for our son during our stay, she was so lovely and wonderful with him and it was one of the main reasons we chose to return to this hotel. The staff here are all wonderful and go out of their way to make you feel at home, cater to your every whim and do so with smiles on their faces. It is the little things like this which can make or break a holiday.
If you are looking for a stress, hassle free, luxurious, peaceful and relaxing holiday and are willing to pay the price, this resort is for you! I would not think twice about returning for a third time.
I have also stayed at the Amanusa in Bali and the Amanpuri in Phuket and while they both stunning properties and are sublime in their own right, the Amanjena is truly special!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    15
    7
    0
    3
See reviews for
24
54
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This is our favourite hotel EVER.
We travelled to Marrakech with our 4 children (15,13,11,8) for the mid-February break, and wanted to stay a bit out of the chaos of the Medina to really relax and enjoy our holiday, and this hotel was phenomenal for just that.
From our arrival to our departure, there was not a flaw to be found. The staff treated all of us like guests at their own house...they greeted us always by our names, including the children...and the havianas, slippers and authentic Morrocan robes in the villa made us really feel at home. Omar went out of his way to make sure everything was perfect along the way.
The grounds and spa facilities were immaculately upkept. The pools were beautiful and warm enough for the children to swim in even at 18*C outdoor temperatures.
The food at each meal was delicious (we ate at each of the restaurants -- the Thai restaurant being a nice departure from the traditional Moroccan cuisine, which was superb, by the way).

This was our first Aman experience, but certainly, now, not our last!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

As always Aman hotel chain provides the best hospitality in Marakesch. They have the best trained staff for a boutique hotel even the people in the courtyard has the attitude of greeting the guests not to mentioned the drivers who has a very thorough knowledge about Morocco. Superb...!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

All the Aman touches are here in spades, from the personal welcome from the GM (the newly installed Gabriel Lousada who comes to Amanjena from Amanruya) to the exquisite habit of waving guests off as they leave, Amanjena comes up trumps.

The villas are palatial, the entire complex is a vintage Ed Tuttle designed epic. Sprawling and generously sized with reflecting pools at every turn and a huge central bassein with carp and a resident heron, Amanjena is sensationally imposing, if a little unnerving when it's empty as it was when we stayed in late 2012.

We took over the specially installed Berber tent for one of our evening meals and dined amongst candlelight serenaded by a traditional trio which was a ludicrous indulgence but intensely evocative and memorable. The food was delicious - the best pastilla in Marrakech. The service as always was exemplary, last minute changes in guest numbers were handled with aplomb and the kitchen whipped up a sensational display of extravagant cakes, spun sugar and tiny puddings as as extra surprise for the guest of honour on her birthday.

An outstanding experience in every respect - congratulations to the entire Amajena team.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We spent 4 nights with our kids of 9, 7 & 2 at the Amanjena.
This is not a Club med but the kids enjoyed anyway the villa with private pools, the gardens and the big pool. Great service, great food, great people.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We stayed at Aman Marrakech in June 2012. It was the most over-rated hotel I have ever stayed in - and I stay in hotels at least 150 nights each year. It cost $1,200 per night, occupancy was less than 10% and the food had been frozen at the beginning of the Summer (low) Season and they re-heated it in the micro-wave .... unbelievable. The whole family got sick from the food and we don't think we would ever stay in an Aman resort again ... and based on their occupancy of 10%, others are also voting with their feet. The Four Seasons and La Mamounia are far better - although the food wasn't great at either, but far better than at Aman. Aman is also a country mile from where you really want to stay - in the central tourist area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed five nights in October. This was our 2nd visit to Amanjena and it was wonderful to come back after 11 years. The resort is even better now and a real oasis - a wonderful place to relax after enjoying the sights of Marrakech and surroundings.

Pavilions are spacious and beautiful. I love the bathtub with view to a small lemon tree and the ample storage space in the wardrobe. Beds are very comfortable (request a mattress topper if you like softer beds) and housekeeping does a great job in keeping everything immaculate and constantly refilling the complimentary snacks. Appreciate the Nespresso machine as well, as I cannot get out of my bed without a coffee.

Food really tasty and service very quick and friendly with great recommendations and flexibility if one would like to eat something that is not on the menu. We enjoyed most of our meal outside being able to see and experience what I consider is the most beautiful of the Amanresorts at night with all the lights and local musicians to entertain. We also ordered room service a number of times which was always correct and quick with table set up just as we would prefer.

Excursions are excellent. We had two half day visits to the medina with the great guide Hassane (German speaking and very friendly, flexible and knowledgeable) in additiono a memorable visit to a berber home in the Atlas mountains enjoying the marvellous view and great home cooked traditional meal.

Pool was wonderful and warm with great service all the time. Gym sufficient, but a larger one would of course be better. Tennis courts excellent.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amanjena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanjena

Address: Route de Ouarzazate, km 12 | Amelkis, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Marrakech
#35 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#50 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#130 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Amanjena 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is a place in paradise where peace holds time, where nature and culture know no seams, where comfort and luxury unite in style and where water reflects the blush of clay. This place is Amanjena, Morocco’s Moorish rose, a resort secluded in a private lush haven near the pulsating Medina of Marrakech and the High Atlas Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Amanjena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amanjena Hotel Marrakech
Amanjena Resort Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amanjena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.