We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Villa des Orangers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added La Villa des Orangers to your Saves list
La Villa des Orangers
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 rue Sidi Mimoun, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 463 Hotels in Marrakech
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Magical”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Wow what a beautiful place. Once the home of a lawyer it has been turned into a magical tranquil hotel, moments from the main square. The gardens and pools are just stunning and nothing is too much for the wonderful staff. Our room was magnificent, just off of one of the courtyards. We used the roof top pool, which we had all to ourselves and were served drinks all day. Breakfast and lunch were included and served in a lovely setting (nothing was too much). The best treat (again included) was having your laundry cleaned and returned in the same day.
We will defiantly be returning.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    31
    4
    4
    4
See reviews for
44
216
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lyon, France
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed at the Villa des Orangers on a family trip (2 adults, 2 kids, ages 7& 10). We had one room with a rooftop terrace (with direct access to the rooftop pool) and the room next door which was their standard double room. I loved it here and would definitely come back. In fact, I didn't want to leave. The service was top-notch from arrival to departure including dining. When we first arrived, it was so serene I was worried that it wasn't really kid-friendly but we could not have felt more comfortable. They accommodated some specific meal requests for one picky eater and one cool morning, our server even brought the kids blankets at breakfast as they were already dressed for the Marrakech heat. I honestly had the feeling that I could have asked for anything and they would have answered "no problem." The hotel does not look like much from the outside so don't be alarmed - it's next to an auto shop. Once you step in, it's amazing. The charm of a riad with beautiful inner courtyards and luxe furnishings. Dining is around the one large pool and they have plenty of indoor space to accommodate less than perfect weather. The food was delicious and well presented. We ate breakfast here each day (included) as well as a few lunches. Over the course of five nights, we ate dinner at the hotel restaurant three times. It was that good. There are three pools - the main large one, a small one off the large pool area and the rooftop pool. We spent most of our time at the rooftop - there were less people and we wanted to be respectful of those relaxing when our kids wanted to swim. The rooftop terrace has great views and you are within walking distance to the heart of the medina. I also went to the spa which is well equipped and comfortable; I was pleased with the service. If you want to have a spectacular place to return to after a busy day in Marrakech, this is your place.

Room Tip: Highly recommend splurging on the room with rooftop terrace. So spacious and wonderful to have that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayman
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

It was a wonderful experience staying at the Villa des Orangers. The staff were exceedingly attentive, helpful and had great suggestions of what to see and do. As other reviewers have mention, nothing is to much trouble. Exotic decor, musicians in the courtyard, excellent food, flowers, the sounds of the birds all create a wonderful environment. The hammam was a wonderful experience as well. From the monument you are picked up at the airport you feel pampered.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the VDO in November 2013.
This was our first trip to Marrakech and I researched accommodation extensively before choosing this hotel. The excellent reviews helped enormously. We wanted a traditional style hotel rather than one of the many chain hotels on offer..
We were not disappointed. From the minute our driver met us at the airport in a immaculate 4 wheel drive vehicle (driver polite and charming) to the minute we left, we were made to feel special.
The hotel is a mere 15 minute drive from the airport..
As mentioned in many reviews, the doorway to the villa is set between a row of tyre and motorbike repair units.
This really is a hidden gem amongst the madness of the city..
As soon as you walk through the door into a corridor lit by atmospheric lanterns the peace descends on you and the street noise disappears. We were met at reception with a warm greeting and check in went smoothly and quickly .
We were shown to our suite (24) situated above the spa overlooking one of several inner courtyard/gardens.
Once shown around our spacious room, our bags were brought up along with freshly squeezed orange juice.
The room was painted in muted earth tones. Tiled floor.
Traditional Moroccan furniture.
We had a very comfortable sitting area and fireplace..
Little extras such as nuts and fresh roses in the bedroom and bathroom.
Fresh towels twice daily .
Bottled water supplied.
Safe.
We had a huge rooftop terrace accessed through our private lobby up a tiled stairway.
Sun loungers,table and chairs.
Cushions and towels provided.
TV not working in room - we weren't that bothered though one evening we decided to have room service and having the tv working would have been welcome.
Restaurant open in the evenings.
Snack menu available ..
Whilst all very beautiful, it is not immaculate in the sense of pristine,manicured gardens.
The bathroom, whilst spotless had cracks in the plaster, not perfect but totally relaxing and homely .
We visited La Mamounia for lunch one day, which looks like something from a glossy magazine- stunning to look at but feels somewhat uncomfortable compared with the overall feel of VDO. All depends what you are looking for and at similar prices I'd opt for VDO anytime.
Within the beautiful grounds is a long narrow pool - I think it looks more decorative though it is possible to swim in it.
What we didn't know until the day we departed, is that there is a rooftop pool with sun loungers !
There are lots of quiet seating areas both inside and out to relax and unwind.
Free laundry service available .
The daily rate includes breakfast which may be taken either in room,private terrace or in the grounds.
(6.30am till 12!!!! How civilised is that !).
Believe it or not, lunch is also included -12 till 3)
There isn't a bar as such, but a wine list is available on request, as well as other drinks.
All the staff are friendly,discreet and efficient..
There were pale peach roses everywhere - so beautiful.
The villa has it's own spa/hammam in the basement.
High vaulted ceilings and marble everywhere.
I had the hammam and facial package which was 3 hrs of total pampering.
It was a wonderful experience. The massage was the best I've ever had ! (This package was approx £125 - excellent value).
I was so chilled out when I staggered upto our suite I couldn't face going out, hence a night in with room service.
Incidentally, soft drinks are included in the room rate- just ask.
The main square is about a 15 minute walk.
Beware high kerbs,uneven and broken pavements - sensible footwear an absolute must!
The traffic is a nightmare - buses,cars,hundreds of motorbikes,scooters, not to mention donkey carts and horses and carriages - in every direction - it's manic!!!
AND no pedestrian crossings! You have to do what the locals do and walk into the road boldly and hope they stop! Pretty scary !
Atmosphere - you can't beat it!
The hotel organised for us to have a private guide (Renoir), a local English speaking chap who was personable and very knowledgable.
He took us to places in the old town we would never have found ourselves. Places of historical interest,back streets, the Kasbah, away from the touristy spots. Back to the hotel for lunch, then the afternoon exploring the incredible souks. This was amazing!.
Virtually everything on sale has been handmade - no power tools here! Hand and foot driven ancient tools craft the most exquisite items from wooden boxes,leather goods,pottery to ironmongery as well as hand dyed wool for beautiful textiles. Everyone working hard at making a living.
Try your hand at haggling - great fun!
Ignore pestering - a simple "no thank you" will suffice.
Everywhere you go, people are trying to sell something,anything from carpets to packets of tissues and individual biscuits! There is no social security or benefits here so respect their need to make a living.
Take a caleche around the city walls - barter the price down ( it should be around 120 dirhams).
Note. No alcohol is for sale in the Medina.
We saw everything for sale from tortoises,chameleons,scorpions,live chickens (they will kill,pluck and dress on the spot!) to cows feet (in pairs of course!).
After the riot of sensory and auditory stimulation returning to the villa was utter bliss!
There were a couple of downsides to our stay,one of which was dogs barking all night in an adjacent property.
The other, was, we had dinner at the villa on our last night which was disappointing.
£58 for 2 courses.
Least expensive wine around £50 a bottle, though having paid £120 at La Mamounia was probably a bargain!
(The Morroccan red was surprisingly good).,
Not a huge menu.
I had the saffron risotto which was superb followed by fillet steak. Some sort of potato dish would have been welcome.
My husband had langoustine fricasee followed by the lamb tagine. Whilst the starter was very good, the tagine was dreadful - poor quality meat with large lumps of fatty gristle. No flavour. White cous cous with no spices. A very disappointing meal. However, the manager took the feedback well and didn't charge us for his meal, plus they gave us coffee and liqueurs on the house.
Their response indicated good customer awareness, however, when we checked out the following morning, the meal had been charged for!!! That was corrected though it was rather embarrassing.
Overall, we had a wonderful 5 night stay / superb service ,good food (apart from the tagine), comfortable room,excellent spa!
We would definitely highly recommend!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

breakfast on the roof terrace while watching the storks circle overhead the nests they've built in the phone masts, the young will be launching themselves into the craziness of the city about now, if they have any sense they'll land in the peaceful security of the villa des oranges, we stayed three weeks ago for 3 nights and it's set the benchmark for all our trips from now on. other reviews describe the intensity of the marakech experience and the escape a good rhiad offers, just to emphasise the difference between the two worlds the villa des oranges also provides an opportunity to observe the moroccan art of tyre changing beside its main entrance before you duck inside to be cossetted by the charming staff in this beautiful establishment.

Room Tip: book a room with a roof terrace rather than a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We have just returned from a fantastic 4 day stay at La Villa Des Oranges in Marrakech. Beautiful room with private terrace, very attentive staff with nothing being too much trouble. A very special place to stay away from the more frantic centre of Marrakech, but great location to just walk to the main square in just 10 minutes. Beautiful Riad with plenty of areas to relax. An evening Neal is also a must!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Marrakech is filled with interesting, unusual, exhausting, and sometimes disturbing sights, so it is important to have a place to go where the atmosphere is calm and welcoming. Villa des Orangers is one such oasis. Though it is located within the medina, you can easily reach the villa by taxi. The hotel will send a driver to pick you up at the train or airport if prearranged. The villa is located on a busy street, surrounded by a gas station, bus stops, local shops and street vendors, but once you enter the door you are in a world removed.
The staff, to a person, is polite, helpful, well-trained, and organized. Most everyone speaks English, and naturally French. We asked them to help us with directions, arranging for taxis, purchasing train tickets (they even sent us on our way with a bagged lunch for the long trip), and laundry (which is included).
The riad has many beautiful public rooms in which to relax, some indoors and some outside, as well as an outdoor pool. Meals can be eaten in any of these areas. A full breakfast and lunch (from a menu) are included in the rate, and maybe some of the best food you enjoy in the city. We also ate dinner at the villa on our last evening, and were treated to a meal as creative and well-prepared as any we have had in our travels.
Our room was on the second floor, and had everything we needed and then some. It was well thought out and quite comfortable. There was a large sitting area, desk, closet with safe, very comfortable bed, large bathroom with robes and slippers, numerous soft towels, lovely bath products, separate shower, small fridge restocked with waters each day, room-darkening shutters, very quiet AC, and a flat screen TV, which we never turned on. Each day we returned to our room to find a variety of fresh dried fruits. The attention to detail, and the desire to make your stay as comfortable as possible, are a constant theme.
Villa des Orangers has a great location for exploring the city. It is a very short walk to the Koutoubia Mosque and Jemaa El Fna (and onto the souks). The Saadian Tombs and Badii Palace are also near-by. For those of you considering La Mamounia hotel, which is a few blocks from Villa des Orangers, I'd say go there for a drink or meal, because it is really something to see, but stay at the villa where you you will be well cared for and enveloped in a lovely cocoon.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room on an upper floor. The rooms on the ground floor around the gardens or pool wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Villa des Orangers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa des Orangers

Address: 6 rue Sidi Mimoun, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#16 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#18 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#24 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Villa des Orangers 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the foot of the Koutoubia mosque, with its matchless landmark minaret and only 5 minutes walk from the Jemaa el Fna square, the Villa des Orangers offers an exceptional location to explore the medina. The Villa des Orangers is an intimate haven of peace located near the bustling souks of Marrakech with 27 rooms and suites arranged on two levels around three verdant open-sky patios with water fountains surrounded by galleries of chiseled plaster and a garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Escapio so you can book your La Villa des Orangers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Villa Des Orangers Hotel Marrakech
La Hotel Marrakech
La Hotel Des Orangers

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Villa des Orangers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.