We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Morocco” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel to your Saves list
Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue Ibrahim El Mazini - Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #274 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Invercargill, Southland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Morocco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Looking for somewhere to stay in Marrakesh, then look no further than tbis hotel. Run by a French family this hotel has LOTS of character, fresh flowers in your room, and a fantastic swimming pool. It is not too far from the centre of the city and seems to be a wonderfil and tranquil haven from the hustle and bustle of a very busy city. Has great ( and free) wifi. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EsSaadiGardens, Front Office Manager at Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting Es Saadi Hotel Marrakech and taking the time to share with us your experience at the hotel.

We are so happy to know that your stay was a great success and most of your expectations were met.


We look forward to welcome you back for another amazing Trip where you’ll continue to discover more and more wonderful areas at Es Saadi Gardens&Resort.

Best Regards.
Rooms Division Manager of Es Saadi Gardens&Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    184
    85
    55
    37
See reviews for
78
206
33
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed for three nights after seeing lovely photos (and it's pretty cheap coming from the UK!) so i was a bit disappointed on getting there to find a 5 story block hotel, very 90s style and not in the best upkeep.

The gardens are beautiful but there was some quite noisy building work we weren't advised of, and the enormous pool - which looks stunning - was empty and taped off, with no explanation. The smaller pool we did sit by was great though, but not the best view of the empty, taped off adjacent pool.

There are a number of restaurants but we couldn't actually find most of them - the staff's English was fairly limited and we weren't offered any information on arrival, there's also no map of the complex. We went to the pool bar for lunch which was fine, not great, and looking at £8/9 for a salad, more for larger meals - at the palace pool its around £18 for a burger. They also wouldn't serve alcohol, not sure why but i'm guessing for Ramadan which is fair enough, but made where you could get drinks quite limited.

The hotel was pretty much empty, and we found Hivernage very quiet too, perhaps because its Ramadan though i'm not sure why there weren't more tourists. The city was bustling though and a great place to visit so we just stayed at the pool or headed to the city - its walkable, or should be max 40 dirhams in a cab - haggling is key!

All in all the hotel was nice enough and a really good price for a short sun break, but I was disappointed by the closures, and the staff weren't hugely helpful but the language barrier was a bit of an issue - most people there were French.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We are leaving the Es Saadi hotel after a fabulous week's stay. We found the staff to be extremely helpful and friendly from the concierge who gave us maps and answered all our queries to the pool bar staff who we don't recognise from previous reviews. My schoolgirl french came in handy and I accept that although there don't appear to be enough sun beds on first sight, the pool guys are always willing to find room for you and will produce a parasol from nowhere it seems! The bar food is always good value for money. The rooms are very pleasant, big bed, and the chambermaid always leaves it spotless. Ok, balcony isn't huge but that's not a reason to down mark this hotel. We stayed on a B&B basis and the choice at breakfast is excellent and set in lovely surroundings. Our only reason for not giving full marks is the casino/disco next door at the palace. It seems that at 5.30am when they all go home the majority of the locals feel the road out of the casino is actually a pit lane and we experienced high octane revving from engines and beeping horns for about 1/2hr. Then it returns to the sound of birdsong which is lovely. As for taxis we walked round the corner every morning and picked up a petit taxi to get us into the city NEVER paid more than 20 MAD! A little spoken french and a smile goes a long way here!

Room Tip: A pool view room on the highest floor may be a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

The photos and description is of the "PALACE" but if you think you are getting a good price then you are only paying for the "HOTEL".

all the reviews below that give raving reviews are all for the PALACE.... Have a look at the top of the page where it says "ES SAADI GARDENS & RESORT - HOTEL" even when i clicked on the button to review it, its changed to PALACE.

You are NOT getting the same deal as what these reviews below are talking about!


There is a massive difference, all the pictures you see of the lovely indoor pool and the outdoor pool with the bar and bridges and the beautiful gardens surrounding it, THEY ARE OUT OF BOUNDS FOR HOTEL GUESTS!

The hotel guests get a smaller pool with not enough sunbeds and people arguing and fighting for spots around the pool.

THIS AD IS EXTREMELY MISLEADING!!!

This is not a 5 star hotel. It is a basic 4 star.

The Palace which is next to the hotel is a slap in the face to what you're not allowed to do, there is a very big gap between the standards, including the service.


this is a very sly tactic of and they are ripping you off. find another resort.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The hotel compared to the palace next door just in terms of lobby and general I pression is very poor like a low 3 star hotel. The rooms are quite small for the location and the furniture and carpeting is just horrible looks like 20 years old. I had to call housekeeping 3 times to get all the bathroom amenities as every time I needed to use something I found it was missing. Plus they told me no conditioner is available they finally gave me one from the palace. The so called spa is very poor with small rooms and a tiny changing room. The lobby bar has no skilled bartender they do not even know how to make a cosmopolitan ..... And my room had a view of the street and was noisy...

Room Tip: Not with a view of the street for sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a 4 day stay at this hotel. The moment you arrive you are treated with the greatest respect. Doors are opened, luggage is taken care of. We asked to upgrade to a suite, there wasn't one available in the hotel so they offered one of the bungalows opposite the pool. This was spacious and had a lovely large bathroom. The furniture was traditional but somehow made the rooms look dark. We were right opposite the pool which was ok but lacked a little privacy compared to a hotel room. It was extremely relaxing with the sound of water trickling in the pool and the birds singing amongst the trees. We used the spa so as to experience a hammam. This was definitely an experience! Good fun. The spa in the palace is luxurious but double the cost. We went into the palace part of the hotel....beautiful. The gym is situated here and is very clean and spacious. We went into the casino which can be very smokey, but had an enjoyable time. The restaurant in the hotel is very good with excellent service, not cheap but worth at least one visit. Breakfast was plentiful and very relaxing and you could enjoy it either indoors or in the garden.
We ventured away from the hotel to visit the souks etc, best to take a taxi, they can take you straight there, this cost 50 dirhams. You cannot get maps free of charge so might be best to print some off before hand. Overall, we had one of the most relaxing short breaks in a long time. We could not fault the hotel or the staff.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

If you are looking for 5* then you will be disappointed, like most of the hotels In Marrakesh there is an 80's feel to this place BUT that seems to be the case for most of the mid range hotels in the resort.. That is my ONLY complaint of this hotel

we booked into an Atlas suite and it was so spacious we started to refer to it as a flat, a small one mind !! we did take a peek in a few of the rooms and some had slightly better bathrooms but apart from that they were all very similar.. very clean and with spacious balconies.. The kitchen areas though needed some attention

All that said the concierge and the service in general was absolutely 5*. This hotel should pride themselves on their main attraction.. knowledgeable friendly staff and what felt like an extremely safe environment. The grounds are also stunning and the food superb in the evenings and just the ticket in the days!!

Be aware Marrakesh is only slightly cheaper than England though, this isn't a low budget holiday an 5 days is enough there is very little to see there.

Room Tip: Definately spend the money on a suite, you wont be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel

Address: Rue Ibrahim El Mazini - Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Marrakech
#112 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#113 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An historical institution which opened its door in 1966. Fully renovated in 2005, this 5 star hotel mixes a unique nostalgic style with the latest hi-tech amenities. Top-level services are overseen by a “golden keys” Chief Concierge. Full access to all resort activities: Bars and Restaurants, Spas, Morrocan Diner-Show, Casino de Marrakech, Night Clubbing.Located in the heart of Marrakech, in the “Hivernage” residential area, and surrounded by 20 acres of beautiful gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Es Saadi Marrakech
Hotel Es Saadi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.