We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Spa Day!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel to your Saves list
Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue Ibrahim El Mazini - Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #275 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Toscana, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Spa Day!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

I only used the Spa for half day and I really reccommend the place....The Hotel is a luxury spot in town and the Spa is very well kept...I enjoyed a beautiful spa package and the Hammam was super (thank you Hanan for your nice hospitality...), then the massage and then the manicure....of course, with a delicious mint tea!

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    184
    84
    55
    37
See reviews for
78
206
33
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

In opposite to the impression given in some reviews on this web site, I really enjoyed staying in the Es Saadi.
It´s a hotel with tradition, not one of this boring standard hotels. I found the ambiance very charming and relaxing.
Every evening very pleasant live piano music sounded through the lobby, so when I came home after a long working day or a tiring side seeing tour through the bussy city I relaxed strait away.
The food (breakfeast and restaurant) was excellent. The staff was ever so nice, polite and obliging.
The rooms were calm, nice and light flooded. The air conditioner is a dream (very silent).
Location: the historic center is within walk distance. If you are tired there are cabs in front oft the hotel.
So: no complains, I really hope that this treasure will exist again for a long time.
It was one of the best discoveries for me this year. It´ll be a pleasure to come back soon!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Situated in spacious grounds it shares with the Palace hotel this hotel has all the trimmings you would expect from a five star establishment, the plentiful staff are welcoming and efficient, and the food excellent, the menu changing every night. It is about 20 minutes walk from the town centre, but the hop on and off bus stops just round the corner,

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netanya, Israel
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Just finishing a 7 night stay at the the Es Saadi Hotel. Rating it as average is probably being kind, but in this case I guess its my fault - I should have spent the extra money on a better place.

I work in the travel industry, and this hotel is the kind of hotel I should know better. The website looks great, and even on arrival the place looks quite impressive. But scratch the surface and you have a very average, tourist class hotel. The kind that package tours thrive on.

The hotel is set in very attractive gardens and there is a nice (but very small) pool area. The lobby is also attractive, but after a few days here you realise its not exactly opulent., just furnished with the kind of things that suggest classic, oriental opulence. But it makes a decent first impression.

The hotel corridors are your first indication you're in a 3 star resort. The carpets are worn and stained and the place looks like it hasn't been renovated...... well, ever.

Next stop - my room. Walls were freshly painted and there are nice-ish looking furnishings. But hang on.... whats that smell? The entire time I was in the room I had to keep the bathroom door tightly shut since I had the ever present smell of sewage emanating from every drain opening. Every day I would come back to my made up room, and of course the bathroom door was open, so the whole room smelt terrible. I had to seal it off, open the balcony and air the place out.

Next, even worse than the smell - the bed. I like a nice firm mattress, but I can sleep pretty much anywhere. Anywhere, that is, until I tried these beds. Soft is not accurate. They're beyond soft. Where ever you put any pressure you would sink completely to the base of the bed. Turning over was difficult since you had to fight against the bed springs for purchase.

The rest of the room was ok. I had a nice balcony, and the room was large and had plenty of room for storage. The key to this hotel is that it photographs well, but photographs only entertain one of your senses, and its the hotel's appeal to the other senses - touch, smell etc. that leave much to be desired.

As far as facilities are concerned - the room service was good, the breakfast adequate, but certainly nothing special (although service at breakfast is trying). The rest I didn't use.

Location is good - its a 20 minute walk to the action of the souk etc.

Overall, I should mark the hotel down for the bed and the smelly room, but maybe I was just unlucky with the smell (since I haven't seen any other complaints) and perhaps other people don't mind soft (very, very soft) beds.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed at this hotel during the first week in October 2012 on a half board basis. I was one of 6 women (60 plus). The hotel was in the Hivernage area of Marrakech. This is a nice area and close to the old part of the city.
The hotel gardens are very nice, especially at night when the hundreds of ornate lamps are lit. It is nice to walk round to the 'Palace' and walk through the Palace interior and have a cup of (free) mint tea in the reception area.
We all found the hotel staff helpful and eager to please. Especially those looking after the bedrooms. All our bedrooms had been recently repainted and was very clean. There were nice toiletries and fluffy yellow towels and dressing gowns. We had fresh roses put in our rooms every couple of days. And there was always an excellent fresh flower arrangement of roses and lilies on the landing. Although pleasant and friendly, the waiters appeared to need a lot of training, especially those working at the pool snack bar (where lunch was served) and those serving breakfast. At the beginning of the week, the were not organised and were 'hap-hazard'. Tables were not laid up for lunch until customers ordered food. They would return to the kitchen empty handed, often appeared flustered when you asked for something, and seemed unable to do or think about two things at the same time. consequently the service was often very slow. E.G. I was asked what I wanted to drink at breakfast and I asked for tea which was bought to me very quickly, but had to ask two waiters for a cup! The second half of the week a new restaurant manager took charge and there was a distinct change. Staff were more organised and proceedings flowed as they should.
The pool was wonderful, I have never been in a pool that was so warm. There was nice wooden sunbeds with thick foam mattresses. The pool attendant would bring towels and insisted on putting them on your sunbed. If you wanted to move he would move your bed for you. Nothing was too much trouble.
One night, the hotel organised a free Morrocan evening, this included our evening meal and an assortment of entertainment - Belly dancer, acrobats, snake charmer, musicians and dancers.
When venturing out side and using either a taxi or horse and carriage, you must arrange the price before you get into the vehicle!
If you take a trip into the mountains and visit a Berber Market, and even if you don't need anything, please, please buy some jewellery/trinkets (that are very cheap) from the locals, as they are so painfully poor!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Four of us (60+ adults) stayed here mid October. The hotel is very well located in the Hivernage, being a beautifully laid out and well-wooded area about 20 mins walk from the Place Jemaa El Fna (where it all happens at night), or 50Dn (£3.70) by taxi. The staff were very friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them. The hotel is very comfortable, clean and spacious.

Being very much a French-speaking city with heavy Parisienne influence, we expected decent food, and we were not disappointed. The cuisine was exceptionally good (even on a half board basis - well worth the nominal extra cost). We were out exploring the city or Atlas mountains most days, therefore only took lunch by the pool once, and it was very good and not expensive (approx 120Dn (£8.50) including a soft drink. Service was also fair, but it depended on the number of guests all wishing to eat at the same time - moral? Pace yourself!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed here three nights as part of a group tour.
Nice hotel grounds but room needed refreshing.
Food was very good at both dinner, breakfast and lunch on the terrace.
Service mostly friendly but very slow and disorganised - 'coming' was the most common response to any reminder.
When having breakfast or snacks on the terrace do not leave your table unattended. The large bird population are waiting to pounce the second they get a chance!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel

Address: Rue Ibrahim El Mazini - Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Marrakech
#113 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#114 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An historical institution which opened its door in 1966. Fully renovated in 2005, this 5 star hotel mixes a unique nostalgic style with the latest hi-tech amenities. Top-level services are overseen by a “golden keys” Chief Concierge. Full access to all resort activities: Bars and Restaurants, Spas, Morrocan Diner-Show, Casino de Marrakech, Night Clubbing.Located in the heart of Marrakech, in the “Hivernage” residential area, and surrounded by 20 acres of beautiful gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Es Saadi Marrakech
Hotel Es Saadi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.