We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place and staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Villa des Orangers

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added La Villa des Orangers to your Saves list
La Villa des Orangers
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 rue Sidi Mimoun, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
Woking
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous place and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

As Tony suggests - what is inside is an interesting contrast to the street! I have been fortunate to stay in many outstanding hotels (through work) and the Villa ranks up there with any. We had split our visit to Morocco with a trip to the mountains in the middle of 2 stays here. The interior has been really well developed, sympathetic to the style and culture and yet comfortable. The rooms were really well finished too, although we had to resort to using the A/C and having the windows closed because of a dog barking several times through the night.

The staff were exceptional with the efficiency and friendliness throughout. Obviously, well led, managed and trained! The breakfast and lunch were good - and a plus was having them included in the package. Elements such as the free non-alcoholic drinks and launddry were also nice touches. Locatiion was good, within easy reach of the main square and also the Kasbah area - and a reasonable taxi ridde to the "new" town and Gueliz. (We had what we felt was a good deal with Karim who happily came whenever we wanted and called!)

My only negative would be about the price of the dinner - and wine! The quality was good but I do not want to have to pay about £120 - 140 each night for 2 of us. Surely it is possible to offer a set meal at around 300-350 DH and wine at a proportional rate. I do not object to paying the premium price now and again - but willl not be compelled to doing so. A shame, becuase the setting for dinner was great and Mohammed and his team were great.

Room Tip: If it is within your budget, have a suite with terrace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    31
    4
    4
    4
See reviews for
43
211
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

This beautiful hotel proves the adage 'don't judge a book by it's cover.' Located on a not so pretty street the whole world changes once you go though the welcoming front gate. Exquisite decor throughout. Great attention to detail. Prompt and courteous service. Our room was a dream. Fabulous bathroom with voluminous rain shower. And the food!
Served poolside with a plethora of candle- lit lanterns. We dined out one night at the vaunted La Mamoulia. Over priced and over hyped. Save your money. Rushed back to dine at La Villa and couldn't have been happier to be home. Highly recommended.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, CO
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

My mum and I spent a week here and everything was perfect. The Villa is a peaceful oasis with a beautiful pool, and lovely sitting areas that helped to make the riad so peaceful and quiet. All the staff were exceptional in every way, and a special mention must to go to Mohamed the restaurant manager. The food was delicious with excellent choices for breakfast, lunch and dinner. This was one of the best holidays we have had, and we will be back next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This hotel is a small place to be! It is located just a few minutes away from the medina an the schmaa al fna'. The rooms are very nice furnished and very cosy. We got an upgrade to a suite with roof terrasse, absolutely fantastic. The breakfast was served outside next to the pool. Very delicious with a good variety of food. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We highly recommend this hotel. Just to stay there a couple of nights and enjoy Marrakesch.

Room Tip: Just ask for a room with roof terrasse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We spent 6 nights here and can't recommend it highly enough. To echo the comments of most other reviewers, La Villa des Orangers is a real oasis amidst the chaos of Marrakech. The hotel is absolutely beautiful; you arrive in a pretty unprepossessing street, walk through the doors and enter a stunning riad. The service throughout was superb (particulate mention of Mohammed, the maître d' who looked after us beautifully). There are some brilliant perks - free laundry, free lunch and free soft drinks. The restaurant is excellent. And the location is perfect for exploring the city. We can't believe there is a better option for a hotel near the centre of Marrakech.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
393 helpful votes 393 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Just got back from a 5 day trip staying at Villa Des Orangers. This was our second stay here (I did a full review in 2007) and the purpose of this review is to say that our stay was just as wonderful. Service was exemplary throughout. Breakfast and lunch (both inclusive in room rate) were excellent. We had dinner on two nights at the restaurant and it was excellent on both occasions. In fact, I must say the restaurant manager really put himself out to help us on our last night. we had gone to Bo + Zin for dinner. We ate there in 2007 and it was excellent so we thought we’d go back. I shall do a review of Bo + Zin separately but to cut a long story short, the service was appalling, watered down drinks and then when we tried to order form the very limited menu, they had no fish, no beef etc. so we decided to leave this meant we ended up back at Villa Des Orangers at 10.30pm having not eaten. The restaurant manager asked chef to sort out some supper which they did brilliantly although they had officially closed the kitchen. Our last night was salvaged and we ended our visit to this wonderful riad and exciting city on a high.

Since our last visit the rooms and spa have been upgraded. In fact, there is now whole new spa which offers very good treatments. We stayed in Room 17 (large suite with terrace and it was beautifully maintained, with a great shower and bathroom facilities.

A wonderful stay and if I am ever in Marrakech, I would not hesitate to revisit Villa Des Orangers.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed in La Villa des Orangers for 7 nights in a junior suite to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The hotel was fantastic, its location is perfect to explore the city. We were made to feel very special. The food was amazing. The staff were incredibly pleasant. Our experience with the hotel from reservation, to making enquiries about our stay before arrival and the service we obtained during our stay was second to none. It was a haven in what is a frenetic city!

Room Tip: Standard rooms around the main courtyard are the least private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Villa des Orangers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa des Orangers

Address: 6 rue Sidi Mimoun, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#12 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#16 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#26 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Villa des Orangers 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the foot of the Koutoubia mosque, with its matchless landmark minaret and only 5 minutes walk from the Jemaa el Fna square, the Villa des Orangers offers an exceptional location to explore the medina. The Villa des Orangers is an intimate haven of peace located near the bustling souks of Marrakech with 27 rooms and suites arranged on two levels around three verdant open-sky patios with water fountains surrounded by galleries of chiseled plaster and a garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Escapio and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Villa des Orangers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Villa Des Orangers Hotel Marrakech
La Hotel Marrakech
La Hotel Des Orangers

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Villa des Orangers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.