We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel

Save Saved
You added Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue Ibrahim El Mazini - Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco (Formerly Es Saadi Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #291 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Stay!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Myself and a few friends stayed at the Es Saadi Hotel last week and were overall pleased with our selection of hotel. The rooms were spacious and clean. The rooms were cleaned on a daily basis and fresh towels and toiletries were provided also. The breakfast was great with a wide selection to choose from and once again the service was good. Dinner in the evening became repetitive but was still enjoyable. Yaya from the restaurant, who is a real asset to the hotel, ensured that we received a great service with a smile. The pool area was clean and there were plenty of sun beds to choose from. You also get free entry to the Club Theatro if you are staying at the Es Saadi which saved a few quid. The downside to the hotel is that the majority of the guests are OAP’s, so you are guaranteed peace and quite if that’s what you are looking for. Overall, the hotel was well worth the money we paid (£66 p/n) and I will definitely be returning next year.

Room Tip: With a pool side view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    116
    135
    75
    51
    28
See reviews for
49
151
23
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
devon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night stay here and can honestly say it was one of the most over-rated and over-priced dumps I have ever stayed in!
The hotel stinks of stale smoke and the rooms have a stench of drains.
The air conditioning has no temperature control and blows out hot air when turned on, making for a really unpleasant sleep. We did ask about the temperature and were told it was hot because it was their winter (in March with 30º) and if we didn't like it we should open the doors, which opened onto a loud casino!! The next day we asked if there was a fan in the hotel that we could use but were told they had all been taken already by other guests! We found out later that the air con was broken and had been for months!
The hotel was also very tired and depressing and looked like a Spanish resort from the 70's, with the price of a luxury 5* hotel in Dubai!
The swimming pool is not heated but ok as the weather was lovely and warm in the day so a dip in the pool was nice and refreshing.
There seemed to be a lot of staff around the hotel, but none of them knew what they was meant to be doing and seemed to find the quietest parts of the hotel to avoid any kind of work, especially around the pool where we found it very amusing watching the complete incompetence of their standard of hospitality and professionalism. That is, until we tried getting some lunch, which involved 2 wrong drinks, cold food after 40mins wait, guests leaving before their food arrived after waiting too long, staff crying because they was being shouted at by the bar manager and wrong bills being handed out!
Breakfast is also very poor, with buffet being offered, all of which was cold, bland and cheap, especially the coffee which resembled some kind of luke warm chicory treacle sauce, although washing it down with powdered orange squash (which in a country covered in orange trees seems ridiculous) is not a taste i'd recommend!
Overall I would highly suggest avoiding this hotel with it's useless, arrogant staff and smelly hot rooms - it makes a Premier Inn look like a 7 star resort!! We counted several hotels within 200yrds of this dump that we wished we had stayed at instead!

Room Tip: Avoid, unless you want to relive the 70's hotel experience for an inflated price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We were on a 2 week trip all over Morocco, so my comparative ratings are based on Moroccan experiences. We stayed here 1 night, went to Essaouria, then came back for 2 nights. First night we had a room at the back, at the end of the hall, with extra windows and huge bathroom with a window. Second time we had a room at the front, overlooking entrance - VERY noisy from the street and the entrance. That room had a large rack in the bathroom, handy for laundry and storing things. Each night we had to ask for additional towels to get to the standard 2 bath and 2 hand towels. TV with lots of channels, WiFi best in the lobby. Extensive breakfast buffet, either in the hotel or across the pool in the Palace hotel. Large, beautiful grounds. Very good food in the restaurant (fish tagine was husband's favorite dish in Morocco), but service was a bit haphazard for our group of 14. Great location for walking the neighborhood, park, mosque, restaurants nearby. Very helpful front desk staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the pool side of the hotel, not the front. The front is very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Rochelle, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We have just returned from Marrakech after spending 9 days at the Es Saadi Hotel. Our room was exactly as we had requested overlooking the pool and was extremely comfortable and spacious. The surrounding gardens were beautiful. Walking through the gardens you pass Marrakech casino and night-club and arrive at the sister hotel the Es Saadi Palace Hotel with its stunning gardens and enormous swimming pools. Note...you are not allowed to use the pool at the Palace Hotel if you are staying at the sister hotel unless you pay for a day pass or are a resident there.

Initially the service at breakfast and in the evening was sporadic...sometimes excellent but sometimes a little off the mark. However, we did voice our concern with one of the managers and for the following 7 days everything was 100% spot on.

Breakfast is served buffet style and I think that if dinner was also served buffet style it would be much better. However, the evening dinner menu was varied and very good with lots of choice.

The pool in March 6th-15th was really warm and kept at 17 degrees so no initial shiver on entering.

We would definately use this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Martins, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We didn't do the traditional riad in Medina Marrakech experience as just wanted to chill for a week so stayed just outside in the quiet and upmarket Hivernage district near the glorious Mamounia Hotel. The Es Saadi Resort is split in two, the stunning Palace with beautiful pool and landscaped gardens, casino and Dior spa etc (worth it if you can afford it!) and the very satisfactory hotel. We stayed in a suite on the top (fifth) floor overlooking the pool with a view of the palm grove and Atlas mountains. The suite had a little kitchen area and lobby, a large sitting room with desk and TV and balcony and a good sized double bedroom, again with balcony, plenty of wardrobes and a TV plus an ensuite bathroom with separate shower and separate loo. There was a big bowl of fruit waiting for us on arrival and flower petals scattered everywhere - a nice touch. There was some noise at night from people leaving the casino (I think mainly the concierge's yelling for taxis!) and the rooms were unbearably hot at night as no proper air-conditioning, plus our european plugs didn't fit the sockets for some reason. But those little niggles aside our room was great and having a balcony you could lie on in the afternoon to get some privacy away from the pool, was brilliant. The spa was great to - I had the most amazing hammam, body scrub and massage - highly recommended. The gardens around the resort are beautiful, filled with orange trees and huge palms. The breakfast room was a bit dark but food plentiful and was great when weather improved and we could sit outside by the pool. The restaurant for dinner was superb and we had some wonderful meals - top tip filet steak flambed by your table-side. All the staff are really friendly and helpful and as this is a French-owned hotel, if you can speak a smattering of French that will be a big help. Loved Marrakech, especially the parks and gardens (the Majorelle at 10am before the crowds get there is an absolute must and don't miss out of the berber museum there also). We really enjoyed a carriage (caleche) ride through the kasbah at evening when everyone gathering for supper and the sun is just setting. We paid 250dh for this... (about 25 euros) probably too much but that is the downside of Marrakech - you have to haggle for everything and negotiate a price before you do a thing, even for a taxi. We got ripped off in the souks because we had only just arrived, were tired, it was raining, we were splashed with mud and not in the mood for arguing over the cost of things we didn't even really want to buy! So, if you're going souvenir hunting, be prepared and make sure you know exactly how much your pound is worth! Will definitely go back as this is a great winter sun destination with culture, scenery, an almost biblical sense of history and atmosphere and good food and hotels. Top tip - restaurant Table du Marche near the Hivernage Hotel is a hip continental restaurant serving great French food with a Moroccan twist.

Room Tip: Fifth floor suite overlooking pool or gardens are spacious and have a lovely balcony with a sun loun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed in the Hotel, as opposed to the Palace and the Villas. We were part of a small tour group and half the party had problems with no hot water, odours in the bathrooms and other small "maintenance" problems. In the restaurant we had to wait nearly 20 minutes to place an order and then they got some of it wrong. The food, when it arrived, was good. We made representations to the management and things improved. We returned again after 4 days and had exactly the same problem. There does not seem to be anyone in charge of the waiting staff and they stsnd around waiting for someone to tell them what to do. Having said all that the facilities of the Hotel and the rest of the resort are excellent. Great pool, spa, casino and rooms (when maintained!!). I do not know if there has been a recent change of Management or what but Summit Hotels needs to do an inspection of one of its franchisesas the current set up certainly does not justify a 5 star rating

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool have an excellent view and are quieter tahn the road side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandhurst
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I love the Es Saadi. My husband and I stayed here about 5 years' ago for 4 nights but we were both ill (a bug we caught before departure) so didn't venture out of the hotel. This visit we booked Riad Diana in the medina (see separate review) but were very unhappy with the accommodation, so escaped to Es Saadi for six of our seven night break. Our pool view room was gorgeous, the food on offer both at the Hotel and the Palace was exceptional, although the cooked breakfast goods are not kept warm properly. The pool area is peaceful and relaxing, with great lunch choices at the poolside bar. The staff are smashing, helpful and friendly and we had a totally lovely time all round! I would not hesitate to rebook.

Room Tip: The pool rooms can be noisy if there is a function at the Casino.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel

Also Known As:
Es Saadi Marrakech
Hotel Es Saadi
Es Saadi
Address: Rue Ibrahim El Mazini - Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco (Formerly Es Saadi Hotel)
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#110 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An historical institution which opened its door in 1966. Fully renovated in 2005, this 5 star hotel mixes a unique nostalgic style with the latest hi-tech amenities. Top-level services are overseen by a “golden keys” Chief Concierge. Full access to all resort activities: Bars and Restaurants, Spas, Morrocan Diner-Show, Casino de Marrakech, Night Clubbing.Located in the heart of Marrakech, in the “Hivernage” residential area, and surrounded by 20 acres of beautiful gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.