We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in ultra convenient position” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Villa des Orangers

Save Saved
You added La Villa des Orangers to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Villa des Orangers
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 rue Sidi Mimoun, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #37 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Reading
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in ultra convenient position”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2009

This is a really good hotel, professionally run right in the centre of the Medina of Marrekech well within walking distance of the major sights. It is expensive but isn't everything now that the value of sterling has fallen drastically and for the money perhaps the rooms are a little small for the money. We had 2 suites both with roof terraces but be warned they are not really suites just slightly larger rooms. The hotel can be a little noisy at night but this is inevitable given its location - would wouldn't believe it was there from the outside.

Service is particularly good with top class staff and a very good restaurant. Our children were well looked after and their only complaint was that there was no one else of similar age there making them stand out in what was otherwise very much a romantic couples sort of place.

I would definately recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    259
    29
    4
    4
    4
See reviews for
34
196
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2008

After cross-referencing several online travel sources, including mrandmrssmith.com and tripadvisor, we decided to book La Villa des Orangers for our stay in Marrakech last year. We were very happy with every aspect of our stay. The location is very convenient- about a ten mins walk away from the Jemaa El Fna and the souks. We were actually glad we weren't staying in a riad in the medina itself where it’s quite easy to get lost walking around at night. Btw, crossing the roads near the Medina is an experience in itself- the trick is to cross the road very slowly so that cars can clearly see you and then drive around you. Food- delicious. We will be staying in more Relais&Chateux hotels from now on. Property is extremely lovely and charming- when we were there the libraries were decorated with lovely African paintings. Service is excellent and thoughtful- the staff noticed I was celebrating my birthday during my stay and left a kaftan as a present. Our only regret is that we stayed in a Deluxe Room- next time we come back we will definitely upgrade to one of the suites. We were especially happy with our guide to the medina recommended by the hotel, Mustapha- he was very knowledgeable and did not once try to steer us towards shops where he could try to get some commission.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2008

This hotel is an excellent honeymoon hotel and Marrakech an excellent destination. The staff were friendly and efficient. The rooms unique, and beautiful ornate. The best feature of the hotel was chosing in which fabulous location to eat your breakfast or lunch. One day we WILL return.

  • Liked — The indiviuality of the decor and buildings
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2008

I have just returned from a lush break at the villa des orangers and it exceeded all expectations. We had a suite and terrace which was beatifully and tastefully furnished and very comfortable. The fresh roses in the room and bathroom were just one of the many small touches that made the stay so special. Service was speedy and always with a smile which is something you don't get much in the UK. The concierge was always happy to help with dinner plans either in the hotel or in one of the many very good restaurants in the medina. (Le Tobsil is very good but make sure you're hungry as they give you enough to feed a small village!).
Breakfast had to be pre-ordered which was a little odd but ok once used to it. I recommend taking it either in your room or in one of the very comfortable public rooms as the honey bees can be a bit of a pain when there is jam and honey about.
Fresh bedlinen every day(heaven) and bathrooms which are made perfect again before you return from your evening out.
The air conditioning could do with being a bit more efficient but that said it did keep us comfortable enough to sleep.
All in all a perfect holiday and just what the doctor ordered if you want some down time.

  • Liked — Like an oasis of calm in the medina
  • Disliked — the air conditioning
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2008

My husband and I stayed here for part of our honeymoon. We loved the hotel and the staff was great.

We stayed in one of the loft suites off the main area which was very comfortable. The grounds of the hotel were spacious and between both pool areas, there was always somewhere to sit quietly and relax. The hotel's location is very close to the heart of the Djamaa El Fna and convenient to most of the things a tourist might see or do.

The staff was great. Royal Air Moroc lost our luggage between Fes and Marrakech and needless to say by the time we got to the hotel late that night, we weren't happy. The manager on duty took the form we got from the airline and said he would take care of following up and getting our luggage. Sure enough, we had it back in our room by lunch the next day. We also arrived too late for dinner but were given drinks and a fruit basket which was a very nice touch. The staff was also able to arrange dinner reservations and taxis without any hassle or issues.

The hotel offers complimentary juices, water and sodas as well as a fairly substantial breakfast and lunch. My only complaint would be that sometimes in the afternoon it was hard to find someone to order a drink from.

Overall, I think this a great hotel; a beautiful property and helpful staff. I'd definitely recommend it to anyone traveling to Marrakech.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2008

I was here In early May 08 for 3 days as part of my honeymoon with my husband...... we arrived at 9pm after our 3 day sahara desert trip and was absolutely exhausted and couldn't wait to get to this hotel as I've read from Trip advisor how wonderful this place is, plus it's voted i think 8th most luxurious place to stay.

When we got there with our ruck sack and shorts/ t-shirt with a very tired look on our faces and in desperate need of a shower... we walked into the riad.. and found it very peaceful and tranquil.
We were greeted by a gentleman at the reception who spoke English very well and gave us our keys to our room and explained to us that he will show us a round the riad once we have showered and settled ourselves down.

As we past through the court yard and opened the door to our room, it was lovely and spacious just as it is in the pictures of their website..the bathroom was huge... I absolutely loved it..and so did my husband.....and the whole place was clean.

once we came out of our room we decided to eat in the riad as it was late and we were tired and didn't want to head out... ... the restaurant was beautiful... the service was great and the food was lovely... though of course it was quite expensive too... i think we spent £40pp and that was excluding any alcohol drinks...

After dinner we headed back to our rooms and was amazed that they've already came into our rooms and have changed all the bathroom towels which we just had used! - the service was wonderful.

we also managed to used the 2 pools which they have to offer.. and most of the times myself and my husband managed to have the whole place to ourselves... so it was perfect...

Further more you are only 5 min away from the square so location was great!

The only negative thing I can say about this riad is that it can do with a bit of updating as the TV was not flat screen (not that I mind, but I stayed in a 80Euros a night riad which had a flat screen ) and here I'm paying around 260Euros. Plus there was a few tiles on the floor loose or missing.. and on further inspection of their electricity mains... you can see that the job was done poorly as the finished was bad.. with gaps and cracks..by the wall.. though cleverly hidden with beautiful furniture....

Overall me and my husband had a wonderful experience.. and would definately recommend this place.. and return if we decide to come back to Marrakech!

  • Liked — The service and having 2 pools
  • Disliked — just needs updating
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2008

Only a short flight and a 15 minute transfer from airport to hotel and you arrive at Villa des Orangers in the center of Marrakech. On a dusty street we were led through a doorway to an amazing oasis in the middle of this hectic city.

There are many rooms and areas within the hotel in which to relax and the decor is beautiful throughout the hotel. The courtyard with orange trees is a wonderful place to take lunch.

We booked a Grande Suite with Terrace and were lucky to get one with sun on the terrace into the early evening. We had planned this 3-nt break away from the kids as a break in the sun and were glad of the terrace as the pool area is shaded by the afternoon. Also there are not many beds around the pool area for the number of guests, so again the private terrace was a great place to relax.

The food in the hotel was far better than the other restaurants we visited (If you get recommended Dar Moha - ask for a table outside by the pool).

A great place to stay for a short break and only a 5 minute walk to the souk.

Only drawback was the bad smell of drains from time-to-time, especially in our room when the air-con was turned ON!

  • Liked — The chic interior and cleanliness of the hotel
  • Disliked — Bad smells occasionally
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Villa des Orangers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa des Orangers

Address: 6 rue Sidi Mimoun, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#15 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#29 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#35 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Villa des Orangers 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the foot of the Koutoubia mosque, with its matchless landmark minaret and only 5 minutes walk from the Jemaa el Fna square, the Villa des Orangers offers an exceptional location to explore the medina. The Villa des Orangers is an intimate haven of peace located near the bustling souks of Marrakech with 27 rooms and suites arranged on two levels around three verdant open-sky patios with water fountains surrounded by galleries of chiseled plaster and a garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Escapio, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your La Villa des Orangers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Villa Des Orangers Hotel Marrakech
La Hotel Marrakech
La Hotel Des Orangers

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Villa des Orangers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.