We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Villa des Orangers

Save Saved
You added La Villa des Orangers to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Villa des Orangers
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 rue Sidi Mimoun, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #38 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Bogota, Colombia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful Riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

We spent three days in Marrakech and returning to the hotel after long walks under the heat was always a pleasure. Our suite was overlooking the pool, with a beautiful bathroom and even a massage room (which unfortunately did not have time to use). The food was excellent. Well located to visit the market and to peek at la Mamounia where fortunately we were unable to get a reservation.


Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    258
    29
    4
    4
    4
See reviews for
34
196
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

In the "dwell on the negative" world we currently live in, travelers are constantly nitpicking about thread counts and the number of square feet in their Junior Suite. Instead, focus on how the hotel makes you feel. La Villa des Oranges was a spectacular hotel experience. Every time I returned from a morning exploring the Medina, I was so happy to return to the oasis that was our home for four nights. All staff was friendly, courteous and well prepared to assist in any way possible (restaurant reservations, directions and guides). Specifically towards guides, we liked our guide so much we elected to use him three more days. You cannot explore the Medina and learn the culture without a guide. I saw other groups from the hotel using guides and each time it appeared the hotel connected guests with guides of similar age and interest level in different features of the city (Historical Sites vs. Souks / Shopping Options). It made a big difference for us and I very much appreciated the hotel's forethought on that matter. It could have been total luck, but I believe the staff sized my wife and I up and tried to connect us with the right guide. Our room was well appointed and our terrace on the roof was fun to use as a lookout over the city.
The location of the hotel is excellent as it is not right in the middle of the Medina, but a five – seven minute walk. There is no sense of Souk claustrophobia at the hotel as I imagine there could be at other hotels within the Medina.
The food was excellent. My wife prefers believes nobody boils a better soft boiled egg than her, so I was impressed when she complimented how well the kitchen had prepared her egg in the morning. Lunch includes seven – eight regular items, with three specials of the day. The special skate-wing was a delight. We ate at the hotel one night and it was excellent.
The final bit that sparked me to write this review was what happened upon our return from three nights in the Atlas Mountains. We had prearranged to stop at the hotel to pick up some clothing that was being altered for my wife. When we arrived, the hotel invited us to stay as long as we wanted until our flight left. Rather than spend time at the Marrakech airport, we were able to spend 90 minutes back in La Villa des Orangers paradise.

Room Tip: Our room was upstairs with a private terrace. Great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is one of the most enjoyable hotel experiences of my life to date. The staff, the facilities, the location, the food; all were excellent. The other reviews cover so much. I just want to add my vote of enjoyment for this hotel.

Being in a riad is so much more interesting than an ordinary hotel. This one is on the outskirts of the old city so walking into and through the Media is a short journey. Once there, however, get a guide or prepare to be lost a lot.

Room Tip: Splurge for a room with a terrace. It is a great place to end a long day's walk with a drink.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
256 reviews 256 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 152 cities Reviews in 152 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Tucked away up a small alley off a busy street, VDO is a lovely boutique riad.

It's a Relais et Chateaux but this marque has we feel recently confused numbers with quality of entrants, as is the case here.

We had a lovely upstairs room on the triforium above the main quad of the hotel with our own room terrace and plunge pool. Views were lovely. Unfortunately we also had a plunge pool in the bathroom, in the cupboard under the basins it was flooded to about 6 inches deep.

The main pool in the hotel is more ornamental than recreational and too near the bar to appeal to the bashful.

The riad is ideally located for exploring the hotel on foot, about ten minutes stroll from the main square and souks.

Much more personal than La Mamonia down the road that's rather impersonal if architecturally more interesting.

Room Tip: Get a roof top room for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Having been in Marrakesh several times, staying here has been one of the two best experiences. La Villa was superior in every way. The management and staff are fabulous and make sure that everything is to ones satisfaction. The chef does a delightful job as well. As a year round leisure traveler for 40 plus years, I highly recommend la Villa to those desirous of a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Cretainly do a room with a veranda
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed one night here on our way to Oualidia. The hotel is a lovely building with some attractive peaceful courtyards and a smashing pool. We received a free upgrade from the really helpful and efficient management, but with limited time there probably didn't take full advantage of all the hotel has to offer.
The spa was very good (and good value too), and the food, both lunch and dinner, excellent. There's a strong French element as you would expect, but the fish tagine was brilliant.
It would be five stars but for the fact that the roof terrace falls short of the best in Marrakech, being not wholly private.
But a great hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The entrance to this Riad is nothing special but be prepared for a very pleasant surprise once inside. We stayed here for three nights and had a truly memorable experience. We received a very warm welcome upon arrival and this set the tone for the very personalised and attentive service you can expect throughout your stay. The staff are all friendly and you feel like you are a guest in their home and are never asked to give your name or sign for anything. The Riad itself exudes character and reflects the culture of the city. Waking up in the morning to the sound of the birds singing and the call to prayers was truly blissful. The hotel is ideally located to be able to explore the old city, being only 10 minutes all from the colour of the central square. This also means that it is easy to return back when you need to recharge your batteries with a cup of mint tea sat in one of the delightful, quiet seating areas in this beautiful hotel. This really is a great place to stay, especially for couples wanting a few lazy days away together.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Villa des Orangers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa des Orangers

Address: 6 rue Sidi Mimoun, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#15 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#28 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#35 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Villa des Orangers 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the foot of the Koutoubia mosque, with its matchless landmark minaret and only 5 minutes walk from the Jemaa el Fna square, the Villa des Orangers offers an exceptional location to explore the medina. The Villa des Orangers is an intimate haven of peace located near the bustling souks of Marrakech with 27 rooms and suites arranged on two levels around three verdant open-sky patios with water fountains surrounded by galleries of chiseled plaster and a garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Escapio, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your La Villa des Orangers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Villa Des Orangers Hotel Marrakech
La Hotel Marrakech
La Hotel Des Orangers

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Villa des Orangers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.