We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why you shouldn't stay at Kenzi Farah” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kenzi Farah

Save Saved
You added Hotel Kenzi Farah to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Kenzi Farah
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue du President Kennedy, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #321 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Why you shouldn't stay at Kenzi Farah”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I have just returned from Kenzi Farah, which was my second visit to Marrakesh. I was and am still shocked at the way this hotel is run and how poor the service and hotel in general is. I have stayed in 5 star accommodation at the same price prior to visiting Kenzi Farah and can confirm that this hotel does not match the star rating it has been granted, nor does it match the price paid.

These are some of the problems I experienced while in resort:

1. Asked reception in excess of 5 times to hire/buy a converter plug. The staff were extremely unresponsive and didn't seem to care at all.
2. The floor that we stayed in, 4th floor, room 2403, smelt really bad.
3. I even had problems getting a bucket of ice. All I wanted to do was cool a bottle of red wine (which I had purchased from the hotel, which was served hot and undrinkable) and I was passed from bar to bar and then reception. The staff looked at me as if I was asking for gold.
4. My traveling companion had no help with getting a sunbed mattress or towels, whereas the same man helped another lady.
5. No prices for drinks or food outside of the half board offering. It is very much pot luck what you pay on any given day.
6. There are no labels on the food and drinks in the restaurant. The food is extremely poor with exception to the Morrocan evening, which seemed a lot better. Most evenings the meals we endured, left bad/off tastes in our mouths. The only food that seemed edible was the sweets. Two evenings out of four, I approached the chef that was cooking in the restaurant. I stood in front of him and asked what he was making, to which I received no response or acknowledgement.
7. The air conditioning in the room is very bad and non existent in other parts of the hotel.
8. Stained towels and bathmat in bathroom.
9. Loose shower rail in bathroom (quite dangerous).
10. Nearly all of the staff are rude and do not even acknowledge you.

On the first day, we reported all of the above to the hotel and our travel rep, who addressed the issues with the management. The management promised to sort out all of the issues that we had addressed and said they wanted to ensure we had a good stay.

Three days on from the day we addressed the complaint, nothing had changed or improved. On checking out, we were incorrectly charged for our drinks and food while in resort. We again expressed our concerns with our entire stay to be met when an arrogant response saying we should of complained more. In other words, kept on going back to reception to resolve the issues.

In the end the manager waived the charges on the bill, however it took 15 minutes of dispute where he was talking over us and not listening at all.

This hotel is not for British guests, it really felt like every other nationality was being treated in a far superior manner to us.

The only saving grace is that the room (bar the air conditioning) was moderately comfortable and that the tours to get you out of this resort were superb.

I would really advise anyone considering to book this hotel, to seriously think about whether they want to have a good experience in Marrakesh; as if it was not for the excellent excursion to the Atlas mountains, we would of considered leaving early.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

903 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    184
    280
    230
    130
    79
See reviews for
167
307
50
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Very nice property and well maintained. Trying to get anything via the front desk is nearly impossible. We made four trips to the front desk just to get some towels in our room. They were never very concerned but always said "towels are coming shortly" but never came. The pool was beautiful and the grounds are very well manicured. The restaurants and bar are great and it was lovely to sit outside in the evenings.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKenziFarah, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Kenzi Farah, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for choosing Kenzi Farah on your visit to Marrakech. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your time during your stay. We also thank you for the positive review of our hotel. We share all the feedback with the management and staff and such feedbacks help in staff motivation and recognition.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Marrakech.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is an unusual hotel. The rooms and the structure of the hotel make this a suitable business hotel, but the restaurants and services make this a tourist hotel. I found the rooms spacious and comfortable but as a business guest felt a bit out of place surrounded by tourists. the central pool and gardens area is within the hotel complex and is a great place to relax. The only bar is small with few staff. I echo the comments regarding the breakfast service which is terrible and makes you feel like you are on the world's worst package tour. that being said this is a cheaper hotel than many in Marrakesh and is good value for money for your short stay tourist guest.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

It has a first rate pool with lots of foreigners. The rooms are nice, and clean by Moroccan standards - though this means you likely will get stains on your sheets. The location near both the old and new city is very good. Do NOT waste your money on their breakfast. It was truly useless. There is no good food except the pancake lady who is there for only half the time and their coffee is just awful. They do charge extra for any amenity (except Wi-Fi), this includes using the gym or safe.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Just got back from 3 nights at the Kenzi Farah. Overall the hotel matched our expectations. Staff were generally friendly, (a few grumpy ones at reception), but otherwise very nice! The room was clean, spacious and modern. Pool was refreshing and sunbeds were plentiful (although some people got up very early to reserve them). Plenty of space in the beautiful gardens if the beds are taken. Breakfast was good with a variety of food / drink... pretty standard for a 4 star hotel.

The hotel is located approximately 20 minutes walk to the old town / central square / crazy souks...come out of the hotel, turn left and left again. (Best seen at night). 20 minute walk to the new city...come out the hotel and turn right and then second right. You'll see a little more civilisation - shops, crossings etc! Try and get your hands on a map before you arrive (they don't have any at reception and charge you for one at the shop within the hotel).

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter. If you want a balcony make sure you request one as only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKenziFarah, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Kenzi Farah, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
We are delighted to hear you had a wonderful stay with us at Kenzi Farah Marrakech.They work exceptionally hard to make sure that every gust feels special. Thank you so much for staying with us.

We hope to see you in near future.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights after booking through Groupon, and were really apprehensive after reading lots of negative reviews on Trip Advisor.....in spite our worries, the hotel was excellent!! Really nice and welcoming staff who genuinely couldn't do more to help you with anything you need, great sized rooms and a beautiful outdoor pool. Definitely don't worry about some bad reviews, we had a great time staying here!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKenziFarah, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Kenzi Farah, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for choosing Kenzi Farah on your visit to Marrakech. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your time during your stay. We also thank you for the positive review of our hotel. We share all the feedback with the management and staff and such feedbacks help in staff motivation and recognition.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Marrakech.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed at the Kenzi Farah for two nights as part of an 8-day tour of Morocco with Gate 1 Travel. The hotel has all the usual Western amenities and is quite comfortable. The grounds are sprawling--the building seems to be almost all one level--so walking around can take a while. The rooms where fine--nothing memorable, either way, so they will serve their purpose for you, I am sure. The breakfast was substantial and will be perfect for fueling up before a day of seeing Marrakesh. On the way to the breakfast room is a decent gift shop as well. There is a dimly lit but spacious bar area one level down from the main lobby, where you can get pricey drinks and relax. Since we arrived at the hotel rather late in the day and did not want to venture out exploring, we ate dinner at the Italian restaurant on the premises. It took some doing to find it, as it was not marked with a sign and required walking and walking about the property! Once there, we found the restaurant vacant except for one other table and were not sure if it was actually open. One poor waiter was trying to service our rather large group (about 8) in addition to the occupied table and then the ones that became occupied later. He worked so hard we had to give him a decent tip. I thought the food was fine but another group member would not eat hers. Oh well--to each his own, and I don't like to complain in a foreign country.

You can walk to the famous main square from the hotel but it is a hike. We actually walked BACK from the square and got a bit lost, but eventually found it. Since we are not big shoppers, our favorite part of the square was getting a railside table at a restaurant above the square around sunset to watch the beautiful view and people-watch. There are no alcoholic drinks served there, but you can get a soda and stay as long as you like. Highly recommend this! The square comes alive as the sun sets: vendors begin setting up their food stalls, which are an experience to walk through. Take your time and enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKenziFarah, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Kenzi Farah, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
We are delighted to hear you had a wonderful stay with us at Kenzi Farah Marrakech.They work exceptionally hard to make sure that every gust feels special. Thank you so much for staying with us.

We hope to see you in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Kenzi Farah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kenzi Farah

Address: Avenue du President Kennedy, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#126 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#129 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Kenzi Farah 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classic venue, typical of the Imperial City, a haven of peace set like a gem in a 3 hectors’ private splendid park of luxuriant greenery and dappling hues and vivid colors, the mythical, iconic KENZI FARAH HOTEL is located in the very heart of the prime, trendy, cosmopolitan district “L’Hivernage”.Completely renovated in 2011 and thanks to its privileged location, the KENZI FARAH HOTEL symbolizes and strikes the perfect balance between business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, HostelBookers, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Kenzi Farah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenzi Farah Hotel Marrakech
Kenzi Farah Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kenzi Farah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.