We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene and Beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Villa des Orangers

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added La Villa des Orangers to your Saves list
La Villa des Orangers
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 rue Sidi Mimoun, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
Birmingham
Level Contributor
84 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 394 helpful votes
“Serene and Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2007

We stayed at Villa Des Orangers for 7 nights. All that you have read about it being beautiful and haven in the bustling city of Marrakech is true. In fact, it is so peaceful and beautiful, we found ourselves reluctant to leave the hotel to explore the city.

Upon arrival at Marrakech Menara Airport (it is torturous getting through customs/passport control) we were greeted by a very friendly driver in nice 4 x 4 who took us to V des O.

Upon arrival at about 10am, we were told our room would be ready shortly and invited to have some breakfast whilst we waited.

When we were shown to our room about 30 minutes later, it was beautiful. (Room 5). I was aware we were going to have a roof terrace but it was spectacular and so convenient having direct access to the roof top pool.

The service and the hotel were all excellent and many writers have commented in greater detail on these pages so I do not need to repeat it all. It is worth commenting on some aspects though.

1.The food is very good. The inclusive lunch is excellent. Although some options stay the same each day, there are at least 2 options which change daily. I am a vegetarian and they cooked whatever I wanted even though it may not have been on the menu.
2.The roof top pool is fabulous. The serving staff may occasionally forget you are up there but you can always telephone them if you need anything. Once they know you are there they come up regularly to check on you.
3.A room with a roof terrace is a definite plus. In fact it is essential.
4.Breakfast is great. It is a la carte and the choice is a little restricted but again, the options available are all perfect and the fact you can eat at a time and place to suit you is brilliant.
5.The concierge is wonderful – they sent us to some great restaurants and made arrangements with cab driver outside the hotel for us.
6.Free laundry is a massive bonus.

I do have a couple of minor moans - the showers in the bathroom and the roof terrace did not drain properly and left standing water which flooded all over the floor. They did rectify this when it happened but as it happened every time it was used it became a bit annoying.

Also, the main pool has been discoloured by a chemical treatment. It is due to be repaired in December. The pool is perfectly clean; it just does not look very appealing. However, it is delightful once you get in to it.

Finally, we had 2 power cuts; the first in the night for about 3 hours which was not too much of a problem (although the room without air con became incredibly hot) but the second one was in the day for about 6 hours. This was not the hotel’s fault as the whole street was cut off, but they did not handle it very well. No one came around to explain what was going on, the room became very hot and as the bathroom did not have a window it was so dark we could not use it. They did give us some candles but only after we asked for them twice. I think they should have offered guests say a free evening meal or perhaps had a small drinks party around the pool in the evening but they did not make any effort to make things better. I understand it was not their fault but they could have at least tried.

That said, I do not want to end this review negatively. V des O is an amazing hotel. I would go back without hesitation. You’ll see what I mean if you stay there.

  • Liked — The courtyards and roof top pool
  • Disliked — main pool being discoloured
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    39
    4
    4
    4
See reviews for
58
257
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2007

Not for the Riad which is lovely, but for Marrakech - once you have experienced the souks and Jemaa al Fna there is not a great deal to do other than lie by the pool. Marrakech is not a very nice city to stroll around for pleasure - too noisy and polluted plus the constant harassment from shopkeepers and other touts. A visit to the Atlas mountains is highly recommended and the staff will happily arrange a taxi and guide but do insist on a guide with good english.
The food in the Riad was first class, breakfast, lunch and dinner!
Would recommend Le Foundouk for an evening out but do get the hotel to arrange return taxis as it is not easy to find.
Staff at the hotel could not be faulted for friendliness and professionalism.
Our room, 19 I think, was a Grand Suite which was on 2 floors with a balcony. It was very large but quite dimly lit and, apart from the bed, not particularly comfortable. The cost of the suite over a normal room would be very hard to justify although if you had a roof terrace it may make a difference.
For a short break in a standard room this would be highly recommended but a week in a suite would be very expensive and difficult to justify the cost.

  • Liked — Staff and location
  • Disliked — Cost of Suite over standard room
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2007

We spent three nights here in May 2007. They only had the Grand Suite available which, although a little steeply priced was well worth it. We had a huge private terrace from which you could see over to the Atlas Mountains. The Riad was in perfect condition and the detail was incredible - it was like staying at a mini version of La Alhambra. The staff were excellent and assisted us with all our requirements for reservations and guides, etc. There is a genuine reason that there are no negative reviews of this riad. Go and enjoy!!! (As an aside, we went to Le Tobsil for dinner - supposed to be the best Morroccan restaurant in Marrakech = not according to the hotel but to general guides. It is a set menu served in a nice admosphere but I thought it was overpriced and full of tourists - you would have a more authentic experience elsewhere).

  • Liked — The detail !
  • Disliked — They had a poor selection of mixers for drinks (i.e no bitter lemon or similar)
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2007

We have just returned from a 4 day break, we were so thrilled with this Riad. We had a room with a private terrace that had a gate to the roof top pool. The room was beautiful, lots of little touches (morrocan slippers, candles, hand made soaps) and was spotlessly clean. Marrakech is so noisy and bustling it was a real pleasure to return to the tranquility of our Riad. The hotel arranged a day in the Atlas Mountins which is a must they are so beautiful. We paid for a taxi and then for a guide to take us on about a 4 hour walk in the mountains. They arranged for a donkey to meet us with a picnic lunch, which made us feel like royality. You can really appreciate how lucky you are when you see how the Berber people live, but they all seem so happy and very welcoming (the total cost of the trip was approx £120.00 but well worth it!). We ate at the Riad twice I had the same meal each time because it was so delicious. We also eat at Dar Moha and Bo Zin. Dar Moha is very traditional food which if you don't like Morrocan food this is not the place for you. Bo Zin had a good atmosphere, the service could have been better, my Husband had chicken kebabs which when arrived were raw inside, they did change them but without an appology which was a bit annoying.

We were very keen to leave a good tip for the staff on departure. They were all so curtiously and helpful. In the past we have added money to the bill to be split between the staff, in this case that do not have the facility to do this. We were told as we were leaving that there is an envelope in Reception but by this stage we had little currency left.

We went for a hamman at La Sultana which is a member of the SLH chain, this also looks good but I would still choose Villa Des Orangers every time. Can't wait to return!!!!!

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2007

We stayed for 2 nights prior to moving up to Kasbah Tamadot and were bowled over by this riad.

We had a suite in the courtyard which was delightful in every respect, from the total authenticity of the property, to the musicians playing outside our bedroom window in the late afternoon, and tiny details like oil burners in the bedrooms - no detail was left unturned yet it was totally unpretentious and the staff and service were exceptional.

I would recommend that you do not choose a big impersonal hotel if your planning to visit Marrakech, instead choose a riad, and if you choose Villa de Orangers, you will not be dissappointed.

Bromley, Kent

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2007

We returned this week from a 4 night stay at La Villa des Orangers. We stayed in room 3, a split level suite which was really beautiful and positioned on the main courtyard. The hotel is architecturally stunning and the decor was traditional with a contemporary twist. We couldnt fault a thing! Breakfast was fab, served on time, anywhere of your choice throughout the hotel. Whilst the lunch menu didnt change during our stay the wating staff were more than happy to rustle up the lunch of our choice on request.

All members of staff were totally professional and charming consistently.

When the sun begins to set on the main, larger pool downstairs, the sun is still shining on the roof top pool.

The position of the hotel is a huge bonus, only a 5 min walk to Djemaa El Fna which is a sight to see after sun down.

Its not a cheap hotel but its certainly worth every penny if you can afford it.

  • Liked — the high quality
  • Disliked — i couldnt fault anything.....
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brits in france
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2007

We stayed at the end of April for 3 nights in the Villa des Orangers, encouraged by the reviews on this website.

We had a fantastic stay. The hotel is very romantic, peaceful and beautifully done. The staff are superb - very helpful and friendly, yet very discreet.

The hotel is about a 5 minute walk from the main square with all the performers and the entrance to the souks. It's not on a pretty or a quiet street, but once you are inside the hotel it is a haven of tranquility.

We found the negative comments about the lunches in previous reviews unjust. The lunch is included in the price of your stay and was just right, we felt - very nicely done and a good size, for a lunch. You can have pudding and coffee or mint tea and pastries if you still have a hole to fill.

We booked a bedroom with a terrace which I highly recommend. The bedroom had a flight of stairs up to it's own private roof terrace on which there was a table and chairs where we breakfasted every morning, and a couple of sunloungers for relaxation. We had a private shower on this level too, so you could shower off before or after you took the plunge into the small rooftop pool which we accessed through a little gate off our terrace.
Heaven.

  • Liked — roof terrace
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#30 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 752 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#7 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,306 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mosaic Palais Aziza & Spa
Mosaic Palais Aziza & Spa
#79 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
#11 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 706 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Kniza
Riad Kniza
#16 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,100 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villa des Orangers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa des Orangers

Address: 6 rue Sidi Mimoun, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#13 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#23 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#39 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Villa des Orangers 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the foot of the Koutoubia mosque, with its matchless landmark minaret and only 5 minutes walk from the Jemaa el Fna square, the Villa des Orangers offers an exceptional location to explore the medina. The Villa des Orangers is an intimate haven of peace located near the bustling souks of Marrakech with 27 rooms and suites arranged on two levels around three verdant open-sky patios with water fountains surrounded by galleries of chiseled plaster and a garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your La Villa des Orangers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Villa Des Orangers Hotel Marrakech
La Hotel Marrakech
La Hotel Des Orangers

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Villa des Orangers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.