We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kenzi Farah

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Kenzi Farah to your Saves list
Hotel Kenzi Farah
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue du President Kennedy, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #317 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
Whitehorse, Canada
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Good Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This is a large hotel which has an outdoor pool and nice garden. We didn't spend a lot of time at the pool or the graden as it is within plesant walking distance of the Square and markets.
The room was comfortable with Wi-Fi which worked sporadicaly. It works well in the lobby.
Breakfast was plentiful and good. We did not eat other meals there.
Staff was not overly attentive but helpfull when asked for assistance.
The room was hot even though we had the heat off. Opened the windows during the day but could not leave them open during the night because of street noise.

Room Tip: The courtyard rooms are very quiet. We were street side and could not leave the window open at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKenziFarah, Directeur général at Hotel Kenzi Farah, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions after your stay at the Kenzi Farah.
We are pleased that you had a pleasant stay.
We would be glad to welcome you in the near future at the Kenzi Farah.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    314
    245
    143
    90
See reviews for
197
339
54
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

22 to 27 Feb 2013
Set in gorgeous gardens, the Kenzi Farah is in a really good position for the main attractions of Marrakech. The atmosphere is of true Moroccan warmth and liveliness. The first night in the dining room, with its live local musicians, reminded me of a big Italian family restaurant. The hotel is built on a massive scale (700 plus guests) but clever architecture divides it into intimate corners and enclosures, for example around the big pool there are sheltered pergolas where you can have meals or mint tea and admire the unusual trees and shrubs in the gardens.
And the food! Even we four vegetarians found plenty of delicious, healthy and beautifully presented dishes at every mealtime, especially the ‘salades cuites’ so renowned in Moroccan cuisine. The desserts are out of this world high class French patisserie like Gateau St Honoré, Mille feuilles, Rasperry crème brulée…
The Kenzi Farah wears its five stars lightly, not in a forbidding way but in a warm, inclusive way. In the lobby, a man sits in traditional ‘djelaba’ dress waiting to serve you a complimentary glass of mint tea. A shoeshine ‘throne’ stands nearby. .
The rooms are spacious and comfortable but not remarkable – a lack of drawer space was my only criticism. However the plasma TV had many more English speaking stations than any Moroccan hotel we’ve stayed in, and the strong water pressure made for power showers and quick-filling hot baths.
The Kenzi exudes the best of Moroccan hospitality, not just in its comprehensive facilities, but in the many warm and thoughtful gestures of its staff, who anticipated our individual needs and tastes to a remarkable degree. On the day we left, they allowed us to stay on in our room till 4pm at no extra cost to allow a disabled member of our party to rest before our journey home.
As I write, I’m missing those desserts…
SJL Room 3002

Room Tip: Facing the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKenziFarah, Directeur général at Hotel Kenzi Farah, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions after your stay at the Kenzi Farah.
We are pleased that you had a pleasant stay.
We would be glad to welcome you in the near future at the Kenzi Farah.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

The Kenzi Farah is a very large hotel that encloses a garden courtyard. It is a very peaceful place, considering that most of the guests are with tour groups, sports teams, and business conferences. Our room was large, clean, and quiet.

The hotel is in an upscale neighborhood about a thirty minute walk to the Djemaa el-Fna square. Cabs are lined up in front of the hotel, but we were advised to walk a few hundred yards and then hail a cab to get a better price. Local guides say that you should not pay more than 20 Dirham for the cab fare during the day, 30 at night. Most drivers ask more than twice that amount. If you are tired meet them halfway, otherwise walk away and another driver will likely come up and accept your price.

The restaurant at the hotel was much better than we expected. We had two of our best dinners in Morocco there and the wait staff was better than in most hotel restaurants.

Breakfast was included with our room. It was a bit difficult to get the staff to bring coffee, napkins, silverware, etc. and the dining room was sometimes crowded, but it was a better breakfast than you get in most hotels. A breakfast highlight was the Berber lady who would serve you fresh baked flatbread.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKenziFarah, Directeur général at Hotel Kenzi Farah, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions after your stay at the Kenzi Farah.
We are pleased that you had a pleasant stay.
We would be glad to welcome you in the near future at the Kenzi Farah.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This hotel looks like a 4 star property from the outside but once you go inside you see where the cost cutting has been. The WiFi, which should be a pretty basic amenity at this point if you are catering to western groups, was abysmal. The breakfast was only ok but the location was good and the room was comfortable. Only there for 2 nights but the WiFi issue was an irritating minus to the entire stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This hotel is very dated and tired looking. On the plus side, it was clean and the staff were helpful. I also appreciated the location, it was half an hour walk from the Medina, which was perfect and the hotel was good value cost-wise. The breakfast buffet was good, especially the pancakes! However, The rooms were nothing special, the wi-fi was intermittent, no tea-making facilities or use of an iron. The hotel is in dire need of modernisation and some attention to detail is required.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Maine
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed in the Kenzi Farah hotel last week. Nothing stands out about this hotel really good or very bad. The wifi that is included is only in the lobby. The hotel caters to tour groups, of which we were one. If there were a lot of people in the lobby, the wifi would not connect or would be really slow. The rooms were big and clean. The best part of the hotel was the pool area which was great. The breakfast was fine. The hotel also does not have an iron, which I find very odd. It is walkable to the medina, but a long walk. It is about 50 dirhams for a taxi to the medina. If you are walking, watch out for open man holes. This is on the public street, not in the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I stayed in the hotel with my family in December 2012. The hotel has some really nice features and the staff are all friendly and approachable. I enjoyed my stay there although we couldn't use the outdoor swimming pool but it looked nice and clean too. The break had an excellent choice and was served with smile. Mr Rachid from Amsterdam rental car (based within the hotel) provided us local guidance and means of transportation. Your own car and driver is always recommended. In regard to gym and sauna facilities - find out if there are any extra charges for its use - normally in a five star hotel the use of such facilities are included in the package price.

Room Tip: Book via holiday companies and in advance. Take car rental from office based within the reception a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKenziFarah, Directeur général at Hotel Kenzi Farah, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions after your stay at the Kenzi Farah.
We are pleased that you had a pleasant stay.
We would be glad to welcome you in the near future at the Kenzi Farah.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kenzi Farah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kenzi Farah

Address: Avenue du President Kennedy, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#125 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#126 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Kenzi Farah 5*
Number of rooms: 385
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classic venue, typical of the Imperial City, a haven of peace set like a gem in a 3 hectors’ private splendid park of luxuriant greenery and dappling hues and vivid colors, the mythical, iconic KENZI FARAH HOTEL is located in the very heart of the prime, trendy, cosmopolitan district “L’Hivernage”.Completely renovated in 2011 and thanks to its privileged location, the KENZI FARAH HOTEL symbolizes and strikes the perfect balance between business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Kenzi Farah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenzi Farah Hotel Marrakech
Kenzi Farah Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kenzi Farah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.