We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably good.....once!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kenzi Farah

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Kenzi Farah to your Saves list
Hotel Kenzi Farah
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue du President Kennedy, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #317 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
Valencia, Spain
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Probably good.....once!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Here it is, comprehensive review. Check in staff seemed ok. Only told you anything when you asked them. Niether friendly nor rude. Room was a decent size and clean. Pilows are like rolled up wrags under your head. So uncomfortable. The decor and furniture is pretty tired and needs updating. Had to pay 75dh to use the inroom safe for 3 days. Didn't know this until questioned it at reception. Wifi is very intermittent. Browsing the web is slow and painful and as for streaming music...forget it. Didn't have wifi for a full day. The lifts were never cleaned as the same sweaty body print was on the mirror the whole time we were there. Supposed to be 3 restaurants but only the poolside bar/restaurant was open. We ate there the 1st night. It is a buffet style help your self. Get there early as they dont replenish the food and you will be left with even less of a choice. Especially with the deserts. Breakfast is in the same restaurant. Not a good selection. Only warm food was boiled eggs, some potato dish and tomatoes?? Table full of dry unfresh croisants. Bread you had to cut yourself so everyman and his dog had there hands on the loaf! Fresh fruit that wasn't fresh. Commented on by other guests not just us. If you asked for a bottle of water at your table they made you pay for it! We did find out on the last day you could order omellet. No one offered this to us. Watch out for them coming out because you will probably have to go and retrieve them from someone elses table as they look bewildered why they have omlettes they didn't order. Waiting staff are very intermittent. Very poor all in all. Pool area and gardens are very nice. Towel cabin ran out of towels when we got there at 2pm in the afternoon. Had to wait 40mins for a towel. There are not enough beds for guests and they are all reserved german style by 8am. If you dont do the same you will be on the grass. Beds sit there unoccupied for hours on hours and nothing is done by the staff. Indoor pool is not in use, as is the lobby bar and other areas of the hotel. The decor around the hotel is tired with flaking paint, lifting tiles on the paths etc. This is not a 5 star hotel, anywhere in the world, 3 at best!! Location is ok but it is a 2.5km walk to the center or a 20 - 50dh taxi ride depending on who you ask and time of day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,038 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    332
    258
    146
    92
See reviews for
202
353
56
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

As soon as we walked into the reception area, we were welcomed with huge grins which was surprising as it was around 8pm during Ramadan! The staff here were so accommodating and friendly, cannot fault them at all. Our room was pristine and cleaned everyday with new bed sheets and fresh towels and it didn't look shabby at all. The air con (much needed!) worked throughout the day/night and was extremely quiet so it didn't disturb any sleep. The hotel grounds were clean, tidy and well kept. There were always staff pottering about in the gardens or cleaning the windows, floors and paint touch ups. The pool area was beautiful to sit around with the gardens surrounding us and we were able to use pool towels that were provided everyday from the pool attendant. Breakfast was good. It had a range of meats, pastries and hot foods but nothing out of the ordinary you'd expect to get. We ate in the restaurant on our first night (being b&b only) and it was fantastic. In fact, everywhere we went in the city was amazing and fresh. I've not stopped raving about the food! Not a chip or burger in sight.

We absolutely loved the Kenzi Farah and will definitely be booking another trip here again during the cooler months!

Tip: only 20 mins walk from center but take a cab which are plentiful outside the hotel. Use a cabbie called Omar, he was extremely friendly and helpful and cost 30DH to the town. Everyone else charges a lot more! He also took us to some fantastic restaurants and Riads to eat at.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKenziFarah, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Kenzi Farah, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for choosing Kenzi Farah on your visit to Marrakech. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your time during your stay. We also thank you for the positive review of our hotel. We share all the feedback with the management and staff and such feedbacks help in staff motivation and recognition.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Marrakech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights with a tour group. My friend and I were initially assigned the wrong room but the remedied it fairly quickly. The front staff were ok - not rude but not overly friendly. When we asked for ice from room service it took almost an hour to get. Not sure if that's just Morocco or the hotel. The hotel grounds are beautiful - very lush and the pool looked very nice, though we didn't go. The breakfast buffet was really good both mornings with a wide variety of foods and an omelet station. The location isn't bad - we were within walking distance of several restaurants. I'd say this is a good three star hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKenziFarah, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Kenzi Farah, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for choosing Kenzi Farah on your visit to Marrakech. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your time during your stay. We also thank you for the positive review of our hotel. We share all the feedback with the management and staff and such feedbacks help in staff motivation and recognition.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Marrakech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

My first trip with Gate1 was in May this year 14 Days Jordan & Israel. I was very much satisfied with trip and next month again I went with Gate1 on trip 13 Day Kaleidoscope of Morocco.
Our trip was wonderful with tour guide Khalid. He was very knowledge about the culture and sites while traveling. Assistance in any situation from Khalid was always welcome. The Gate1 team made the entire group feel safe and smooth from beginning to the end. After my very nice experience with Gate1 I have been recommending Gate1 to my friends and will continue doing so.
Thank you Gate1.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKenziFarah, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Kenzi Farah, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
We are delighted to hear you had a wonderful stay with us at Kenzi Farah Marrakech.They work exceptionally hard to make sure that every gust feels special. Thank you so much for staying with us.

We hope to see you in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed in the Kenzi Farah for 5 days in July, the week before ramadan. We got the hotel incredibly cheap with half board and transfers included. We were very impressed by the cleanliness of the hotel, the rooms and the communal areas. The aircon system was fantastic and stayed on throughout the day and night which made a real difference. The reception staff were not overly friendly but they were attentive and we found the catering and hospitality staff very welcoming. One thing that we noticed about the hotel is that there is not a lot of atmosphere, everywhere is very quiet, no music in the restaurants, reception or around the pool. We sometimes felt like we had to keep our voices low no matter where we were. It is definitely worth getting the half board as the food is a buffet so you can eat as mush as you like and set yourself up for the day. The food is not anything to write home about but it was comparable with other restaurants we found in Marrakesh. Overall a good, safe bet for someone looking for somewhere comfortable to stay just out of the city if you do not want to spend too much money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKenziFarah, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Kenzi Farah, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for choosing Kenzi Farah on your visit to Marrakech. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your time during your stay. We also thank you for the positive review of our hotel. We share all the feedback with the management and staff and such feedbacks help in staff motivation and recognition.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Marrakech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed at the Kenzi Farah for five days in mid November, it has an impressive reception and was well kept, clean and tidy. The rooms are average size and again kept clean with linen and towels changed daily.

The breakfast was ok and we had lunch a couple of times which was fine. We ate out in the evenings and found some very interesting little restaurants not far from the hotel. The hotel is situated a short distance from the Medina, which is must see.

The pool area had plenty of sunbeds and was not too cramped or busy when we were there.

This hotel is fine for a short break and to see the delights of Marrakech, after all you only really sleep there and spend most of the time out and about sight seeing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKenziFarah, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Kenzi Farah, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
We are delighted to hear you had a wonderful stay with us at Kenzi Farah Marrakech.They work exceptionally hard to make sure that every gust feels special. Thank you so much for staying with us.

We hope to see you in near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This hotel is the last one in Marrakech you should stay at, the management are a bunch of crooks who will and do rip you off at any and all opportunity. My partner and I were accused of cancelling our booking and accused of not paying tourist tax! Only my insistence, it took three days out of our holiday, and me threatening to take action against hotel got us limited peace. When I asked for my booming paperwork they refused! When I asked for managers name guess what they refused,
If you plan to come to Marrakech then do its like know here else, BUT do not use this hotel at any cost, incidently the travel rep Rashid was useless and as big a liar and thief as the management. I intend to pursue this so look for further postings!!!

Room Tip: Look for different hotel!!!!
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kenzi Farah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kenzi Farah

Address: Avenue du President Kennedy, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#126 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#128 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Kenzi Farah 5*
Number of rooms: 385
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classic venue, typical of the Imperial City, a haven of peace set like a gem in a 3 hectors' private splendid park of luxuriant greenery and dappling hues and vivid colors, the mythical, iconic KENZI FARAH HOTEL is located in the very heart of the prime, trendy, cosmopolitan district "L'Hivernage".Completely renovated in 2011 and thanks to its privileged location, the KENZI FARAH HOTEL symbolizes and strikes the perfect balance between business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Kenzi Farah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenzi Farah Hotel Marrakech
Kenzi Farah Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kenzi Farah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.