We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calm and Caring” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Villa des Orangers

Save Saved
You added La Villa des Orangers to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Villa des Orangers
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 rue Sidi Mimoun, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Calm and Caring”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Upon your arrival you step through the magic door from the busy street. After the door there is complete calm. Our room faced the courtyard and was delightful Moroccan style. Many places for privacy in the lobby if you wish to dine or have a drink. The staff was very caring and tended to your every need. Breakfast around the pool was quite lovely. They even do your laundry, without charge. A good choice in Marrakech.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    251
    29
    4
    4
    4
See reviews for
32
192
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flagstaff, Arizona
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

La Villa des Orangers is the place to stay in Marrakech. In planning the trip, I went back and forth between a few other larger hotel. My wife and I were glad we stayed at La Villa des Orangers. Is off a busy street, but once you enter through the doors – relaxing sanctuary; it is quite peaceful. Villa des Orangers is beautiful. It’s a few blocks to Jemaa el-Fnaa. Personally, I was glad to be slightly away from being directly in the old city (medina quarters). It's within the walls, but not in the craziness of the markets. We were there during shoulder season in December, so the weather cooled down at night and days were wonderful. Our room was a beautiful one with a sitting area. The bathroom with bath and separate shower was just as large as the sleeping area. Outside of ours doors, our room had a stairs that led to a rooftop sitting area larger than our room. It was very cool to sit up at night and see the lights of Marrakech.

Breakfast felt like sitting in someone’s living room. The choices are basic, but the staff works very hard to make sure you get what you need. Fruits, breads, eggs, bacon, etc. After breakfast everyday, the location of Villa des Orangers was a walk to many tourist sites. We had dinner at various places in Marrakech, outside of the hotel, but everything was walkable or a quick taxi ride, which the hotel staff would always easily hail. My opinion, La Villa des Orangers is the place to stay in Marrakech.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We booked this hotel for our 1 year wedding anniversary, the hotel organised transport from the airport and back again which was a little relief.

Upon arriving at the hotel we honestly thought where on earth did we book as the surrounding area is a little bit rough, but once you walk through the doors its like a little paradise with birds singing. We were immediately shown around by a member of staff which was great as you got a feel for the hotel, once in our hotel room we were offered fresh orange juice and Moroccan tea (both amazing)

We were looking for a relaxing get away and this is exactly what we found, the staff were very attentive and even tried to get you items of food that may not be on the menu (eg/ tomato and cucumber) We ate at the hotel 1 evening by the pool and again, the food was amazing, the bill came to around £115 for 2 people which include drinks. If you're looking for a nice meal you'll be paying around this anywhere you go.

If your looking for a relaxed break this is a great hotel and it's very close to the Jemaa el Fna if you fancy leaving the hotel although crossing the roads are a bit of a nightmare :)

Overall we really enjoyed our stay here and would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Room with terrace onto the roof-top pool are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed at La Villa des Orangers for 1 night (only!) at the end of June and have been delighted by our stay! The "Villa" itself is typical of these big mansions in the center of Marrakech, with multiple floors and courtyards. The room has beautiful moroccan furniture and all amenities you could wish for. We got upgraded to a room with terrace and could enjoy a wonderful breakfast there. So romantic!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

After booking and cancelling at least 4 hotels prior to booking this hotel, I'm so delighted that we booked this one. From the moment you walk into the huge doorway you will not be disappointed in what you find. It's just beautiful, pure luxury , tranquil and tasteful we definitely made a wonderful choice. Loving every second.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We arrived from the Four Seasons and they claimed not to have our reservation; hard to tell who dropped the ball. In any event, the set up a table for us. The warmth, hospitality, and the food were all exceptional. A lovely night, a musician, and a great wine made for a perfect evening. Pricey, of course, but well worth it. Save this one for a special night. Also, this is one Marrakech restaurant that books early, so don't wait to the last minute to reserve.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This hotel , a relais and chateau, is lovely. We were treated to a dinner here. We ate alongside the pool on the terrace. We watched the fading light as the birds darted in Nd out of the shrubbery. Our food was wonderful French food, prepared and served with care. Romantic and relaxed.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Villa des Orangers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa des Orangers

Address: 6 rue Sidi Mimoun, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#14 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#34 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#43 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Villa des Orangers 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the foot of the Koutoubia mosque, with its matchless landmark minaret and only 5 minutes walk from the Jemaa el Fna square, the Villa des Orangers offers an exceptional location to explore the medina. The Villa des Orangers is an intimate haven of peace located near the bustling souks of Marrakech with 27 rooms and suites arranged on two levels around three verdant open-sky patios with water fountains surrounded by galleries of chiseled plaster and a garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Escapio, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your La Villa des Orangers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Villa Des Orangers Hotel Marrakech
La Hotel Marrakech
La Hotel Des Orangers

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Villa des Orangers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.