We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall Happy 1st Stay in Marakech” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel to your Saves list
Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue Ibrahim El Mazini - Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #274 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Overall Happy 1st Stay in Marakech”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Our first time to morocco. 4 Nights in Marakech & 10 nights in Essaouia. After scouring tripadvisor I found two hotels for a reasonable price with everything we were looking for but you never know till you arrive.

Our Marakech hotel was the Es Saadi Gardens & Resort. Upon arrival it didn't look to impressive to be honest but this hotel was cheaper than other hotels we have stayed at in other countries. I had read the reviews so was forewarned not to expect 5 Star service you might receive elsewhere in the world. So here we go my views.....

Service ranged from the exceptional to the average. Restaurants in the hotel seemed to have enough staff but sometimes service seemed slow. Sometimes in the morning you would have to get the attention of the waiter to order your coffee. Then it would seemingly take for ever for it to arrive (probably only 5-10 mins) The thing is you would be waiting and then you would see a little huddle of 2-3 waiters standing around talking and laughing. To be honest I think this seems to be the morrocon way as I have also found this at our second hotel. ( Didn't worry me to much to be honest but thought I would mention it)

Predominately the morrocons speak French and the majority of tourists I met were French, but we never had any problems, some of the staff at both hotels we stayed spoke very good English.

During our stay I good WIFI connection through the hotel, including beside the pool and in our room.

I also used the Gym which was located in the Es Saadi Palace. One of the best Gyms I have used. All modern equipment ( TechnoGym ) Gym was also very quite.

The food was of a good quality, although the breakfast which was a good selection buffet was the same every day. We booked bed and breakfast and found the evening meals A La carte and of a good standard.
we also ate out at a couple of restaurants one which I feel is worth a mention was the Azar. Described as a mixture of Moroccan and Lebanese food. Service and food was excellent.

One of the hotels outdoor pools was described to us as heated. It didn't feel heated is all I can say. Sometimes the pool area was busier than others but we always managed to get a sun lounger.

didn't use the Spa during our stay.

The hotel is in a good location, with it being only a five minute walk from the old town and the hustle and bustle of the markets. If you venture into the markets be prepared to haggle hard. I found them completely overpriced. No bargains to had here.

one thing I found strange after now years of smokers oppression in United Kingdom. People could smoke when and where ever they fancied it. Although I believe the smokers during breakfast had to sit outside.

I found have found all resort food and drink expensive and what I mean by expensive is expect to pay more than you would in England. bottle of Local beer around 65 MAD inc Tax as of March 2014. Can of Sprite 35 MAD. Food follows along the same lines.

All in all a good experience and I would return to the hotel as it satisfied all of our requirements. I have marked the Hotel as Good Value mainly due to the amount we paid for the bead and breakfast option. If you stayed here with a family I feel the costs would ramp up with food and drink from the hotel.

Room Tip: buying a stock of drinks and snacks from the carrifour if you want to same some money. Also eating o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raïk B, Directeur général at Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Dear Jonathan,

Firstly, I would like to thank you for noting your feedback on trip advisor regarding your recent stay at the Es Saadi Hotel.

Our team is always looking forward to exceed the guests needs thus guarantee their satisfaction.

However, we are sorry to learn that we did not meet all your expectations in some of its aspects, simultaneously not having the opportunity to meet you , and make your start more memorable.
Nevertheless, further to your review, we are delighted to read that you loved the Gyms and the A la carte Restaurant.

When it comes to lodging & restaurants we are certain that you have many choices to choose upon, and we hope that Es Saadi Gardens & Resort will remain your prior choice for your next trip to Marrakech.

Looking forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    184
    84
    55
    37
See reviews for
78
206
33
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I am puzzled to read the critical reviews. We stayed here for a week and found everything was of a very high standard. The pool view room we had was spacious and very well maintained.
The food was of reasonable standard with good choices for dinner. The breakfasts were exceptionally good.
I would certainly visit again

It is not quite 5 star but comes very close

Room Tip: Pool view room is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raïk B, Directeur général at Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Google Translation
Cher Monsieur,

Permettez-moi tout d'abord de vous remercier d'avoir pris le temps de partager vos commentaires relatifs à votre récente visite à l'Hôtel Es Saadi.
A la lecture de ces derniers, nous sommes ravis d'apprendre que votre séjour a répondu à vos attentes en termes de qualité.
Votre satisfaction est notre principal objectif et vos éloges représentent la plus belle des récompenses.
Nous espérons sincèrement avoir le plaisir de vous accueillir de nouveau très prochaînement au Es Saadi Gardens & Resort; ce afin de vous faire partager une nouvelle expérience enrichissante.

Cordiales salutations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Stayed 3 nights. The building work s is now almost finished . The pool was open and water OK to swim. Breakfast still had to be taken at Palace ..in a very dismal dining room there, though the food choice and quality was good.

Rooms in this hotel are variable if the experiences of various couples in our party are anything to go by. Ours had a balcony overlooking the pool and although smallish was suitable for our needs during our stay. We liked the touch of providing a bowl of fresh oranges [deliciously sweet and juicy] and a vase of roses[ beautiful]. Above all the chambermaid could not have been more helpful responding immediately and with a smile to anything we needed.

We had half board and the dinners were from a small set menu with 4 starters 5 mains and no choice of desert. I particularly liked all the mains I had; sea beam, skate and vegetarian moussaka.

Easy walk to the Medina. I would stay again without any qualms

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

The rooms are fairly large and spacious with some nice touches ie., fresh roses and fruit in the room, but the carpet was very grubby and the decor dated. Beware when having a shower as the shower screen was not adequate and we ended up with the bathroom being flooded. The hotel is also next door to the casino and it was extremely noisy in the early hours of the morning until 5.00am!

There was building work going on in the hotel and we had to go the Palace next door for breakfast which was excellent but the dining room was open for evening meal, but nothing exceptional.

The grounds are lovely and the hotel is within a ten minute walk to the medina.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

I had the best time of my life in this hotel from the front of house to house keeping restaurant and in the club, this hotel manager should be voted the best , i am sure it is her good training or something she does to her employee that make our holliday the one to remember,

Guys i can not thank you enough i really cant and this is from all the party that came for my honeymoon from around the world, they all spoke so highly about the trip,

we all booked with the Les Jardins De La Koutoubia to start with and the bad manner drove us to this hotel and all the anger we had in us was wiped away from our face be getting the opposite at the as saadi, it all started from the lady on the front who had a great calm smile,

then the guys who took our bags, then the house keeping guy then the club then the breakfast which looked and tasted good and the service from the host and the restaurant manager, i can not say enough, and wished i had all day to write.

Room Tip: we had the pool view rooms and cant complain
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Promotional images for the Hotel Es Saadi are actually of the Palace Es Saadi resort - the two belong to the same family but are completely different.
We booked the Hotel as it has a large heated outdoor pool and, as someone who swims everyday, this was of paramount importance. Upon arrival there was a notice on the reception counter stating that 'due to a leak the pool, breakfast room and spa would be shut from 6th Jan.' When I complained about this, the receptionist stated that our travel company should have told us. The travel company had not been informed. When we complained to the local rep, he also had no idea. Basically, no one wishes to take responsibility. So, whilst the hotel is 'open' it is effectively shut.
Breakfast is taken at the Palace - fantastic and I should imagine much better than what would be available at the Hotel. You can use the pool at the Palace. The main big pool is not heated and therefore it's not possible to swim in that. There is another smaller heated pool, which was perfect for the first 4 days but the temperature of this was dropped considerably and it was not possible to swim in that either by the 13th Jan.
At the Hotel Es Saadi, workmen are in the pool and surrounding area 8-5 everyday digging up and replacing tiles, banging, drilling etc. The day we left scaffolding was being erected around part of the hotel and very loud work was taking place. One night there were men working in the pool at 1am! It is not possible to be in your room during the day if you are planning to relax. Effectively, there is extensive work going on at this hotel.
The staff at the Hotel can be very surly indeed (at the Palace they are charming) and more interested in smoking or looking at their mobiles. Note: smoking is permissable all over the hotel including in the rooms ... so if you want to start smoking, or even passive smoking, this is the place to do it!
Upon arrival we were told we had to pay 3000 dh (about £230) on a credit card as a deposit against any charges we might incur - bar, room service, etc. We said we would pay as we went. This wasn't deemed to be acceptable and we were asked to leave cash if we weren't prepared to enter a credit card pin number. We were told this was the same at every hotel because visitors left without paying bills. We are professional people, not criminals. We refused to pay in advance and after some further discussion we managed to check in. When we met up with a local friend (Moroccan) who used to work on reception at The Meridian in Marrakech he was shocked and told us that this is not common practice. You need to stick to your guns.

Checkout time is reasonable at midday. Our pick up was at 2pm. I asked if I could change my clothes somewhere as I had been at the pool and was shown to what is clearly the (male) staff area and storage area. The concierge appeared to lock the door that I went through from the main reception but there were 2 other doors that accessed this area which was effectively a dirty garage storage space. I felt very uncomfortable changing in there but needed to change out of my swimsuit. I had just managed to change my top when 2 of the doors opened and a male concierge came through each one! VERY VERY odd and VERY VERY uncomfortable. Why there is not a hospitality room available for guests to change in is beyond me. I am sure that if I had slipped the concierge some money he would have found one but that is not the point. One should be provided for any guest that needs to change before travelling.

This hotel leaves a lot to be desired.

Room Tip: Breakfast excellent because it was in the Palace. I can't comment on the breakfast at the Hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York and London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

The hotel is tired and needs renovating. The rooms are a decent size but everything screams old and in need of replacing, including the inadequate lifts.

Despite the water being undrinkable, unlike most Moroccan hotels there are no courtesy bottles of drinking water in the rooms, only an over priced mini bar. I assumed that there would be a supermarket nearby, not so. this is a residential neighbourhood with many hotels but nowhere that we could find to buy a simple bottle of water, or anything else.

Food was poor quality.

Room Tip: plenty of alternative hotels
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel

Address: Rue Ibrahim El Mazini - Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Marrakech
#112 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#113 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An historical institution which opened its door in 1966. Fully renovated in 2005, this 5 star hotel mixes a unique nostalgic style with the latest hi-tech amenities. Top-level services are overseen by a “golden keys” Chief Concierge. Full access to all resort activities: Bars and Restaurants, Spas, Morrocan Diner-Show, Casino de Marrakech, Night Clubbing.Located in the heart of Marrakech, in the “Hivernage” residential area, and surrounded by 20 acres of beautiful gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Es Saadi Marrakech
Hotel Es Saadi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.