We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Embarassing.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amanjena

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Amanjena to your Saves list
Amanjena
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Route de Ouarzazate, km 12 | Amelkis, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #132 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
bologna
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Embarassing.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

I visited many, many places in the world and the most beautiful hotel, but Amanjena is really embarassing for its beauty and magic. Top service, incredible rooms, fantastic SPA. It's true, it's not exactly in the center of the city. But this is something I can bear for the privilege to go directly from my sofa into my private swimming pool only with a couple of steps. Negative sides? Yes, it's damn expensive. But it worth.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    15
    7
    0
    3
See reviews for
24
54
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Island of Malta, Malta
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

I ask to see my room which costs USD 1200 a night and the next one up which is USD 2100 a night.The only differentiating factor is that the higher priced room has a small plunge pool.Fat lot of use on a winters night .
The AmanJena is the favourite hotel of several of my friends,but unfortunately not for me.My room is a concrete pavillion in its own small courtyard.The floor tiles are poorly finished and it is even worse in the bathroom where the wall tiles are in a bad way.There is a nice ambience on entering the room with Arabic music emanating from the in ceiling speaker above the TV. There is a bottle of wine awaiting me and the obligatory Pistachios,almonds and dates.They also place a beautiful bouquet of pink roses in the vase in the corner of the room and some nice tangerines in a ceramic bowl covered by white muslin .The butler lights the real log fire and I feel glad to be here.The furnishings are nice but not exceptional,though the dome of the room gives a feeling of space.
There are however lots of nice touches.There are his and hers straw hats placed on the loungers in the courtyard.They place the plastic water bottles in elegant brown leather cases.They provide nice bath robes and some strange garments that resemble Monk’s robes.They give you some nice black flip flops and my favourite item,some hobbit like pointy slippers,obviously I am taking them home with me.The minibar,coffee machine and television are hidden nicely away in smart cabinetry.
There are lots of plug sockets at the side of the bed,but the bed frame itself makes it difficult to put in the plug.The light switches however are traditional and well placed and easy to understand,so I am not going to lose sleep tonight.There is good desk space,nice lighting and a great wardrobe space including the all-important bench for travellers who like to live out of their suitcase.There is a big shower room and double sinks,but the toiletries are not luxurious and smell of chemicals.The waste bins,Tissue boxes and amenities are all well presented in the same wood casing.They do get most things right here.
There is also a nice outdoor seating and dining pavilion in the courtyard,with nice weather resistant fabrics in place.The fragrant courtyard is lush with beautiful plants and crawlers .
The service is excellent,you don’t have to sign for anything,they all know your name.They escort you from place to place and always make you feel that nothing is too much of a bother.
I take my breakfast outside in the courtyard.It is a simple breakfast,the breads are average and the eggs are too.I try the local delicacy which is basically a Chapati accompanied by almond sauce.
I take a walk around the grounds which are nice but there is no real Moroccan feel to the place,no calls to prayer,just views over a golf course.The thing is with the Aman,all the rooms are the same,with the same wooden craftwork hanging on the walls,the same green lanterns on the side tables,its all predictable and straight from the cookie cutter.The Lobby is pretty and the hotel is well run,but I for one would never stay here again.It lacks personality,individualism and that Marrakech experience.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

Amanjena is an oasis of exotic delight situated just outside Marrakech.
I stayed at the hotel for several days and hosted my 50th Birthday party for 20 guests in the wonderful Berber tent.
Drinks were set up in the Olive Grove with bonfires and lanterns lighting up the desert sky. I delighted my guests by arriving out of the darkness on a well behaved camel behind a tribal trio of trumpeters and drummers! Red carpets governed the way to the tent where an evening of regal dinning and entertainment created a memory that will last a life time. I cannot thank enough Livio, Joy and all the staff who put together this perfect evening. The cuisine, wine and entertainment were perfect.
The piscine pavillion I stayed in was everything you expect from an Aman Resort Hotel. I'll be back.
S H-W London UK.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

We just spent 5 nights in one of the Pool villas and loved every luxurious moment. The property is tranquil and although apparently about 11 years old it is impeccably maintained. Luxury and service is apparent in every nook and cranny while keeping the architecture and ambiance of the Moroccan culture. Every night hundreds of lanterns are lit with candles around the property which is just beautiful. The staff was excellent and very respectful of our privacy but helpful with any request we had. The weather was perfect and dinner was served outside overlooking the lagoon. It is also possible to have any meal served in your villa; the food arrives hot and is beautifully presented on your private outdoor living dining area. The resort is located about a 15 minute drive from the hectic city so perfect for visiting the Medina etc. while avoiding the noise.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

Stayed here in Sept 2010 for a wonderful week. Despite being immaculate (as Aman always is) Amanjena has a look of being sun bleached which really sets the tone for the whole place. Far enough out of town to avoid the hustle and bustle it is a little oasis of stunning beauty and serenity
Typically perfect Aman staff with their 6th sense about what you want and where they need to be (despite it being a very hot Ramadan).
There are 3 restaurants.... the first by the lovely pool for breakfast and lunch and the other 2 by the main entrance, one indoor (in a fabulous ornate room) and one outdoor with nightly local entertainment. The food was always excellent and focused on local produce and dishes, we stayed again on a half board deal which seems great value.
We liked Amanjena so much we only left the resort one evening for a trip into town for dinner at the much hyped Mamounia (Oh Dear, we made the correct hotel choice).
If you want calm, relaxation and great spa treatments this is the hotel for you.
As an aside Marrakech has upped it's game in recent months and there are a string of 5 star hotels opening and about to open, hopefully this will bring some much needed tourism money in to a wonderful country.
Aman was here very early and it is faultless, I hope the newcomers take note of what they should be aiming for.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
269 helpful votes 269 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

We have previously stayed in a number of Aman resorts in Asia, America and Europe and seek out the Aman group of properties when we travel for leisure.

The resort is beautiful and a peaceful haven from the busy Medina. The grounds are kept immaculate and the ochre masonry contrasts beautifully with the lush green landscape and soft jade tiling of the reflection pools.

Amanjena is around 10 years old and is planned in a formal and elegant manner - that would expect from an Aman property.

The weather was 40 degrees plus everyday of our visit to Marrakech. This made visiting the various sites around the city just bearable. However, we made the most of our pool in the villa which was a must in the heat.

Dinner was served outside, by the reflection pool every night, so unfortunately we didn't get to experience the beautiful Moroccan restaurant. The exterior setting was, however, a beautiful environment to enjoy a meal with musicians playing traditional music. The only let down was the quality of the food at dinner. Both the Moroccan and Thai menus were small and the dishes generally uninspiring. After a few days we were thoroughly bored with the dinner menu.

We thoroughly enjoyed breakfast and lunch in the restaurant area by the pool. The staff at the pool area (particularly our waiter from Tunisia) were delightful.

The suite had a fireplace which I'm sure would be a great feature in the cooler months. The pool suite was extremely spacious and comfortable. A large vase of beautiful roses graces the room for the period of your visit. The suite had everything you could want - large walk in wardrobes (x2), bath with a view onto a courtyard with citrus trees, comfortable king bed with great linens, a Nescafe machine, and comfortable seating both inside and in the outdoor pavilion. The rooms were showing their age in some respects - such as broken insect screens on the sliding doors and wear and tear on the joinery. This didn't, however, distract from the overall luxurious and calming feel of the suite.

In summary, best to enjoy Amanjena in the cooler months when you can enjoy the sites of Marrakech in more comfort.

Room Tip: A pool suite in the summer is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011 via mobile

The hotel is beautiful, the grounds stunning, and the service overall causually excellent, exactly what you expect from the Aman brand. The room was minimal Morrocan chic and was comfortable though I think Aman beds worldwide are a bit on the hard side. It was a nice retreat from tours in the Atlas Mountains and Souks. The food was excellent and room service was prompt and friendly. We celebrated a wedding anniversary at the Amanjena in the olive grove tent and it was top notch wonderful and made our celebration special. The service and kindness of everyone was above and beyond and even seemed sincere.

We had one small glitch at checkout with the bill and it was a confusing process but was resolved. They did not have the billing information in front of the therefore resulting in a back and forth game that took far to long, resulting in the overall very good rating versus excellent. I would, however, not prevent this from visiting again as overall we very much enjoyed our stay. Also we cobined this trip with a visit to Essouira returning to Marrakech to a in the wall city hotel which I think made our trip to Marrakech complete.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Amanjena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanjena

Address: Route de Ouarzazate, km 12 | Amelkis, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Marrakech
#35 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#49 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#128 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Amanjena 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is a place in paradise where peace holds time, where nature and culture know no seams, where comfort and luxury unite in style and where water reflects the blush of clay. This place is Amanjena, Morocco’s Moorish rose, a resort secluded in a private lush haven near the pulsating Medina of Marrakech and the High Atlas Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Amanjena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amanjena Hotel Marrakech
Amanjena Resort Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amanjena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.