We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice food but noisy rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel to your Saves list
Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue Ibrahim El Mazini - Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #275 of 464 Hotels in Marrakech
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“nice food but noisy rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

Food and pool are good, especially breakfast, but service in the restaurant was a bit slapdash. Room was adequate but very difficult to sleep because of constant traffic noise, plus thumping bass notes from a disco till 4am on Saturday night. Not my idea of a 5* hotel.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raïk B, Directeur général at Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Dear lilymermaid,

First of all,thank you very much for taking the time to post your review following to your stay at the Es Saadi Hotel in March 2014.
We were sorry to learn you were not satisfied with certain of its aspects.
Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience it may have caused you.
Be sure that your remarks will be shared with the concerned departments.
About the poor quality of the noise in the rooms you mentioned,I would like to inform you that our owner is currently looking for the best scenario concerning the hotel's renovation .

However, I would like to thank you very much for pointing out the excellent food at the breakfast and restaurant.
We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will give us another opportunity to welcoming you back in order to restore your faith in our property.

Sincerely Yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    182
    84
    55
    37
See reviews for
77
205
32
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Luton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

This has to be one of the worst hotels I have ever paid to stay in - so bad myself and my travelling companion tried to leave three days early - unsuccessfully. The hotel itself is ok, room was nt too bad although patio doors did not lock properly and all bathroom lights fused 24 hours before leaving. These things are small concerns when compared with the appaliing and rude staff. Breakfast at best can only be compared to a bun fight, disorganisation is the rule and staff ignore all requests for tea/coffee and any crockery and cutlery. So much so I finally helped myself much to their consternation and even complaints to the breakfast room manager did nt improve matters on subsequent days.

Further 'miscommunications' with other various staff ensued and be warned, a hefty amount is taken off your credit card as a pre-authorisation on arrival. Apparently normal procedure is to refund this on check out and take the full amount at this point - I refused and we paid only the small balance owing in cash.

Only redeeming factors are the very nice grounds - again please note as 'hotel' guests you are 'barred' from the pool in the Palace area which also isn t made clear at check in leading to further embarassment and the one and only staff member worth any praise is the very lovely Fatima working the pool restaurant and bar at the lowly 'hotel'

There are lots of hotels in and around the area this one is in - do yourself a favour and stay at any one of those rather than this one.

Comments - two disgruntled middle aged female travellers

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raïk B, Directeur général at Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Dear BernieLuton,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback concerning your recent stay at the Es Saadi Hotel..
I'm sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your experience at all.
Rest assured that your comments concerning the lack of service will be shared with the concerned departments.
Concerning your comments about the hefty amount taken off your credit card as a pre-authorisation on arrival is a common procedure all around the world. It is only a pre-autorisation, not a penny is at that point taken from your account.
Our main goal is to reach our valuable guests's satisfaction and it is always a pity for us when this specific objective is not reached.
I regret however you did not give us the opportunity to assist you directly while staying at the hotel .
I sincerely hope you will give us the opportunity to welcoming you back at the Es Saadi.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We are currently staying here and to be honest it's not bad at all. The food isn't bad and not too overpriced. The hotel is currently having some building works but not enough to ruin your trip. The staff are quite friendly and many speak English. The hotel may of been a 5# back in the 60swhen first built but it is only now catching back up. If you can book this hotel cheap then it's worth a look. The pool has recently been refurbished and looks great. It is only a Short walk to the medina but beware of the guides along the way who "just want to help" they will gladly help for a price. Be firm and they soon leave you alone. There are many tourist scams in Marrakech, horse and carriage being one of the biggest rip off as once you've agreed your price at the end of your trip they seem to of forgot what you agreed. If like us you get lost in the winding alleys of the medina (2hours infact) the best thing by far is to buy something cheap from a shop and then ask the owner for directions , anyone else will want paying for the info and probably send you the wrong way (especially children). Overall I like marrakech but the long weekend is enough for me.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raïk B, Directeur général at Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Dear richard03...

Thank you for giving your time by writing a review on tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at the Es Saadi hotel.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the location of the hotel in the heart of the Hivernage, and pleased that our service was at your disposal in the best possible way.

I hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back in Marrakech for another memorable stay at the Es Saadi Hotel

Sincerely Yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Our first time to morocco. 4 Nights in Marakech & 10 nights in Essaouia. After scouring tripadvisor I found two hotels for a reasonable price with everything we were looking for but you never know till you arrive.

Our Marakech hotel was the Es Saadi Gardens & Resort. Upon arrival it didn't look to impressive to be honest but this hotel was cheaper than other hotels we have stayed at in other countries. I had read the reviews so was forewarned not to expect 5 Star service you might receive elsewhere in the world. So here we go my views.....

Service ranged from the exceptional to the average. Restaurants in the hotel seemed to have enough staff but sometimes service seemed slow. Sometimes in the morning you would have to get the attention of the waiter to order your coffee. Then it would seemingly take for ever for it to arrive (probably only 5-10 mins) The thing is you would be waiting and then you would see a little huddle of 2-3 waiters standing around talking and laughing. To be honest I think this seems to be the morrocon way as I have also found this at our second hotel. ( Didn't worry me to much to be honest but thought I would mention it)

Predominately the morrocons speak French and the majority of tourists I met were French, but we never had any problems, some of the staff at both hotels we stayed spoke very good English.

During our stay I good WIFI connection through the hotel, including beside the pool and in our room.

I also used the Gym which was located in the Es Saadi Palace. One of the best Gyms I have used. All modern equipment ( TechnoGym ) Gym was also very quite.

The food was of a good quality, although the breakfast which was a good selection buffet was the same every day. We booked bed and breakfast and found the evening meals A La carte and of a good standard.
we also ate out at a couple of restaurants one which I feel is worth a mention was the Azar. Described as a mixture of Moroccan and Lebanese food. Service and food was excellent.

One of the hotels outdoor pools was described to us as heated. It didn't feel heated is all I can say. Sometimes the pool area was busier than others but we always managed to get a sun lounger.

didn't use the Spa during our stay.

The hotel is in a good location, with it being only a five minute walk from the old town and the hustle and bustle of the markets. If you venture into the markets be prepared to haggle hard. I found them completely overpriced. No bargains to had here.

one thing I found strange after now years of smokers oppression in United Kingdom. People could smoke when and where ever they fancied it. Although I believe the smokers during breakfast had to sit outside.

I found have found all resort food and drink expensive and what I mean by expensive is expect to pay more than you would in England. bottle of Local beer around 65 MAD inc Tax as of March 2014. Can of Sprite 35 MAD. Food follows along the same lines.

All in all a good experience and I would return to the hotel as it satisfied all of our requirements. I have marked the Hotel as Good Value mainly due to the amount we paid for the bead and breakfast option. If you stayed here with a family I feel the costs would ramp up with food and drink from the hotel.

Room Tip: buying a stock of drinks and snacks from the carrifour if you want to same some money. Also eating o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raïk B, Directeur général at Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Dear Jonathan,

Firstly, I would like to thank you for noting your feedback on trip advisor regarding your recent stay at the Es Saadi Hotel.

Our team is always looking forward to exceed the guests needs thus guarantee their satisfaction.

However, we are sorry to learn that we did not meet all your expectations in some of its aspects, simultaneously not having the opportunity to meet you , and make your start more memorable.
Nevertheless, further to your review, we are delighted to read that you loved the Gyms and the A la carte Restaurant.

When it comes to lodging & restaurants we are certain that you have many choices to choose upon, and we hope that Es Saadi Gardens & Resort will remain your prior choice for your next trip to Marrakech.

Looking forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I am puzzled to read the critical reviews. We stayed here for a week and found everything was of a very high standard. The pool view room we had was spacious and very well maintained.
The food was of reasonable standard with good choices for dinner. The breakfasts were exceptionally good.
I would certainly visit again

It is not quite 5 star but comes very close

Room Tip: Pool view room is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raïk B, Directeur général at Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Google Translation
Cher Monsieur,

Permettez-moi tout d'abord de vous remercier d'avoir pris le temps de partager vos commentaires relatifs à votre récente visite à l'Hôtel Es Saadi.
A la lecture de ces derniers, nous sommes ravis d'apprendre que votre séjour a répondu à vos attentes en termes de qualité.
Votre satisfaction est notre principal objectif et vos éloges représentent la plus belle des récompenses.
Nous espérons sincèrement avoir le plaisir de vous accueillir de nouveau très prochaînement au Es Saadi Gardens & Resort; ce afin de vous faire partager une nouvelle expérience enrichissante.

Cordiales salutations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Stayed 3 nights. The building work s is now almost finished . The pool was open and water OK to swim. Breakfast still had to be taken at Palace ..in a very dismal dining room there, though the food choice and quality was good.

Rooms in this hotel are variable if the experiences of various couples in our party are anything to go by. Ours had a balcony overlooking the pool and although smallish was suitable for our needs during our stay. We liked the touch of providing a bowl of fresh oranges [deliciously sweet and juicy] and a vase of roses[ beautiful]. Above all the chambermaid could not have been more helpful responding immediately and with a smile to anything we needed.

We had half board and the dinners were from a small set menu with 4 starters 5 mains and no choice of desert. I particularly liked all the mains I had; sea beam, skate and vegetarian moussaka.

Easy walk to the Medina. I would stay again without any qualms

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

The rooms are fairly large and spacious with some nice touches ie., fresh roses and fruit in the room, but the carpet was very grubby and the decor dated. Beware when having a shower as the shower screen was not adequate and we ended up with the bathroom being flooded. The hotel is also next door to the casino and it was extremely noisy in the early hours of the morning until 5.00am!

There was building work going on in the hotel and we had to go the Palace next door for breakfast which was excellent but the dining room was open for evening meal, but nothing exceptional.

The grounds are lovely and the hotel is within a ten minute walk to the medina.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel

Address: Rue Ibrahim El Mazini - Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Marrakech
#113 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#114 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An historical institution which opened its door in 1966. Fully renovated in 2005, this 5 star hotel mixes a unique nostalgic style with the latest hi-tech amenities. Top-level services are overseen by a “golden keys” Chief Concierge. Full access to all resort activities: Bars and Restaurants, Spas, Morrocan Diner-Show, Casino de Marrakech, Night Clubbing.Located in the heart of Marrakech, in the “Hivernage” residential area, and surrounded by 20 acres of beautiful gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Es Saadi Marrakech
Hotel Es Saadi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.