We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very relaxing hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel to your Saves list
Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue Ibrahim El Mazini - Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #275 of 463 Hotels in Marrakech
Hereford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A very relaxing hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a 4 day stay at this hotel. The moment you arrive you are treated with the greatest respect. Doors are opened, luggage is taken care of. We asked to upgrade to a suite, there wasn't one available in the hotel so they offered one of the bungalows opposite the pool. This was spacious and had a lovely large bathroom. The furniture was traditional but somehow made the rooms look dark. We were right opposite the pool which was ok but lacked a little privacy compared to a hotel room. It was extremely relaxing with the sound of water trickling in the pool and the birds singing amongst the trees. We used the spa so as to experience a hammam. This was definitely an experience! Good fun. The spa in the palace is luxurious but double the cost. We went into the palace part of the hotel....beautiful. The gym is situated here and is very clean and spacious. We went into the casino which can be very smokey, but had an enjoyable time. The restaurant in the hotel is very good with excellent service, not cheap but worth at least one visit. Breakfast was plentiful and very relaxing and you could enjoy it either indoors or in the garden.
We ventured away from the hotel to visit the souks etc, best to take a taxi, they can take you straight there, this cost 50 dirhams. You cannot get maps free of charge so might be best to print some off before hand. Overall, we had one of the most relaxing short breaks in a long time. We could not fault the hotel or the staff.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    182
    84
    55
    37
See reviews for
77
205
31
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

If you are looking for 5* then you will be disappointed, like most of the hotels In Marrakesh there is an 80's feel to this place BUT that seems to be the case for most of the mid range hotels in the resort.. That is my ONLY complaint of this hotel

we booked into an Atlas suite and it was so spacious we started to refer to it as a flat, a small one mind !! we did take a peek in a few of the rooms and some had slightly better bathrooms but apart from that they were all very similar.. very clean and with spacious balconies.. The kitchen areas though needed some attention

All that said the concierge and the service in general was absolutely 5*. This hotel should pride themselves on their main attraction.. knowledgeable friendly staff and what felt like an extremely safe environment. The grounds are also stunning and the food superb in the evenings and just the ticket in the days!!

Be aware Marrakesh is only slightly cheaper than England though, this isn't a low budget holiday an 5 days is enough there is very little to see there.

Room Tip: Definately spend the money on a suite, you wont be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Honestly this is right on the cusp of being a five star review, but I get the feeling our stay was so excellent because we went off season.

We stayed in the Atlas Suite on the corner of the hotel and thought it was overall lovely.

Positives
- The suite was massive, and the cleaning staff were in and out every time you left to turn down the bed, hoover and tidy behind you. Incredible service.
- The concierge staff were incredibly helpful, polite and welcoming. The vast majority of the staff were, but the concierge's and the restaurant staff spoke the best English.
- The bed was enormous. You could go with a friend and share the double bed without ever even touching.
- The restaurant was absolutely delcious, half board would be a wise investment.
- The pool was kept clean and sparkling, and pleasantly cool when you were trying to escape the merciless heat.
- The grounds were beautiful, and use of the gym facilities in the palace was very welcome and extremely convenient.

Negatives
- the mountains were partially visible on a couple of occasions, the room is advertised for it's stunning view of them but the air is constantly full of sand/heat haze at that distance and you never see them.
- There was an incongruously grotty kitchen in the room. Everything was rather plush and lovely and freshly painted then there was this little box of crap tiles and lino. It was actually quite funny, in a surreal way.
- It's French Morocco, so the staff speak Arabic (faarsi?) and French, with English being a second language, not really a criticism but it made ordering lunches by the pool a bit of an adventure.

It's definitely a five star hotel from the 90's or so, but what do you expect in Africa? I can't even understand the one star reviews I've seen on here after having visited.

Room Tip: Get friendly with the concierges ASAP.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Es Saadi is set in luxurious immaculately kept gardens.
The staff are really friendly & charming-as are most Morrocans!
The hotel is a peaceful oasis only a ten minute walk away from the bustling Medina.
Go for a day into the Atlas Mountains-use a taxi driver as your guide for the day-agree your price first. Much cheaper than an official tour! Buy your souvenirs from the Berbers in the mountains-cheaper than in the souk-pay about one third of the first asking price.
Hotel mahmounia is worth a visit for cocktails but is certainly no more beautiful than the Es Saadi palace!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damerham
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The staff were nice and the breakfast area was very pleasant and a superb choice of food.. A very big complex with a variety of places to eat, boutiques and spa area. Our room unfortunately let it down though as it was very small with a minute, dirty balcony and the bathroom was not too clean with a cigarette burn on the toilet seat.

We had been told that the hotel was only 10 minutes walk from the Square and Souks but it was so much more than that and also along busy roads. We are fairly agile and fit but we did the walk once and got taxi's after that as it took so long and also was not a good walk to do at night.

Room Tip: Not a room facing onto the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel as part of an organised tour of Morocco - as the cost was included in our tour we are unable to comment on "value".
We really liked this hotel, but would probably class it as more of a 4 than a 5 star. It was clean and tidy and the staff were friendly and helpful with the possible exception of the pool area/bar staff who seemed very disorganised (too many managers, not enough workers) - it took approximately 30 minutes to get 2 beers! We had one dinner at the hotel, which was part of the tour and a fixed menu - pretty average. The breakfast is a great location by the pool, but again, average.
So a couple of niggling complaints, but overall a good hotel and would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We were a party of 5 ladies and we stayed in the Es Saadi for 4 nights in early May. It is classed as a 5 star hotel but as most foreign countries I would say it was a good 4 star. Staff on arrival v efficient and pleasant. The hotel has a faded grandeur which I liked, Art Deco dotted around. We paid extra for a pool view room which did not disappoint , we had working air con a nice view and a clean bedroom with adjoining doors to our friends room next door.
The first night we ended up in the ThéâtrO nightclub on the sight which is free entry for residents. It was AMAZING a truly fantastic night. Drinks are expensive but then again everywhere in Marrakech is so the hotel prices were on a par with other restaurants. We also ate at the Casino on sight which was a beautiful place I highly recommend that!
You can walk to the Medina from the hotel in 15 mins, just don't get an unofficial tour guide by accident! Luckily we didn't go where he wanted us to!
Breakfast was buffet style although they did have scrambled and boiled eggs on toast and you can sit outside which was v pleasant. The poolside lunches were exceptional, lovely big salads, club sandwiches and nice fries for aprox £10 each. Pool manager was not a nice man though and quite nasty on occasion!
The place hotel in the grounds is truly stunning and although u cannot use their pool unless u get a day pass, you can walk round the gardens and have lunch or a drink.
I have read many reviews on here before I went and can honestly say that some people complain about anything and everything. You get what you pay for and the price of the hotel room was not a 5 star price. My only criticism was that there were not enough sunbeds to go round and I suggest u move some of your eating area and put some more sunbeds on for residents.
Overall a great trip and I would recommend staying here!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel

Address: Rue Ibrahim El Mazini - Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Marrakech
#113 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#114 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An historical institution which opened its door in 1966. Fully renovated in 2005, this 5 star hotel mixes a unique nostalgic style with the latest hi-tech amenities. Top-level services are overseen by a “golden keys” Chief Concierge. Full access to all resort activities: Bars and Restaurants, Spas, Morrocan Diner-Show, Casino de Marrakech, Night Clubbing.Located in the heart of Marrakech, in the “Hivernage” residential area, and surrounded by 20 acres of beautiful gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Es Saadi Marrakech
Hotel Es Saadi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.