We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Good Riad, With Very Helpful Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Villa des Orangers

Save Saved
You added La Villa des Orangers to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Villa des Orangers
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 rue Sidi Mimoun, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
MN
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Really Good Riad, With Very Helpful Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2009

Our suite was beautiful, like the rest of the hotel. We had our own roof deck and enjoyed it and the roof top pool. The meals were wonderful. The staff was incredibly helpful - answering questions and researching answers to those questions they didn't know the answer too. They were delighted to receive our report on a trendy boutique that they were unfamiliar with.

The location is close to the main square, but on a very busy (dusty, gritty, full of diesel exhaust) street. Most of the businesses on the street repair motorcycles. Not particular picturesque. None of this is apparent once in the hotel. A business across the street burns wood all day, so your stay on the roof deck/pool may be marred by a strong odor of wood smoke.

That said, I'd probably stay there again. The beauty of the building and gardens and the helpfulness of the staff were great. This riad really does remove you from the outside world.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    243
    28
    4
    4
    4
See reviews for
31
191
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

We went for a short break for our anniversary to Marrakech.We wanted to book a nice hotel and we just found that in the Villa des Organgers. Oddly enough, the hotel's website is ok, but it doesn't give the hotel not enough credit. Te old part of the hotel is so charming, the pool area just heaven for relaxation. The rooms are air conditioned, very well eqipped and bathrooms are almost as big as the rooms itself. You don't need to book a room witha balvony or terrace. The hotel has so many hidden places where you can rest and enjoy your stay. Absolut plus: free softdrinks in the room at the salon and the pool, free laundry and a free lunch which was superb. The spa menu was good. I choose the tradional hamman and was so surprised how nice and refreshing this was.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2009

very beautifull, excellent service and nice additions like free lunch. did have a grand suite which has great terrace and was completely worth the extra. felt very spoilt and relaxed. would definitely go back for some winter sun

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2009

La Villa des Orangers must be the best hotel in Marrakech. My husband and I have just spent 6 nights there this September and have just returned home feeling totally pampered and spoilt. The level of service there is incredibly high and it is all offered with such charm, warmth and generousity.

In fact "generous" is a good word to describe the hotel. The room rate includes a wonderful breakfast served on your own private terrace over looking Marrakech, then you may order just as many coffees, moroccan mint teas, fresh orange juices, soft drinks and waters as you could possibly want. A delicious three course lunch is also included and then throughout the day you many continue ordering soft drinks and teas or coffees brought to your room, terrace or beside the pools where ever you may be. The staff are just so charming as they pad about in their soft moroccan slippers, that's not to disturb you from the tinkling water of the fountains. The mayhem that is Marrakech is just there outside the walls of this beautiful old Riad but you would never know it!

We were looked after in such a wonderful, concerned way. The hotel has a fabulous chef and we ate his dinner one night and it was delicious and just so preety on the plates. But Marrakech has so many restaurants to choose from and the hotel desk staff make sure you have the right reservation in the right place with the petit taxi there to take you and bring you back if necessary. One night my husband was feeling unwell so the hotel cancelled our reservation, set up a table on our terrace and brought him plain pasta and bread to make him feel better. They were just so kind and they didn't charge us either.

It's a very special place, wonderful staff, very good food, beautiful and comfortable rooms, music and fountains tinkling in the early evening, we just loved it!
NB.
Watch out for the false friends on the streets saying "Hi, you know me, I work at your hotel" - they don't!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

My wife and I stayed for three nights in August. The service was genuine, friendly and ensured we thoroughly enjoyed Marrakech through the thoughtful touches and advice. Room was lovely - again a great combination of luxury and authenticity. Dinner by the pool is a memory that will stay with us a long time, as are the constant and varied scents and fragrances that each room or courtyard offered. We will definitely return, next time with the children, and would wholeheartedly recommend Villa des Orangers on every level. Thanks for a wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2009

10 of us stayed here in July. My husband and I were legally married here in CA and wanted a small 'ceremony' with our 18-26 year old children as we traveled in Europe. We chose Marrakech and I chose Villa des Orangers as our hotel only by what I read and saw on the internet. We decided to just find a location and a restaurant for an impromtu wedding when we arrived. The hotel could not have been more suited for our needs based on how beautiful it was and how accommodating the staff was. When we told them what we wanted to do, the response was, 'Madam, it would be our privelege and our pleasure to help you.'
The service overall was exceptional. Breakfast and a light lunch included as described on their website was full service with a menu of many wonderful choices. The staff anticipated our every need and were all very gracious. Our 'wedding' included an area in the garden set aside for champagne and appetizers and then a beautiful poolside setting for dinner and a special raspberry tart made by the kitchen.
The setting, the service, (especially Mohammed and Mustapha!), the proximity to the action of Marrakech all make it a must visit! I agree about the bathrobes but also...the SOAP! I bought some to take home because it smells so good!
We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2009

Our 3 night stay in late March at the Villa des Orangers was first class. We were collected from the airport and arrived some 20 minutes later at the Villa, the entrance to which is just wonderful; tucked in between a couple of bike shops! Inside, the exceptional high quality of the Villa soon becomes apparent! We had a beautiful suite (Room No. 27) overlooking a courtyard, with a private roof terrace. The shower and bath room was cavernous and covered in beautiful marble and local rendering.

The cuisine at the Villa is very good indeed, with an excellent wine selection.
Breakfast is until …whenever, and can be served almost anywhere you wish!

The location of the villa was excellent – within the Medina but not so claustrophobic as being located by the souk area. The Jemaa El Fna “square” and the main souk area are a pleasant 10 minute walk away; definitely make sure that you visit the evening food stalls for great entertainment at night!!

The quality of service at the Villa was outstanding; dinner reservations at other restaurants and taxi arrangements to take and collect us, all went without a hitch! Room service deliveries of ice etc. were prompt and pleasant and we had a constant refilling of complimentary water and fruit.

The Villa’s hammam was outstandingly clean and wonderful; an absolute must to distress yourself! The bath robes provided are the most luxurious we have ever had, and available in the Villa shop. (and well worth the excess baggage cost to get home!).

The only drawback was that the wifi internet connection was weak, and required laptop and iPhone to be within a short distance of reception to get a signal.

We only spent 3 nights at the Villa, and could have spent longer, but the hotel staff made it feel as if we had been there for ever!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Villa des Orangers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa des Orangers

Address: 6 rue Sidi Mimoun, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#18 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#40 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#46 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Villa des Orangers 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the foot of the Koutoubia mosque, with its matchless landmark minaret and only 5 minutes walk from the Jemaa el Fna square, the Villa des Orangers offers an exceptional location to explore the medina. The Villa des Orangers is an intimate haven of peace located near the bustling souks of Marrakech with 27 rooms and suites arranged on two levels around three verdant open-sky patios with water fountains surrounded by galleries of chiseled plaster and a garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splendia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Escapio, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your La Villa des Orangers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Villa Des Orangers Hotel Marrakech
La Hotel Marrakech
La Hotel Des Orangers

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Villa des Orangers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.