We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel - great rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel

Save Saved
You added Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue Ibrahim El Mazini - Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #284 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
midwest
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel - great rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

We spent two nights at this hotel and were very happy with our stay. The rooms were big and the beds were quite comfortable. The lobby is beautiful and the breakfast was the best we had in Morocco (you can eat outside by the pool). The hotel will exchange travelers' checks for you too. The hotel also has several shops which sells all sorts of essential personal supplies in case you forget anything. There was a very nice spa which we did not have time to use. The heated pool is great so bring your swimsuit.

The concierge and doorman were superb! They arranged for a driver to take us to the nearby Jardin Majorelle which should not be missed. The driver waited for us too which was nice. The Jemaa El Fnaa is within walking distance.

The only downside was the noise from the street at night, but we were so tired that it did not keep us up for too long.

Note: If you hand-wash your clothes at night and wring them out, they will be dry by morning.

Room Tip: The rooms which overlook the pool and gardens are more quiet. The view from my balcony had an under...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WonderfulMorocco, Room Division Manager at Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2012
Dear Tvlfamily,
We are delighted that your stay with us met your expectations and are especially grateful that you have taken the time to share your comments with all interested. On behalf of my business partners and specially to the doormen and concierges1 thank you very much for your business. Warm regards, Laurence Jeanvoine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    153
    77
    52
    34
See reviews for
69
181
28
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
CROWBOROUGH
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Dissapointing stay from start to finish. Reserved a Junior suite, whilst a good size furnishings tired as was the rest of the hotel. Don't expect a good nights sleep, woken up in the early hours each morning by the raucous noise from people leaving the casino and nightclub. Not helped by the extremely hot room necessitating having the windows open due to the lack of Air conditioning, when this was mentioned to reception the response was to turn it off!
Breakfast was at times farcical having to lay your own table, search for cutlery and the buffet was second rate, one of the worse experienced. Pool was ok but service from the adjoining eatery was mediocre and very overpriced. All in all a very disappointing stay and not one to be repeated.

Room Tip: Choose the Sofitel next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WonderfulMorocco, Room Division Manager at Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2012
Dear WINSCOMBECrowborough
We thank you for taking the time to share your comments with other travellers on Trip Advisor and we are sorry that we have not been able to satisfy you as we should have.
Our Hotel and especially the 4th and 5th floors where the Junior Suites are located was completely refurbished a couple of years ago. We do understand that our style is not to everybody’s taste but are proud to have repeat guests for the past 50 years who love the Es Saadi, unconditionally.
We do agree that gamblers and nightclubbers getting out can be noisy especially at the end of the week. We do apologize for the disturbance
The Es Saadi Hotel has a central Air Conditioning System (hot and cold) and it is very difficult during spring to decide when to switch from one to the other. You were lucky somehow to have a wonderful weather during your stay, we are back now to lower temperatures and hot air is demanded by our present guests.
I have investigated with my Front Office Manager and we do apologize if a member of the team has been rude to you. We have reinforced training and English classes have been organized for all staff to improve and be able to assist you better.
As far as breakfast and service at the Pool Snack are concerned, Kevin our restaurant manager and our chef are working on improving all standards and all guests seem to be very happy with the service.
As far as the rates at the “Around the Pool” Snack-bar they are very reasonable: A Chef’s salad or Ceasar salad at £4.00, a chicken kebab with side order at £9.50 and the Dessert of the day at £4.00. 5as per today’s exchange rate)
I hope you will give us another chance when you come visit our beautiful Morocco.
Thank you again for your comments that help us improve and offer better service to our guests.
Warm regards from all of us at Es Saadi
Laurence Jeanvoine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reading u.k.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

we really liked this hotel> the pool was heated to a pleasant level,food was excellent,staff absolutely delightful.Rooms clean and comfortable,bathroom all one could ask.Balconies small,but we didn't need to use it anyway.Weather fantastic. would wish to return

Room Tip: best you can afford,but if you don't want it too hot,choose city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

We stayed in the Es Saadi it was only 15 minutes from the Square, the rooms and staff were very good, we were in a party of 14 and always we were served and seated together by very attentive staff, drink and food orders were split if required all the waiters have excellent recall regarding our needs. Great hotel for groups.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WonderfulMorocco, Room Division Manager at Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Dear Ringmaster,
your kind review is very much appreciated by all of us. While we encourage all kinds of reviews to be posted we certainly love to read about positive and satisfying experiences with the hotel and the services offered. Again, thank you very much for your kind words
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakesh
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

We stayed for 4 nights and found that there was nothing for children under 14 to do. They cannot play with balls on the property including the pool. The tennis court is the only facility and it is very hard to book as lessons for the general are held on it in the mornings. Service is very poor- very French in fact! The rooms are clean but somewhat dated and not very fresh smelling. The hotel is a 15-20 minute walk to the City and you have to cross at least four 4 lane roads with no lights or crossing! The only plus points are the reception is quite smart, the beds comfy and breakfast is decent. I would not recommend - go for the Sofitel next door which looks superb!!

Room Tip: Stay in in the Sofitel or Es Saadi Palace (not the hotel)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WonderfulMorocco, Room Division Manager at Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2012
Dear Mark
We do apologize for not replying earlier to your comments. We thank you for having taken the time to share your experience with other travelers and with us.
Indeed we do not allow children to play balls around the pool to protect other guests’ tranquility and safety. However the children are welcome to play in the 8 acres of garden that we have.
Tennis courts are very popular and need to be reserved in advance, specially in the morning when the weather is cooler.
All hotels in the Hivernage area are equally distant from both the Medina and the Gueliz City Center. (10 to 15 mn)
Thank you for your compliments regarding the reception, the beds and the breakfast. We can only get better with your feedback and comments.
I hope that you will give us another chance to show you our good care and attention
Warm regards
Laurence Jeanvoine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

My daughter and I stayed at the Es Saadi Hotel for just one night. The hotel itself was clean and well presented.
Our room was a standard room with a city view, we had a small balcony with table, bench and chairs. I personally felt that the city view was more interesting than overlooking the gardens.
The room was tastefully decorated with two large beds joined together. On our arrival in our room the staff bought in a vase of roses.
While my daughter lounged by the pool I walked through the gardens which are well maintained.
We had lunch by the pool and the staff were friendly and polite. Although they did forget to give us napkins.
On arrival reception had given us a plan of the site and told us we were welcome to visit the Gardens and the Palace.
After lunch my daughter and I visited the pool behind the Palace and whilst I was ordering tea at the pool bar my daughter was told she could not use the pool at the Palace. There was no-one in the pool and only four people on loungers around the pool. I could however purchase tea, which was 10 dirhams more expensive at the Palace than at the hotel. I must admit at this point this grumpy old lady felt the urge to jump in the pool fully clothed just to see what the miserable pool attendant would do alas I did not.
The hotel brochure referred to bath robes but we did not have any in our room.
But my main gripe with the hotel was that I had order breakfast in our room at 5.00am as we were being collected from the hotel at 5.30am for the drive to the airport.
After chasing up room service our very small breakfast appeared at 5.15am, which just gave us time for a quick cup of tea before having to leave.
What I saw of the hotel was good and the sun loungers at the hotel were in better condition than those at the Palace which had definitely seen better days.
The majority of the staff were friendly but the problem with breakfast annoyed me. Overall I would probably stay at the Hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

First impressions of the hotel on arrival are that it is a little dated, though very well presented. The welcome from the staff was warm and genuine. We booked a room with a rollaway bed, (3 guests) but were given just a double. A bed was provided speedily, but it was not possible to move around the room, and to be fair to the hotel they offered to change the room before we ventured to suggest it. It was referred to several times as an 'upgrade' however, and not simply what we had paid for. The air conditioning did not function well, making for some very uncomfortable nights. We booked half board, and ate each night at the Gourmet restaurant next to the pool and were never disappointed. Exquisite food and excellent service. Breakfast was an odd affair, with the usual buffet selection supplemented by cooked, but cold items - cold fried potato anyone? The tables were invadede at any opportunity by sparrows and pigeons, who helped themselves to sugar etc between sittings. They would have been more useful eating the ants making their daily pilgrimage across the pastries. We were encouraged by everyone we met at the hotel to go and look at the fantastic pool in the same grounds - a huge affair the size of a small pricipality. Sadly, when we went to join the (literally) half a dozen other people there to swim, we were told in no uncertain terms that it was for the use of The Palace guests only. Walks around the grounds near to the private villas also elicited concerned questions form hotel security. A shame, as the website boasts use of 20 acres of grounds and two outdoor pools. The Casino was mostly closed for renovations, and the nightclub was never to be found. Not a problem for us as a family, but not mentioned on the website. Our only disppointment with the otherwise excellent staff was with the pushy concierege who phoned the room several times to push the sale of excursions, and several times again later in the week asking for payment. The Palace looked amazing.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel

Address: Rue Ibrahim El Mazini - Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Marrakech
#114 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#114 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An historical institution which opened its door in 1966. Fully renovated in 2005, this 5 star hotel mixes a unique nostalgic style with the latest hi-tech amenities. Top-level services are overseen by a “golden keys” Chief Concierge. Full access to all resort activities: Bars and Restaurants, Spas, Morrocan Diner-Show, Casino de Marrakech, Night Clubbing.Located in the heart of Marrakech, in the “Hivernage” residential area, and surrounded by 20 acres of beautiful gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, Venere, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Otel, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Es Saadi Marrakech
Hotel Es Saadi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.