We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great facilities and position but maintenance and service poor” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel to your Saves list
Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue Ibrahim El Mazini - Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #276 of 464 Hotels in Marrakech
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great facilities and position but maintenance and service poor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed in the Hotel, as opposed to the Palace and the Villas. We were part of a small tour group and half the party had problems with no hot water, odours in the bathrooms and other small "maintenance" problems. In the restaurant we had to wait nearly 20 minutes to place an order and then they got some of it wrong. The food, when it arrived, was good. We made representations to the management and things improved. We returned again after 4 days and had exactly the same problem. There does not seem to be anyone in charge of the waiting staff and they stsnd around waiting for someone to tell them what to do. Having said all that the facilities of the Hotel and the rest of the resort are excellent. Great pool, spa, casino and rooms (when maintained!!). I do not know if there has been a recent change of Management or what but Summit Hotels needs to do an inspection of one of its franchisesas the current set up certainly does not justify a 5 star rating

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool have an excellent view and are quieter tahn the road side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    183
    84
    55
    37
See reviews for
77
206
33
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sandhurst
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I love the Es Saadi. My husband and I stayed here about 5 years' ago for 4 nights but we were both ill (a bug we caught before departure) so didn't venture out of the hotel. This visit we booked Riad Diana in the medina (see separate review) but were very unhappy with the accommodation, so escaped to Es Saadi for six of our seven night break. Our pool view room was gorgeous, the food on offer both at the Hotel and the Palace was exceptional, although the cooked breakfast goods are not kept warm properly. The pool area is peaceful and relaxing, with great lunch choices at the poolside bar. The staff are smashing, helpful and friendly and we had a totally lovely time all round! I would not hesitate to rebook.

Room Tip: The pool rooms can be noisy if there is a function at the Casino.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We just stayed in the Es Saadi hotel, and on first impressions it does need a little TLC, however whilst we were there several rooms were in the process of being painted and updated. Some of the carpets are threadbare in the lobby and the use of gas heaters there also detracted from the decor, and the piano bar failed to induce relaxation as the music was far from in the background and it was difficult to hear conversation. Reception staff particularly the female are quite sullen, though all staff speak good English. Rooms are spacious and clean with fresh sheets provided daily, we did not have the problem of a bathroom smell as others seemed to have. We were on the fourth floor with great views of the pool, Atlas Mountains and the city in the distance. The casino was opposite our room and we didn't notice the noise in the early hours as others did. The annoying problem with the room was the fact that it was far too warm and this was controlled by the hotel, there is no independent ability to control the a/c, also the tv channels have only 1 English speaking program. Each floor has its own member of staff in the evening to bring fresh towels, turn back service and help with anything. The pool is clean though small and if the hotel is full sunbeds would be limited and these facilities cannot be used at the Palace, also many prime beds are reserved by the attendant for those guests who pay him and who chose not to use them until early afternoon, so either be early or take the chance of an available bed. Towels are provided.
Staff are very friendly and accommodating nothing appeared to be too much trouble. I celebrated a birthday whilst we were there and I was given a display of roses, a beautiful cake and the whole room was decorated with rose petals. Though we did have fresh flowers daily.
The downside to the hotel is that the breakfast is served in the nearby Es Saadi Palace, the continental choice was lovely with great variety of meats, cheeses, cereal and fruits, however the hot choice was cold every day and offered the same limited choice - chicken sausage in congealed fat, green beans, potatoes, tomatoes, scrambled eggs. Also omelet or fried eggs are freshly made but takes ages.
We were half board and regretted this as the food was very poor in quality, quantity and choice. The menu was limited to 3 choices of each a starter and main, the starters were clearly all prepared though nicely presented and the mains portions were tiny and we are not greedy eaters, we also found each chicken dish dry and unappetising. Dessert was always a choice of pastries, however they were not replenished so if you prefer to dine later the choice is reduced. As in all the hotels the prices for wine and other alcoholic drinks are extortionate, however the same bottles can be purchased for a third of the price at a supermarket locally.
Initially we contemplated staying at the Palace as it is new and more elegant, however during our 7 day stay it was always deserted with no atmosphere. We used the gym which is also in the Palace ant the equipment was very good, towels and water are provided.
Finally the hotel is within walking distance to the medina and the European shopping area, though be careful when crossing at the major crossroads as anything goes.

Room Tip: Request a high pool facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

First impression the staff are great the welcome excellent, rooms are large take your own tea making equipment though as none provided. They are cleaned well and sheets turned down and room tidied at night. So far so good the food in the outside bar by the pool is good but they cannot cope if they are busy and get quite flustered easily the worst thing about this hotel is the breakfast this is chaos, seem to be enough staff but they are not organised and guests can be seen foraging for simple things like napkins and cutlery, don't leave your table un-attended as salt and pepper etc quite simply vanishes I agree with Steffen K's review breakfast is amazing- it is a frustrating and time consuming ordeal, Mention this to the reception staff and they give an african/french shrug and say we know.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I stayed at Es Saadi Gardens 1st February to 6th February 2013 as part of a business conference. The hotel provides a fairly elegant impression on arrival but it soon becomes apparent that the Es Saadi Gardens Hotel is in a little need of TLC/refurb. The room was spacious and comfortable although I would recommend you request a pool view room as the alternative is less than inspiring. The decor of the rooms was looking a little tired, but on the whole the room was clean and comfortable, including table, chairs and balcony. The breakfast for our group was provided in the nearby Es Saadi Palace Hotel which is a far grander prospect. The buliding is a lot more elegant and the quality of breakfast was very good (especially anything from the pastry chef, outstanding); however this was let down by the ability to be fully open at 7am as advertised. For those breakfasting at this time there was the need to contend with the room still being set up. Service in the hotel was generally very slow compred to a standard I am used to internationally, so a little patience is required when trying to catch the attention of a member of staff to order a drink or get a coffee at breakfast. My only real annoyance came on my final evening when I attempted to order room service. The room service menu stipulates that the full room service menu applies until 11pm; I was then a little surprised to be told at 6.30pm that the kitchen was closed and that I could only order a sandwich or cheese. I did then enquire as to why the information in the room was incorrect to which I never really received a credible answer. The saving grace for me was the hour or so I spent talking with Salima in the gift shop attached to the hotel. This is a little hidden, around the corner from the hotel's pool but Salima's shop is full of all the gifts and nic nacs you would expect too find elsewhere in Morrocco but without the hassle of having to be dragged kicking and screaming into the shop. Please pay her a visit if you are staying in the hotel and help support her families long running business. On the whole the hotel was fine, but for me if I was to return to Marrakech I would favour staying in a Riad.

Room Tip: Poolside, high level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Efficient helpful staff, elegant surroundings, top quality food and all the amenities you would want from a 5 star hotel coupled with easy access to the Medina and its souks make this a great place to stay. Tri-lingual staff made a real difference. Breakfast is amazing. We got a special rate on a low season package and were in room facing the main street which was a bit noisy and management would do well to install double glazing. Otherwise pay extra and get a quieter room overlooking the pool. The concierge staff were really helpful with organising sight seeing trips, as well as the airport transfers which cost 150 dirhams each way.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the pool, not one facing east near the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Just returned from a week in the Gardens Hotel. NOT to be confused with the Palace.The reception staff are surley and there is absolutely no toutrist information in the Hotel. There are no tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms, this means tat you have to purchase it at £4 per cup. Two small icecreams and two small beers came to £20. A gin/tonic and a scotch were £16.50.The restaurant was being refurbished and therefore meals were to be taken in The Palace next door which is like a Mausaleum. The cold buffet was good but the hot buffet was cold.
Housekeeping in the Gardens hotel was excellent with clean towels and bedlinen every day, but the fixtures and fitting are chipped and damged in the bathroomsand the hall carpets are stained.. The main square is about 25 minutes walk away but beware the local who sees you leave the Hotel and latches on pretending to be a member of staff willing to act as you guide. All they want to do is stear you to friends shops. The constant pestering in the Market area is to say the least very tedious.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel

Address: Rue Ibrahim El Mazini - Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Marrakech
#114 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#114 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An historical institution which opened its door in 1966. Fully renovated in 2005, this 5 star hotel mixes a unique nostalgic style with the latest hi-tech amenities. Top-level services are overseen by a “golden keys” Chief Concierge. Full access to all resort activities: Bars and Restaurants, Spas, Morrocan Diner-Show, Casino de Marrakech, Night Clubbing.Located in the heart of Marrakech, in the “Hivernage” residential area, and surrounded by 20 acres of beautiful gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Es Saadi Marrakech
Hotel Es Saadi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.