We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel to your Saves list
Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue Ibrahim El Mazini - Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #276 of 490 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stayed for 1 week at the Es Saadi. Not the most pleasant welcome on arrival and when I asked for a 5 Star hotel with my booking agent I was surprised to find myself in more of a 3 star at best.

Young lady at the bar (evenings) was a delight and pointed out the best restaurants Marrakech had to offer. All walking distance from the hotel which was a plus.

Rooms were basic, The cleaners were very good and very friendly unlike most of the other staff at the hotel.

Wi-Fi was free in the rooms and around the pool which was great as I was working most days I was there. I went down for breakfast on the one occasion which I found tinned fruit and food I wouldnt give to a stray dog. Trying to get a coffee from the many staff was pretty painful at times also. Except if I asked in French then it would of been no problem at all.

If I did go back to Marrakech I would stay only at the Sofitel which I visited and was stunning to say the least.

If you want some nice weather in Easter though Marrakech delivered hands down.

Cheers

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank takamine7849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The Es Saadi Hotel was to be the highlight hotel for our tour of Morocco in March. Despite booking the holiday months in advance, on the day of arrival we were told a previous booking had overrun and our party were to be offered an inferior alternative. Eventually an out of town option was negociated (location not desirable), but we felt snubbed and unwelcome in what is a fine city. It also leads one ask, rightly or wrongly, what money was offered for them to make that decision. Not a very professional or moral way to conduct business.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MOCKO_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This hotel was booked for a group of 40 people in March, the day of arrival we were told that an event at the hotel had overrun and we had no accomodation here.
Only one inferior alternative hotel was offered. This constitutes a breach of contract and is no way to treat a bona fide booking.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Rebert_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Modern hotel in attractive grounds, clean but could be anywhere in the world. Do not confuse with The Palace which adjoins this. Breakfast very French, excellent in quality and choice. Our package was half board but I would chose B&B only and eat out in the centre. Somewhat pretentious in attitude and there are probably better options available elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrianS046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Myself and a few friends stayed at the Es Saadi Hotel last week and were overall pleased with our selection of hotel. The rooms were spacious and clean. The rooms were cleaned on a daily basis and fresh towels and toiletries were provided also. The breakfast was great with a wide selection to choose from and once again the service was good. Dinner in the evening became repetitive but was still enjoyable. Yaya from the restaurant, who is a real asset to the hotel, ensured that we received a great service with a smile. The pool area was clean and there were plenty of sun beds to choose from. You also get free entry to the Club Theatro if you are staying at the Es Saadi which saved a few quid. The downside to the hotel is that the majority of the guests are OAP’s, so you are guaranteed peace and quite if that’s what you are looking for. Overall, the hotel was well worth the money we paid (£66 p/n) and I will definitely be returning next year.

Room Tip: With a pool side view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FarAndBeyond_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night stay here and can honestly say it was one of the most over-rated and over-priced dumps I have ever stayed in!
The hotel stinks of stale smoke and the rooms have a stench of drains.
The air conditioning has no temperature control and blows out hot air when turned on, making for a really unpleasant sleep. We did ask about the temperature and were told it was hot because it was their winter (in March with 30º) and if we didn't like it we should open the doors, which opened onto a loud casino!! The next day we asked if there was a fan in the hotel that we could use but were told they had all been taken already by other guests! We found out later that the air con was broken and had been for months!
The hotel was also very tired and depressing and looked like a Spanish resort from the 70's, with the price of a luxury 5* hotel in Dubai!
The swimming pool is not heated but ok as the weather was lovely and warm in the day so a dip in the pool was nice and refreshing.
There seemed to be a lot of staff around the hotel, but none of them knew what they was meant to be doing and seemed to find the quietest parts of the hotel to avoid any kind of work, especially around the pool where we found it very amusing watching the complete incompetence of their standard of hospitality and professionalism. That is, until we tried getting some lunch, which involved 2 wrong drinks, cold food after 40mins wait, guests leaving before their food arrived after waiting too long, staff crying because they was being shouted at by the bar manager and wrong bills being handed out!
Breakfast is also very poor, with buffet being offered, all of which was cold, bland and cheap, especially the coffee which resembled some kind of luke warm chicory treacle sauce, although washing it down with powdered orange squash (which in a country covered in orange trees seems ridiculous) is not a taste i'd recommend!
Overall I would highly suggest avoiding this hotel with it's useless, arrogant staff and smelly hot rooms - it makes a Premier Inn look like a 7 star resort!! We counted several hotels within 200yrds of this dump that we wished we had stayed at instead!

Room Tip: Avoid, unless you want to relive the 70's hotel experience for an inflated price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank exmouthsharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
148 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We were on a 2 week trip all over Morocco, so my comparative ratings are based on Moroccan experiences. We stayed here 1 night, went to Essaouria, then came back for 2 nights. First night we had a room at the back, at the end of the hall, with extra windows and huge bathroom with a window. Second time we had a room at the front, overlooking entrance - VERY noisy from the street and the entrance. That room had a large rack in the bathroom, handy for laundry and storing things. Each night we had to ask for additional towels to get to the standard 2 bath and 2 hand towels. TV with lots of channels, WiFi best in the lobby. Extensive breakfast buffet, either in the hotel or across the pool in the Palace hotel. Large, beautiful grounds. Very good food in the restaurant (fish tagine was husband's favorite dish in Morocco), but service was a bit haphazard for our group of 14. Great location for walking the neighborhood, park, mosque, restaurants nearby. Very helpful front desk staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the pool side of the hotel, not the front. The front is very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dayhikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Palace
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien N'Fis
Le Meridien N'Fis
#298 of 490 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 1,224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial
0.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
#78 of 490 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel

Address: Rue Ibrahim El Mazini - Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Casino Hotel in Marrakech
#121 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#139 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#160 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#193 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An historical institution which opened its door in 1966. Fully renovated in 2005, this 5 star hotel mixes a unique nostalgic style with the latest hi-tech amenities. Top-level services are overseen by a “golden keys” Chief Concierge. Full access to all resort activities: Bars and Restaurants, Spas, Morrocan Diner-Show, Casino de Marrakech, Night Clubbing.Located in the heart of Marrakech, in the “Hivernage” residential area, and surrounded by 20 acres of beautiful gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Es Saadi Marrakech
Hotel Es Saadi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing