We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"A week in Marrakech"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel

Save Saved
You added Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue Ibrahim El Mazini - Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #285 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Poole - on the sunshine coast!
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“"A week in Marrakech"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We arrived at the hotel in the late afternoon after a good flight with BA. The Es Saadi Gardens & Resort Hotel is only about 15 minutes from the airport so we were soon in our room (number 107 on the first floor.)

The room was clean and spacious. There was a small fridge/mini-bar, a safe and a furnished balcony overlooking the pool. There was complimentary fruit, flowers and bottled water in the room which was a nice touch. The bathroom had a bath with shower over and a wash hand basin. Toiletries and bathrobes are provided. There was plenty of shelf space. A sliding glass door led to a toilet and bidet. The air-conditioning was working fine and maintained the room at a pleasant 20 degrees. The daytime temperature outside was in the high 30s but this was unseasonably high and normally it would be in the mid to high 20s.

We were staying on half-board. Dinner service in the Restaurant Gastronomique does not start until 19:30 but the food was very good, particularly the fish which was an option on the table d'hôte menu every night. For those with a big appetite please note that the portions are good but not huge! There was also the facility to eat in the Palace hotel if you so desired, where there are two more restaurants. We slept well on the nights we were there and there was no external noise to disturb us, nor was there noise from other guests – it's just not that sort of hotel I am pleased to say! I noticed that some previous guests made reference to the noise from the cars and taxis leaving the Casino in the early hours. We did not experience this even though our pool-view room faced the direction of the Casino. Maybe they heard the noise because they were there earlier in the season and had their balcony doors open before the air-conditioning was put on. Other previous reports have mentioned a bad drains smell but we didn't experience this.

Breakfast was superb and was taken outside in very pleasant sylvan surroundings. We are not usually great fans of buffet breakfasts but this was, without question, really exceptional. Just about anything you could want, hot and cold. The bread deserves a mention - it was lovely and fresh-baked every day and exactly what you would expect at a French-owned hotel.

The swimming pool (heated I think) was good although not quite as clean as I would have liked. The grouting around the tiles just under the surface was growing a black mould which needs cleaning off! Having said that, we saw that every morning around 07:00 the cleaners ran the pool vacuum cleaner over the bottom and top of the pool. We did not see if or when the pool water was tested or chlorinated but the water did not have a chlorine smell. There were plenty of sunbeds and an adequate number of sun shades. Big towels were provided. The pool is a standard depth all over (1.4 metres) and has access steps. There is also a central fountain that sprays into the pool. All in all very nice.

The hotel is situated in large enclosed gardens and these are shared by the other more 'up market' hotel in the grounds called 'The Palace'. Indeed the nicest parts of the garden are around the Palace hotel. The only problem is that there are no comfortable seats provided where one could sit in the shade to enjoy them. The Es Saadi Gardens hotel is really the poor relation with its own smaller pool. Although we could use the 'facilities' of the Palace hotel we were not allowed to use their pool. I can understand this but it is irritating because their pool was three times the size of ours, far nicer (and cleaner) than ours and hardly seemed to be used the week we were there.

There are a few small shops in the hotel grounds for postcards, papers, books, and a few local crafts etc. There is also an ATM in the hotel lobby and a small bureau-de-change. I should mention that the exchange rates in Morocco are government controlled and are the same everywhere. There is no point in queuing to change money at the airport on arrival if you don't need it to pay for a taxi etc. If you are with a party then you will only be delaying everyone's departure from the airport and you won't be popular! There is also free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, even at the pool side which is a big bonus.

So far so good. So what did we not enjoy so much? Well generally the staff were great. Spoiled only by one or two who seemed a little 'surly' but you can get them anywhere. However it would seem that to overcome this you need to tip! Once you start doing this you will see the service improve no end!

Secondly you should note that this is essentially a French hotel. I would say that 85% of the guests were French, 10% Moroccan and a 5% mixture including English. Understandably French is the language of choice in the hotel and if you speak French you do get better service. We were fortunate in that respect as we do.

That brings me to drinks. The bottom line is that they are very expensive in the hotel. For instance a very small bottle of beer, 25cl costs 55 Dihrams or approx £4.40. That is £17.60 a litre or around £8.00 a pint. Beer in the small shop, outside the hotel and about ten minutes walk away costs 16 Dihrams or approx £1.25 for 50cl which is £2.50 a litre or £1.10 a pint. That is some mark up even for a hotel and in my opinion totally unjustified.

We did attend the Morocco night during our stay in lieu of our dinner in the restaurant – what a mistake! We did not enjoy it. The entertainment was far too loud. The tables were very low making it difficult to eat without suffering from indigestion! The candlelight, whilst very atmospheric, made it too dark to see what you were eating and there was far, far too much food. A terrible waste. The food was also very bland. We expected Moroccan food to be a bit spicy but this meal was not. So I would not recommend the Moroccan evening in the hotel.

So would we stay here again? Well we would probably save up a little longer and book into the Palace hotel for that extra bit of luxury.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms quieter if the balcony doors are closed when the air conditioning is on. Rooms on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    131
    155
    78
    54
    32
See reviews for
62
166
26
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stayed for 1 week at the Es Saadi. Not the most pleasant welcome on arrival and when I asked for a 5 Star hotel with my booking agent I was surprised to find myself in more of a 3 star at best.

Young lady at the bar (evenings) was a delight and pointed out the best restaurants Marrakech had to offer. All walking distance from the hotel which was a plus.

Rooms were basic, The cleaners were very good and very friendly unlike most of the other staff at the hotel.

Wi-Fi was free in the rooms and around the pool which was great as I was working most days I was there. I went down for breakfast on the one occasion which I found tinned fruit and food I wouldnt give to a stray dog. Trying to get a coffee from the many staff was pretty painful at times also. Except if I asked in French then it would of been no problem at all.

If I did go back to Marrakech I would stay only at the Sofitel which I visited and was stunning to say the least.

If you want some nice weather in Easter though Marrakech delivered hands down.

Cheers

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The Es Saadi Hotel was to be the highlight hotel for our tour of Morocco in March. Despite booking the holiday months in advance, on the day of arrival we were told a previous booking had overrun and our party were to be offered an inferior alternative. Eventually an out of town option was negociated (location not desirable), but we felt snubbed and unwelcome in what is a fine city. It also leads one ask, rightly or wrongly, what money was offered for them to make that decision. Not a very professional or moral way to conduct business.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This hotel was booked for a group of 40 people in March, the day of arrival we were told that an event at the hotel had overrun and we had no accomodation here.
Only one inferior alternative hotel was offered. This constitutes a breach of contract and is no way to treat a bona fide booking.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Modern hotel in attractive grounds, clean but could be anywhere in the world. Do not confuse with The Palace which adjoins this. Breakfast very French, excellent in quality and choice. Our package was half board but I would chose B&B only and eat out in the centre. Somewhat pretentious in attitude and there are probably better options available elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Myself and a few friends stayed at the Es Saadi Hotel last week and were overall pleased with our selection of hotel. The rooms were spacious and clean. The rooms were cleaned on a daily basis and fresh towels and toiletries were provided also. The breakfast was great with a wide selection to choose from and once again the service was good. Dinner in the evening became repetitive but was still enjoyable. Yaya from the restaurant, who is a real asset to the hotel, ensured that we received a great service with a smile. The pool area was clean and there were plenty of sun beds to choose from. You also get free entry to the Club Theatro if you are staying at the Es Saadi which saved a few quid. The downside to the hotel is that the majority of the guests are OAP’s, so you are guaranteed peace and quite if that’s what you are looking for. Overall, the hotel was well worth the money we paid (£66 p/n) and I will definitely be returning next year.

Room Tip: With a pool side view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night stay here and can honestly say it was one of the most over-rated and over-priced dumps I have ever stayed in!
The hotel stinks of stale smoke and the rooms have a stench of drains.
The air conditioning has no temperature control and blows out hot air when turned on, making for a really unpleasant sleep. We did ask about the temperature and were told it was hot because it was their winter (in March with 30º) and if we didn't like it we should open the doors, which opened onto a loud casino!! The next day we asked if there was a fan in the hotel that we could use but were told they had all been taken already by other guests! We found out later that the air con was broken and had been for months!
The hotel was also very tired and depressing and looked like a Spanish resort from the 70's, with the price of a luxury 5* hotel in Dubai!
The swimming pool is not heated but ok as the weather was lovely and warm in the day so a dip in the pool was nice and refreshing.
There seemed to be a lot of staff around the hotel, but none of them knew what they was meant to be doing and seemed to find the quietest parts of the hotel to avoid any kind of work, especially around the pool where we found it very amusing watching the complete incompetence of their standard of hospitality and professionalism. That is, until we tried getting some lunch, which involved 2 wrong drinks, cold food after 40mins wait, guests leaving before their food arrived after waiting too long, staff crying because they was being shouted at by the bar manager and wrong bills being handed out!
Breakfast is also very poor, with buffet being offered, all of which was cold, bland and cheap, especially the coffee which resembled some kind of luke warm chicory treacle sauce, although washing it down with powdered orange squash (which in a country covered in orange trees seems ridiculous) is not a taste i'd recommend!
Overall I would highly suggest avoiding this hotel with it's useless, arrogant staff and smelly hot rooms - it makes a Premier Inn look like a 7 star resort!! We counted several hotels within 200yrds of this dump that we wished we had stayed at instead!

Room Tip: Avoid, unless you want to relive the 70's hotel experience for an inflated price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel

Address: Rue Ibrahim El Mazini - Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Marrakech
#111 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#111 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An historical institution which opened its door in 1966. Fully renovated in 2005, this 5 star hotel mixes a unique nostalgic style with the latest hi-tech amenities. Top-level services are overseen by a “golden keys” Chief Concierge. Full access to all resort activities: Bars and Restaurants, Spas, Morrocan Diner-Show, Casino de Marrakech, Night Clubbing.Located in the heart of Marrakech, in the “Hivernage” residential area, and surrounded by 20 acres of beautiful gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Es Saadi Marrakech
Hotel Es Saadi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.