We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty darned good, but far from the Medina” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kenzi Farah

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Kenzi Farah to your Saves list
Hotel Kenzi Farah
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue du President Kennedy, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #316 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
253 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Pretty darned good, but far from the Medina”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

The Kenzi was a very clean, comfortable hotel with an attentive staff. The included breakfast was quite nice and I got a good sleep. The only problem was the distance to anything of interest. You pretty much needed a taxi to do anything from eating to walking the Medina.

I would stay here again, but I would bring taxi money.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    420
    318
    182
    129
See reviews for
258
474
73
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We booked this via travelzoo with bargain late holidays so only paid £215 per person which included return flights and 4 nights here. It was sold to us as 5* so thought we were getting a great deal but this hotel was far from it I'm afraid.

Positives:-
Spacious pool view room
Powerful shower
Lovely pool area
Good breakfast selection in terms of product variety
Great housekeeper (only friendly person though!)
Man who works in shop was able to locate a European adapter for us as we had forgot

Negatives:-
Staff were rude and unhelpful, they pointed us in wrong direction of our room to begin with and didn't correct us when it was clear we were walking the wrong way.
When asked spa lady if we could use the indoor pool she was clearly angry that we had interrupted her personal
Phone call and just said they were closed...luckily another staff member chased after us and showed us to the indoor pool area.
Indoor pool area was in a complete state of disrepair with condensation making all the lounges wet and mould growing all over the ceiling together with filthy windows
The walls in the main restaurant were filthy and we regular saw dropped food (clearly from the night before) all over the floor at breakfast
Many staff in restaurant that didn't appear to do anything?! And grunted when asked for fresh cutlery or coffee!
Dinner at the restaurant was lacking in variety so unless you're happy to pay £25 per person for a buffet of awful salad and tasteless meat I wouldn't recommend it.
A can of coke is £3 with no offer of ice or lemon (we thought that was expensive until we paid £7 at the restaurant across the road!)
You have to pay for the safe?!!! What's all that about??!
We took our valuables with us everywhere after reading previous stories on here of phones getting stolen.
The bottled water in the minibar had already been opened and clearly just filled with tap water so watch out for that!
Electrics dodgy in room as some of the light switches also turned off the tv!
Came back to our room one day late afternoon to find all the lights on so someone had been in after housekeeping had done their duties. One day we were in room during day and member of staff just let himself in, and when realised we were in tried to offer us a bottle of water.
Ordered room service one afternoon, bill came to 160, we have 200 and she told us she would come back with our change (approx £4). She never returned.
We had to pay a tax of £2.75 each per night of our stay...not sure if this is normal or not?!!
On the first night we asked them to sort us a taxi..they quickly sorted a local one out who ripped us off by charging us more than double the price it should have been!!!

Tip:- do not pay anymore than 20 dirhams for a taxi from the hotel to the main square or anywhere in Marrakech for that matter (if they ask for more just go to a different taxi of wait for them to chase after you). Be assertive and DONT get ripped off!! Try and get smaller change and notes from reception so it's easier to haggle taxi prices and items at stalls.

Overall....the staff were just disinterested and only helped when they realised that they probably should be doing!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHL
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

I, too, was a Gate 1 traveler and in November I stayed there for three nights. I can only say good things about it from breakfast to lunch or dinner. The "cafeteria" in the pool area is to be recommended, better than the restaurant. Service excellent. Rooms clean and spacious. Had no problem whatsoever. We booked "Fantasia" at Chez Ali through the hotel upon arrival for the same night, which was not offered as an option by Gate 1 but which is highly recommendable. I had seen this show in the 80s and it's still good and worth booking. I will be at the Kenzi Farah again next month for three nights and look forward to it. A tip for guests - take a taxi not at the hotel but outside in the street - it's only 20 Dirham, roughly $2.50 to go to the market or downtown, same when you want to return, just wave down a taxi and make sure they accept the 20 Dirham before you get in. I really enjoyed my stay there.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Me and my partner stayed here for 4 nights and we had a great time, this hotel is excellent value for money and a great location for walking to both the medina and new town.
We only ate our breakfast at the hotel but they were lovely, especially the freshy made pancakes. The room was clean, modern and comfortable, but the shower and air conditioning in our room did not work.
The indoor and outdoor pools were lush as were the immaculately kept gardens. The staff were excellent and all of them spoke brilliant english, for when my broken French failed me.
This hotel doesn't really have the Moroccan charm of one the Riads but as a traveller who normally stays in more budget accomodation and hostels I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here for not much more money.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

it's a great hotel very nice and pleasant. I had a few issues however.

1. The room I was put in was excellent and nice but it was on the main road side I believe this side is the only one that faces the main road. The room windows were not very good and let in all the noise despite being shut. Also the AC system was very poor it didn't work. Or was a central run one and when one didn't work too well..it got very stuffy and had to open window so obviously more noise.

2. I wasn't told on checking in that on checkout you have to pay taxes. Last day I was asked when I had no money left 4nights was around ten pounds. Despite my transfer already arrived they was adamant I pay, they didn't care my transfer to airport was here. After 20mins of explaining they eventually let me off. They had the cheek to say "write good review on tripadvisor"

3. Location is slightly away from everything and a good 20mins walking distance.

4. Wifi didn't work around hotel the wifi in lounge was great


Good points...

Good breakfast buffet selection.
Nice garden and pool.
Very clean and pleasant throughout.
Helpfull staff

Room Tip: Ask for one away from main road. Don't get taxis that are opposite the hotel they are a ripp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Excellent hotel ,stayed 4nights and had a lovely stay , nice pool area ,reception staff very helpful thank you Isha and rizlane , polite staff but theire r other staff like fatihha and hasma ignore you completely and won't speak to you until spoken to .
The rooms were confortable but the air conditioning did not work
Hotel is only 10 min from the city center .

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

travelled on 11.01.14 for 3 days .It was a good experience for the price we paid.Hotel is not 5 star as it claims probably 3 1/2 or 4 star.Pools are nice ,indoor being really nice but no place to change and too far from some of the rooms(have to walk outdoors to get to and from pool)People nice and helpful.Some don't understand English but most do.Breakfast was good .Rooms clean and beds good enough.Shareef at travel advisory team very good ask him about excursions.Nice lawns and ambience.Walking distance from all major tourist attractions.

Room Tip: ask for pool view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech
Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech
#364 of 480 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 706 reviews
3.3 mi away
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
#189 of 480 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 2,916 reviews
5.1 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Atlas Medina & Spa
Atlas Medina & Spa
#268 of 480 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 691 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Les Jardins de l'Agdal
Hotel Les Jardins de l'Agdal
#278 of 480 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 662 reviews
2.1 mi away
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel  & Spa
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel & Spa
#266 of 480 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kenzi Farah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kenzi Farah

Address: Avenue du President Kennedy, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#128 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#154 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Kenzi Farah 5*
Number of rooms: 385
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classic venue, typical of the Imperial City, a haven of peace set like a gem in a 3 hectors' private splendid park of luxuriant greenery and dappling hues and vivid colors, the mythical, iconic KENZI FARAH HOTEL is located in the very heart of the prime, trendy, cosmopolitan district "L'Hivernage".Completely renovated in 2011 and thanks to its privileged location, the KENZI FARAH HOTEL symbolizes and strikes the perfect balance between business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, EasyToBook, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Kenzi Farah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenzi Farah Hotel Marrakech
Kenzi Farah Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kenzi Farah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.