We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The poor relation of the Palace es Saadi but very good in parts.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel to your Saves list
Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue Ibrahim El Mazini - Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #269 of 472 Hotels in Marrakech
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The poor relation of the Palace es Saadi but very good in parts.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

First impressions of the hotel on arrival are that it is a little dated, though very well presented. The welcome from the staff was warm and genuine. We booked a room with a rollaway bed, (3 guests) but were given just a double. A bed was provided speedily, but it was not possible to move around the room, and to be fair to the hotel they offered to change the room before we ventured to suggest it. It was referred to several times as an 'upgrade' however, and not simply what we had paid for. The air conditioning did not function well, making for some very uncomfortable nights. We booked half board, and ate each night at the Gourmet restaurant next to the pool and were never disappointed. Exquisite food and excellent service. Breakfast was an odd affair, with the usual buffet selection supplemented by cooked, but cold items - cold fried potato anyone? The tables were invadede at any opportunity by sparrows and pigeons, who helped themselves to sugar etc between sittings. They would have been more useful eating the ants making their daily pilgrimage across the pastries. We were encouraged by everyone we met at the hotel to go and look at the fantastic pool in the same grounds - a huge affair the size of a small pricipality. Sadly, when we went to join the (literally) half a dozen other people there to swim, we were told in no uncertain terms that it was for the use of The Palace guests only. Walks around the grounds near to the private villas also elicited concerned questions form hotel security. A shame, as the website boasts use of 20 acres of grounds and two outdoor pools. The Casino was mostly closed for renovations, and the nightclub was never to be found. Not a problem for us as a family, but not mentioned on the website. Our only disppointment with the otherwise excellent staff was with the pushy concierege who phoned the room several times to push the sale of excursions, and several times again later in the week asking for payment. The Palace looked amazing.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    221
    102
    59
    39
See reviews for
96
244
37
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, D.C.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

Well-located in the new city, the hotel is a bit frayed around the edges. Air conditioning in the room couldn't be adjusted; beds were very soft (and low!). Service in the bar was slow, even though the place was empty. Grounds are very pretty; pool is nice. Overall service was fair--no one seems too enthusiastic about assisting the guests.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

Horrible horrble trip. First be advised that the star system in Marrakech is not consistent with the rest of the world. I was expecting to stay at a 5* property. I have stayed in a best western that was nicer than this falling apart junky property. The shower handle came apart in my hand on my shower after checking in. I reported the problem to staff, and they moved my room. The new room was not as bad as the last, but had its problems. I tried to meet with the Owner at this point, as I had conferred with tripadvisor after checking into the hotel - instead of before booking - big mistake!!!! After reading other reviews which stated the owner was around and available, I tried meeting with the owner to discuss my problems, as well as the fact that the 5* star property I booked was a run down 3*. The staff suggested the owner was unavailable the night I checked in. I tried to meet with her the next two days, even making an appointment on the day prior to departure. Prior to meeting with the owner I asked housekeeping to let me into the first room I occupied. Sure enough the staff had replace the broken shower without fixing it!!!!!!! I brought the broken piece to the meeting. The owner did not show, but the manager tried to put me in a suite, a bigger lousy room to appease me. I wanted to discuss with the owner why they purposely marketing there property as a 5* when they know it is not. The manager actually said, "Stars stay at this hotel!!!" I think he was talking about Bogie and Bacall when the property was built. The food buffet is gross! Even the omelette station food was nasty. The boxed cereal and day old leftover bread from the palace where the best bets. For a family that is looking for a bargain this could be an alright property.

Room Tip: Book at the palace instead of the es saadi hotel - so confusing!!!!! Better yet stay in the medina!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newent
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

Stayed at this hotel as part of a Saga half board package. Couldn't fault it for cleanliness, all the staff were very helpful and friendly. The evening meal was superb with a different choice of courses every evening and the presentation and service was excellent. It was an easy walk from the hotel into the hustle and bustle of the medina and the souk.

Room Tip: Best rooms have a pool view and look across to the Atlas Mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

We spend two very enjoyable weeks at the Es Saadi. The staff are professional and quite charming. There was a good breakfast outside round the pool and garden. We thought the dining room food and staff was wonderful.

We came to relax and sit in the sun as well as sightsee, so the hotel and location were great for us - close enough to walk into the fascinating but mad old town but located in the beginning of the pretty and much more quiet new town. The room was a little tired with a bit of a chain hotel feel but it was spacious and comfortable. We were perfectly happy with it.

We wanted a good sized pool with loungers so we didn't want to stay in a riad and the hotels a level up cost the earth. The good hotels in Marrakech all seem overpriced but we came with a half board package deal that seemed reasonable to us. We would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

The Es Saadi HOTEL must not be confused with the Es Saadi Palace. The latter is a good hotel, but the former is THE WORST hotel I have ever stayed in.

Wildly overpriced, shabby, dated bedrooms and communal areas, and dreadful food. It was such an enormous let down. What was meant to be a relaxing luxury getaway turned into a nightmare - we felt incredibly ripped off. If you are used to enjoying high end hotels and are looking with true 5 star luxury and pampering do not stay at the Es Saadi Hotel, it is beyond VILE. A complete rip-off.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

Cannot believe some of the poor reviews this hotel has received. We travel extensively and this should be much further up the popularity index. The staff were very friendly and obliging. Food was fresh and gourmet quality and the restaurant was fine dining. No manic all inclusive buffet here. The grounds and facilities were very pleasant and the pool attendants were always hard at work keeping eveywhere spik and span. A week in Marrakesh is possibly too much, 4 or 5 days would be ample. A nice break at this relaxing hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel

Address: Rue Ibrahim El Mazini - Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Casino Hotel in Marrakech
#117 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#125 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#198 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An historical institution which opened its door in 1966. Fully renovated in 2005, this 5 star hotel mixes a unique nostalgic style with the latest hi-tech amenities. Top-level services are overseen by a “golden keys” Chief Concierge. Full access to all resort activities: Bars and Restaurants, Spas, Morrocan Diner-Show, Casino de Marrakech, Night Clubbing.Located in the heart of Marrakech, in the “Hivernage” residential area, and surrounded by 20 acres of beautiful gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Despegar.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Es Saadi Marrakech
Hotel Es Saadi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.