We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tourist hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel to your Saves list
Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue Ibrahim El Mazini - Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #269 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
Colchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great tourist hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Good atmosphere hotel, in relatively quiet location, convenient for taxis, horse-drawn carriages and easy walking distance to Jemaa El Fna square. Hotel clean and staff efficient and friendly. Food is good but drinks are rather expensive. Pool and surrounds OK but flies and cats are problems.

Room Tip: Pool side rooms get full afternoon sun - hot if you like it! Town side rooms subject to some traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    232
    103
    59
    39
See reviews for
98
250
38
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Stayed here on the 9th sept 2013 and was really impressed. Nothing to glitzy about this place but was extremely impressed with the hotel. From breakfast in the hotels paradise gardens to a 3 days spa package including a real marrocan hammam. Staff were extremely friendly; you could tell this was a family run business.

could do with a few touch ups as it was very 70s art deco but i felt that all added to the charm. Will be back at the drop of a hat.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

The website is rather misleading - the pool photo is better than the real experience. The "island" in the pool has a palm tree? It attracts a lot of pigeons and their "deposits" produce a certain "aroma" which rather detracts from the ambience. The rooms are OK - the bed linen and room service make up for the rather un-prepossessing balcony. There was no kettle in the room and the air con was a little lacking. The lovely people working there made the whole experience better. Nothing was too much trouble, it seemed, when we requested a change of room. The air con was better in the room we were moved to after the first night but still not great. The food poolside was delightful and the bar staff were helpful but I wondered if it wouldn't be improved by a little poolside service? Building work was in progress and I understand all too well that improvements need to be made but the noise on occasion was rather irritating. As a result of the building work, breakfast was served in beautiful gardens to the side of the hotel. Sadly, it was spoilt by the volume of bees and their stalwart disregard of our best "shooing" efforts. Luckily, we didn't have anything sweet or fruity but they still made a nuisance of themselves. The toilet facilities were reminiscent of a dingy cellar and there was no soap or paper available. We had to ask for the fountain to be turned on in the pool each day - to mask the building noise - wake up guys! We booked to eat in the restaurant, the menu looked marvellous but the young lady at the door was dismissive and oddly haughty in manner, suffice it to say, we cancelled the booking the following day. On the downside, the revving of engines and speedway style screeching of tyres, which ran from 1am to 5am, was annoying but we were informed that the "culprit" was royalty so hey ho. On the upside, the Thai spa by the pool was fabulous and the treatments divine. Thank goodness for the hotel and poolside staff.

Room Tip: choose a room where the air con works and as far away from the casino and night club as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South of France
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Lovely hotel but a bit worn out and in need of an update. Very much enjoyed my stay. I had a room with a tiny balcony with a rusty table and chair overlooking the pool and towards the Palace and Casino.

The best things about the hotel were the pool and the food in the Restaurant Gastronomique!

I was half board at the hotel and for dinner every evening there was a choice of three starters, 3 main courses and a choice from the sweet trolley. The food was excellent and the vegetables were fresh, bio (free range) and home grown. The service was also good.

However, the breakfast was awful. The selection was in a room along a path in the garden with tables outside. The selection was poor and even though there was ham and Palma ham there was no bacon. The sausages were awful spicy little things. The waiters were milling around but not really wanting to know if you wanted anything and I had to really try hard to get an omelette and a pot of coffee. The worst thing was that one was inundated with wasps!

The people coming out of the Casino at 4.00am make a lot of noise and rev their cars and bikes!

The little boutiques at the hotel are very nice but very expensive!

The room and bathroom were clean but the carpet was a bit worn. The room was a good size with a very comfortable bed and pillows but was cleaned very late in the afternoon which was not really convenient.

I would say that this hotel is good value for money and would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Located a 20/25 minute walk from Djemma El Fna, Es Saadi offers a comfortable retreat from Marrakech. Rooms are large and spacious and staff very helpful and friendly. our room was cleaned daily and beds were beautifully comfy

A taxi to Gueliz or Djemma El Fna will set you back between 20/30d (£2approx) but expect the drivers to try and get 50/60d out of you - walk away and you'll soon be called back to pay the standard price (not much I know but who likes to be ripped off? And once someone senses you're gullible you risk being taken to any numbers of souks/restaurants). The walk was a bit of a pain but was relatively hassle-free (compared to Egypt if you've been) Two tricks to watch out for. One: more than once we were followed by someone who approached us and claimed to be "from Es Saadi"; whilst situation didn't turn unpleasant it still took them 10 mins to cotton on that we weren't going to be led into restaurants and shops and those minutes felt a little awkward. Two: Chap approached us on our first day offering to be a guide and warning us of "hassle". Having been to several African nations we were fully prepared and found Marrakech to be easier than Egypt and Kenya; a simple 'no thanks' is all that is required.

Returning to the hotel, we found the dining facilities for breakfast not to our liking, staff appeared rushed and flies buzzing into the dining room and so we opted, after the first day, to order room service for breakfast at no additional cost (bar a small tip for the waiter).

Finally, for great restaurants, look away from Djemma. We found much better, equally affordable dining in Gueliz on a road called Rue Yugoslavie. Whilst the road looks deserted there are a number of nice eateries who real charm is only to be discovered by exploring beyond the often disappointing frontages. It cost approx 20d and, if you're brave enough (not that you'd be in any danger) it is a 20 minute walk back to Es Saadi.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, Southland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Looking for somewhere to stay in Marrakesh, then look no further than tbis hotel. Run by a French family this hotel has LOTS of character, fresh flowers in your room, and a fantastic swimming pool. It is not too far from the centre of the city and seems to be a wonderfil and tranquil haven from the hustle and bustle of a very busy city. Has great ( and free) wifi. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EsSaadiGardens, Front Office Manager at Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting Es Saadi Hotel Marrakech and taking the time to share with us your experience at the hotel.

We are so happy to know that your stay was a great success and most of your expectations were met.


We look forward to welcome you back for another amazing Trip where you’ll continue to discover more and more wonderful areas at Es Saadi Gardens&Resort.

Best Regards.
Rooms Division Manager of Es Saadi Gardens&Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed for three nights after seeing lovely photos (and it's pretty cheap coming from the UK!) so i was a bit disappointed on getting there to find a 5 story block hotel, very 90s style and not in the best upkeep.

The gardens are beautiful but there was some quite noisy building work we weren't advised of, and the enormous pool - which looks stunning - was empty and taped off, with no explanation. The smaller pool we did sit by was great though, but not the best view of the empty, taped off adjacent pool.

There are a number of restaurants but we couldn't actually find most of them - the staff's English was fairly limited and we weren't offered any information on arrival, there's also no map of the complex. We went to the pool bar for lunch which was fine, not great, and looking at £8/9 for a salad, more for larger meals - at the palace pool its around £18 for a burger. They also wouldn't serve alcohol, not sure why but i'm guessing for Ramadan which is fair enough, but made where you could get drinks quite limited.

The hotel was pretty much empty, and we found Hivernage very quiet too, perhaps because its Ramadan though i'm not sure why there weren't more tourists. The city was bustling though and a great place to visit so we just stayed at the pool or headed to the city - its walkable, or should be max 40 dirhams in a cab - haggling is key!

All in all the hotel was nice enough and a really good price for a short sun break, but I was disappointed by the closures, and the staff weren't hugely helpful but the language barrier was a bit of an issue - most people there were French.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Palace
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien N'Fis
Le Meridien N'Fis
#295 of 480 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 1,116 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hivernage Hotel & Spa
Hivernage Hotel & Spa
#302 of 480 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial
0.3 mi away
The Pearl Marrakech
The Pearl Marrakech
#236 of 480 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel

Address: Rue Ibrahim El Mazini - Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Casino Hotel in Marrakech
#115 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#135 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#188 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An historical institution which opened its door in 1966. Fully renovated in 2005, this 5 star hotel mixes a unique nostalgic style with the latest hi-tech amenities. Top-level services are overseen by a “golden keys” Chief Concierge. Full access to all resort activities: Bars and Restaurants, Spas, Morrocan Diner-Show, Casino de Marrakech, Night Clubbing.Located in the heart of Marrakech, in the “Hivernage” residential area, and surrounded by 20 acres of beautiful gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Es Saadi Marrakech
Hotel Es Saadi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.