We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Villa des Orangers

Save Saved
You added La Villa des Orangers to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Villa des Orangers
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 rue Sidi Mimoun, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Superb”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

Excellent boutique hotel were we enjoyed a superb 4 night stay. Gorgeous surroundings, fab staff and very good location.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    249
    28
    4
    4
    4
See reviews for
32
192
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

After a day in the bustling metropolis of Marrakech, it was a total privilege to retreat to La Villa des Orangers. Beautifully appointed, warm staff, elegant pool and poolside lunch, you would never know you were anywhere near the medina. I would recommend a back-facing suite as one of ours (our girls shared their own) faced the front entrance where you could hear street and other ambient sounds. We especially loved being served breakfast on our private terrace.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watford
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2010

Fantastic hotel, nothing too much bother, basic room large with seating area, large bathroom with bath and shower. excellent breakfast, Should have taken advantage of the free lunch and soft drinks more. Dinner lovely but quite expensive. very prompt response to any problems. happy to book any restaurants we wanted. Wish we had spent more time enjoying the facilities of the hotel in addition to the city.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver island
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2010

Unlike the Riad in Fes, we found the Riad in Marrakech ---- La Villa des Orangers à Marrakech to be magnificent. It has a wonderful location, incredible period décor, comfortable beds, and many wonderful rooms around the hotel in which to lounge on a lazy afternoon. The breakfasts were delightful and could be taken on your terrace or outside in the breakfast areas.

Our friends got in a pinch on some travel plans, and the hotel worked with them all afternoon to get them on a flight to Barcelona. The staff could not have been better.

If you’re going to be there during nice weather, spend the extra money to get a Terrace room so you can sit out and sip your wine or beer, have breakfast or just enjoy the outdoors.

In addition, while the hotel is a bit pricey, the rate includes breakfast and laundry – I don’t remember if it included taxes.

What was interesting to us is that a new Four Seasons will open soon in Marrakech --- our normal choice of hotels—and we would choose to stay at the Orangers – both for its great location and for the atmosphere and enjoyment we had at this lovely boutique hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2010

The Villa des Orangers has a great location. It's in the Medina, so you get the feel of Marrakech, but not too close to the noise that you can't sleep at night.

When we were dropped there by the taxi I was wondering what to expect - it is entered by a small door, sandwiched between a tyre shop and a toilet shop, however the corridor opens out onto a beautiful series of courtyards.

The hotel is made up of several smaller riads which have been knocked together. There are numerous courtyards, terraces and lounges. I'm sure we didnt find them all. In the main courtyard is a lovely long pool (great for laps) and tables for breakfast and lunch. There is a smaller plunge pool in another courtyard and another pool on the roof terrace. The sun seemed to go by 5pm, so we would move upstairs to get the last rays. At night all the courtyards are lit up by candles and rose petals are strewn in the fountains. It has a truly magical atmosphere.

Rooms are great and bathrooms enormous. The style is very Moroccan, so you definitely feel you are in Marrakech. My room (23) was very quiet. It was slightly dark, but this helped keep it cool. There was a fireplace which would have been lovely - but it was far too hot for a fire!

The hotel manages to get the tranquility so right, that we found it hard to motivate ourselves to get out and explore.

The staff are wonderful and very attentive. We had tables and trips booked for us. Tobsil is to be recommended. You are met by a guide and taken down a series of alleyways to the restaurant which you would never know was there.

Marrakech isnt cheap. Admittedly this hotel is high end, but dinner cost about £65 a night, a trip to the Atlas Mountains was about £130.

I would definitely recommend this hotel over some of the hotels outside the medina. It manages to capture the atmosphere just right, whilst at the same time providing respite from the hustle and bustle (and fumes) of the medina. We visited the Mamounia (for drinks) and it was so over the top that you could have been anywhere.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

Location is great. Front desk staff were faultless. Servers excellent. In my opinion, the only thing that let it down was the cleanliness of our room.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
300 helpful votes 300 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

this is a wonderful choice for a centrally placed Riad style hotel. It is absolutely gorgeous, with lovely inner courtyards with fountains and flowers, and well furnished sitting rooms. Rooms are full of character with big bathrooms. We picked this for the large pool, bigger than many of the smaller riads. In fact it has 2, one on the roof terrace and a bigger main one with sun loungers around, though the latter looks dingy and badly needs a good clean.

Prices are high here, but this is offset somewhat by the included lunch, which is a good standard full 3 courses, and all tea/coffee/soft drinks are also free all the time, so you barely need to go out if you want to just chill out here. Remarkably quiet considering the busy streets are just outside. Service was excellent throughout. Breakfast was good and can be taken in room or anywhere else you choose.

The dinner restaurant is very good but extremely expensive, by far the highest prices we saw anywhere, and the menu doesnt change nightly which was disappointing when we went a second time. Great Grand Marnier souffle!

If you want to be centrally placed this can be highly recommended, it doesnt disappoint ( except the grey looking pool).

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
Free internet...
Show More
0.5 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#51 of 461 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 416 reviews
Romantic, Free...
Show More
3.3 mi away
Mosaic Palais Aziza & Spa
Mosaic Palais Aziza & Spa
#43 of 461 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 181 reviews
Romantic, Free...
Show More
0.6 mi away
Villa Makassar
Villa Makassar
#29 of 461 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Luxury, Romanti...
Show More
0.3 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#28 of 461 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 607 reviews
Pool, City Cent...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Tigmiza - Suites & Pavillons
Tigmiza - Suites & Pavillons
#32 of 461 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 90 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Ksar Char-Bagh
Ksar Char-Bagh
#139 of 461 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villa des Orangers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa des Orangers

Address: 6 rue Sidi Mimoun, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#16 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#35 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#48 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Villa des Orangers 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the foot of the Koutoubia mosque, with its matchless landmark minaret and only 5 minutes walk from the Jemaa el Fna square, the Villa des Orangers offers an exceptional location to explore the medina. The Villa des Orangers is an intimate haven of peace located near the bustling souks of Marrakech with 27 rooms and suites arranged on two levels around three verdant open-sky patios with water fountains surrounded by galleries of chiseled plaster and a garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Splendia, Priceline, Expedia, HotelsClick, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Escapio, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your La Villa des Orangers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Villa Des Orangers Hotel Marrakech
La Hotel Marrakech
La Hotel Des Orangers

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Villa des Orangers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.