We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, nice staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kenzi Farah

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Kenzi Farah to your Saves list
Hotel Kenzi Farah
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue du President Kennedy, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #318 of 464 Hotels in Marrakech
cornwall
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food, nice staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

After reading recent reviews I was dreading what the hotel was like. The staff are NOT surly, yes things will go wrong within 15 minutes we had someone to fix the air conditioning, a new fridge was installed and new battery for safe. Food is really nice, loads of choice. Room CLEAN lots of room. Changed rooms as we wanted a balcony porter great did all the moving. Yes you do have to pay for water, but cocktails are nice and the singer in the bar. If you want a sun bed get up early then no problem and the sunbeds are really comfortable. Just the right distance from city. It would help if there where more sunbeds and water with main meal but my mum and I had a very enjoyable stay

Room Tip: Lower floors as I personally don't like lifts and easy to get back to change
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKenziFarah, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Kenzi Farah, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for visiting Kenzi Farah Marrakech and taking the time to share with us your outstanding experience at the hotel.

We are so happy to know that your stay was a great success and most of your expectations were met.

We look forward to welcome you back to Kenzi Farah Marrakech for another amazing
Trip where you’ll continue to discover more and more wonderful areas at Kenzi Farah .

Best Regards from Marrakech!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,068 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    339
    271
    150
    96
See reviews for
203
360
60
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We expended 5 day in this hotel , was very nice
the garden and swimming pool are so agreeable
The staff are nice people en helpful
he breakfast. Isn't. Not very good but is ok
The best think is the location we could walk from the hotel to the Medina. And the same time you're in a nice peaceful and green place

Room Tip: We had a superior room with a very nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKenziFarah, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Kenzi Farah, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for visiting Kenzi Farah Marrakech and taking the time to share with us your outstanding experience at the hotel.

We are so happy to know that your stay was a great success and most of your expectations were met.

We look forward to welcome you back to Kenzi Farah Marrakech for another amazing
Trip where you’ll continue to discover more and more wonderful areas at Kenzi Farah .

Best Regards from Marrakech!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

The Farce of Kenzi Farah! Do not go!
Where do i start? This hotel is nothing but lies and illusions! We came here expecting a 5* hotel experience as promised by the website, trip advisor and the holiday provider. To our disappointment it was just about a 3* standard.
The first room we were put in was far from our request for poolside view which would have been tolerated if not for the fact that we were missing an entire curtain! How does that happen?
Anyway, we arrived just in time for "dinner" which was abysmal. Absolutely awful. Nothing was labelled so if you have food allergies you are done for! There are only 5 hot dishes to choose from everyday which consist of bland rice, some chicken, some unknown red meat and some fish. There were some days where the food was just about palatable and some where i could find NOTHING to eat.... And i am far from a fussy eater. The selection of salad foods is fair in comparison to the rest. On top of the sous-mediocre food, the restaurant staff were often unhelpful. There were a handful that were friendly and actually got you something when you asked but unfortunately they paled in comparison to the unhelpful, lazy and rude ones who would forget to set a table or forget to give u a piece of cutlery that was missing in the first place! Sacré bleu!
When me and my friend tried to use this state of the art gym we were promised, the receptionist laughed and exclaimed "c'est pas gratuit". You had to pay 100 dirhams for an hr in the "gym"! Safe to say we made full use of youtube exercise videos this week! The indoor pool costs the same.
Water is 30dirhams which is like £3. Need i say more? The safe costs 15 dirhams per day. Ugh.
Some positives about the hotel are that the grounds are nice. The grass looks green and healthy and it is watered constantly. The cleaner we had was lovely. The pool is good but crowded with lots of children. The hotel is family oriented in the sense that there is a large ground for them to play on although they shun the climbing frame for the pool anyway. At dinner the music/entertainment was good. But there was no literature anywhere to tell you who they were or what music they were playing which was disappointing. I have to say, when we asked to check in online for flights they were helpful and let us into their office to do so.
However as I sit here waiting for our transfer to the airport i am still shaking with anger at the fact that me and my friend were made to pay 400dirhams (£40) in taxes when checking out of the hotel. Daylight robbery. This was also not highlighted to us at the beginning our stay so after all the charges and after being robbed in the Djemma el Fna square by two women (details on this will be posted below) I was incensed to have to pay yet another nonsensical charge!
You stay here under the illusion that you are getting a good deal for your money in a 5* hotel but the substandard service, amenities and hidden charges leave you bitterly disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKenziFarah, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Kenzi Farah, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
We thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience at Kenzi Farah Marrakech.

We were very sorry to learn about your dissatisfaction with the service you were offered, please accept our sincere apologies for any convenience caused. Please be assured that your comments & remarks will be taken into serious consideration in order to improve our quality of service to meet our clients needs.

We look forward to welcoming you at Kenzi Farah and be able to meet your expectations.

Thank you & Best Regards from wonderful Marrakech!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulon, France
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

My friend 32 and I 27, spent 5 nights in this hotel end of June.
The weather was amazing with very high temperatures and we spent most of our time at the swimming pool, which is very enjoyable.
The breakfast buffet offers a mostly European cuisine and could do with a few local specialties.
Our twin bed room was rather big, clean, and was facing the pool area.
The staff were polite and helpful (especially the gentleman on the night shift!)
The hotel is located at about 20 minute walk from the city center and 5/10 minutes to the first restaurants.
It was a relaxing and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKenziFarah, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Kenzi Farah, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for visiting Kenzi Farah Marrakech and taking the time to share with us your outstanding experience at the hotel.

We are so happy to know that your stay was a great success and most of your expectations were met.

We look forward to welcome you back to Kenzi Farah Marrakech for another amazing
Trip where you’ll continue to discover more and more wonderful areas at Kenzi Farah .

Best Regards from Marrakech!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We were a little put off by the bad reviews but on getting here we found most were exaggerated, but some were not.
The plus sides:
1 The hotel is clean, calm, beautiful and everything worked for us for the most part.
2 When the safe broke it was fixed promptly and efficiently.
3 Most (about 9 out of 10) of the staff are actually friendly and helpful. I'm not sure why so many people have written they aren't - perhaps they got the bad eggs?
The minus sides:
1 The food is BORING. There's nothing wrong with it as such but it was just so repetitive and slightly bland. After less than three days we were tired of it. They need more variety in their menus.
2 One staff manager, a man who claimed to be the manager, was incredibly rude about would not let us take water into our room. I would understand banning drinks or food from hotel rooms, but in a hot country with a family member who is a medical patient, water is a necessity. His tone was harsh and abrupt and soured the experience. Other guests from other hotels all bought water to their rooms, so I can only imagine that this is an irritating jobsworth or something specific to the hotel.

Room Tip: Try the second floor - very peaceful and easy to access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKenziFarah, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Kenzi Farah, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for visiting Kenzi Farah Marrakech and taking the time to share with us your outstanding experience at the hotel.

We are so happy to know that your stay was a great success and most of your expectations were met.
We were very sorry to learn about your dissatisfaction with the service you were offered, please accept our sincere apologies for any convenience caused. Please be assured that your comments & remarks will be taken into serious consideration in order to improve our quality of service to meet our clients needs.
Trip where you’ll continue to discover more and more wonderful areas at Kenzi Farah .

Best Regards from Marrakech!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

the calmness, the nature, the birds, the evening perfumes of the flowers. A real oasis (like Kenzi Semiramis) in the heart of Marrakech.

Nicely situated, big spacious rooms, very comfortable beds and simple decoration, not very Morrocan. Breakfast is good, although a bit crowded but there is lots of space in the gardens to seat or inside if you prefer airconditioning. Internet connection was good, dinner or lunch that I had were indifferent and room service was fast but not so good (ex. the salad came with a plastic foil on it). Overall for what you get, the price paid worths!!

Room Tip: Choose the rooms with a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKenziFarah, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Kenzi Farah, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for visiting Kenzi Farah Marrakech and taking the time to share with us your outstanding experience at the hotel.

We are so happy to know that your stay was a great success and most of your expectations were met.

We look forward to welcome you back to Kenzi Farah Marrakech for another amazing
Trip where you’ll continue to discover more and more wonderful areas at Kenzi Farah .

Best Regards from Marrakech!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Came here with my boyfriend for a weekend. Not sure why they treated us so poorly (because we came on a discounted deal? Because we speak English?) but we were treated with contempt throughout our stay.

We arrived and were greeted with sour faces. Took ages to book in, then we were vaguely pointed towards the door to our room, no help from a bellhop or anyone to take our bags and show us the way (which is not simple). Had to ask three people for directions, then when we got there our card didn't work. I took it back and didn't receive an apology, just a new card. Once in the room we saw the two beds were two twins, asked for a new room and were given one of a lower standard. The room had a broken fridge and a broken light, along with a stained bedsheet.

Food: 30 diram for water! 300%+ the cost outside the hotel for the same water. Portions were small, fruit bowl fruit looked pale and sad, and they got our order wrong every time we ordered room service. Tagine was good though, and so was the pasta.

Service: the staff are horrendous. We asked for help printing out our boarding passes and were scolded for not asking the day before, then told it was impossible and we would have to go to an internet cafe in the Medina. In a FIVE STAR HOTEL?! You can't print out two pages? We were always polite and kind when asking for help and they were really grumpy in return, like we'd walked into their home uninvited and asked to sit with their family for dinner. A few times the restaurant staff bumped into me and I said 'Excuse me' and they just walked away. Never any smiles, never any apologies about all the things that were wrong in the room. The only nice people were the people who delivered food and the cleaners.

We're extremely friendly people and have made friends with the locals every other place we've stayed (in hotels etc.), but at this hotel we just stayed in our rooms because the staff were so rude and unhelpful. I've worked in service positions plenty of times before and cannot imagine how this place operates.

Room Tip: Just don't go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKenziFarah, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Kenzi Farah, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
We thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience at Kenzi Farah Marrakech.

We were very sorry to learn about your dissatisfaction with the service you were offered, please accept our sincere apologies for any convenience caused. Please be assured that your comments & remarks will be taken into serious consideration in order to improve our quality of service to meet our clients needs.

We look forward to welcoming you at Kenzi Farah and be able to meet your expectations.

Thank you & Best Regards from wonderful Marrakech!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kenzi Farah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kenzi Farah

Address: Avenue du President Kennedy, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#130 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#132 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Kenzi Farah 5*
Number of rooms: 385
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classic venue, typical of the Imperial City, a haven of peace set like a gem in a 3 hectors' private splendid park of luxuriant greenery and dappling hues and vivid colors, the mythical, iconic KENZI FARAH HOTEL is located in the very heart of the prime, trendy, cosmopolitan district "L'Hivernage".Completely renovated in 2011 and thanks to its privileged location, the KENZI FARAH HOTEL symbolizes and strikes the perfect balance between business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Kenzi Farah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenzi Farah Hotel Marrakech
Kenzi Farah Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kenzi Farah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.