We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Villa des Orangers

Save Saved
You added La Villa des Orangers to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
La Villa des Orangers
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 rue Sidi Mimoun, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #61 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Cheltenham
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Stay here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We visited early November 2012 (2 couples and 2 teenage daughters). The hotel is beautiful and the staff delightful. Having asked for advice about sending a potential carpet home, they didn't bat an eyelid when a carpet seller from the souk turned up with 4 carpets and wrapped them in the hotel. They then took them to the courier's office and sent them home for us! Genuinely good service. The rooms are lovely with great bathrooms. The staff are discreet, informal and friendly. The hotel feels like a very civilised house party. All the other guests were French and no children, but our girls were made to feel very welcome. We had a hammam and it was very good, definitely an experience not to be missed. Also, having had very mixed food in Marrakech (we also ate at the Foundouk, Sultana and Mamounia's French restaurant) the food at the hotel was the best we had. Having been lost in Marrakech once too often staying in a riad in a maze of alleys, the location of the Villa on a road near the Koutoubia mosque means you can walk everywhere even late at night and still make it home. Don't underestimate this when choosing your riad! We loved it and wouldn't consider anywhere else.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    223
    27
    4
    4
    4
See reviews for
28
177
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Hidden in the side streets- you wonder if they have stopped at the wrong place. But step inside the narrow corridor to the hotel and you have a beautiful peaceful hotel. Lovely courtyard, beautiful rooms, excellent bathrooms. Very easy to walk into the main square, enjoy the madness of the night market. The food in the hotel was very good. Lunch included which was a bonus and very tasty. Staff were very helpful - such as arranging a caleche for us at a sensible price. Lovely with our teenage girls.

Room Tip: As far as I could tell all rooms were good. We were on the ground floor and found rooms quiet, spaci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Excellent value for money our room rate included airport transfer, lunch on arrival and breakfast. If this is your first visit to Marrakech this is a great place to stay, a very easy walk to the main square and souks, the hotel offers a safe haven from the chaos of Marrakech, the staff are excellent, our room was stunning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This oasis in the mayhem of Marrakech is a must for romantic travellers looking for some luxury. Sit by the pool in pleasant surrounds, have a massage in their beautifully relaxing hammam, play backgammon sat at the most elaborate table or just have tea in one of the squares listening to water gently trickling. But make sure you take the short walk into the market area, where the assualt on your senses really begins, knowing you can retreat to the haven of Villa des Orangers.

We had a lovely four day stay, which flew by, ending each day sat by the top pool with a glass of wine watching the sun go down and the storks coming home to roost.

The owners, manegement and staff are all so very helpful and attentive to all your needs.

If you do Marrakech and can afford to treat yourself, book in here and enjoy.

Adrian & Carol
Guildford, UK

Room Tip: We booked too late to get one, but go for one at the top, you get your own verranda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

For a visitor arriving in Morocco, and Marrakech for the first time, I had no idea what to expect in terms of hotels and service. We were met by a courteous driver who took us on the 15 minute drive to the hotel. Pulling up to the hotel, we missed the entrance at first since it is a innocuous door, between a garage and shops. Stepping inside, you enter another world…

The riad is stunning. Originally built by a judge for him and his family, it is now a beautifully presented hotel with everything you need. Our room looked straight onto the largest courtyard with the main pool and restaurant: terrace for breakfast and lunch and poolside dining for dinner. There were another 2 pools, one rooftop and various courtyards and lounge areas where you could relax, drink mint tea or play backgammon.

Breakfast, lunch and all soft drinks were included and were excellent. The staff would also come round with poolside drinks and snacks during the afternoon. It is one of most relaxing places I have ever stayed in.

All the residents seemed to adopt the same routine. Breakfast at your leisure, venture out to explore Marrakech and then back in the afternoon to relax by the pool until early evening. We didn’t eat at the hotel in the evening but the poolside dining looked beautiful and the menu looked fabulous.

The staff balance fantastic service with friendliness, always happy to explain the history of the riad or answer any questions you have about Marrakech. It is also very easy to arrange guides, day trips or transport to other cities. These are not as cheap as you may imagine Morocco to be, but were value for money.

We also took advantage of the spa, complete with hamman, which still feels authentic for those (like me!) who weren’t quite brave enough to go to the public hamman in the medina.

Money wise, this is one of the more expensive hotels in Marrakech, but if you can treat yourself, you won’t be disappointed and it is good value and a great location inside the medina. We booked through splendia.com and got a good deal but also went back at the end of our vacation and booked directly with the hotel which was equally easy and comparable in price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We have stayed at the Villa des Orangers several times before and despite the countless choice of new riads/hotels which look tempting we have always returned to the Villa. This is a very special place. My husband and I wanted a complete break and rest from a very hectic year and we were not disappointed. The staff are completely wonderful! They are efficient, quick, thoughtful, skilled and just lovely people! We can not fault them. From the smiling Monsieur who collects you from the airport to the charismatic Maitre d'hotel, to the lovely ladies who serve breakfast and lunch with such CHARM and grace. It is such a pleasure to be there.

Marrakech continues to surprise and entrance, we found places we had not seen before and experienced things we had not imagined too. Helped by the super efficient front desk we were directed to a wonderful guide 'Ali' and to two great restaurants. The taxi firm had meters which saved the quite exhausting routine of bartering for the price of a taxi ride! Everything has been thought of.

It is wonderful to have the delicious lunch included in the room rate. It can be difficult to eat casually in Marrakech, it's not like Europe where one can wonder into a cafe or restaurant on the street. Having this wonderful lunch to return to after a hard morning sight seeing in the heat or bartering in the souk was just perfect. Then after a rest and a swim in one of the pools one can return to the souk with renewed energy for the battle ahead!

The chef is extremely skilled and creative. The food is delicious and beautifully presented. We had a superb dinner one night again served with great charm and skill by their restaurant team.

You can not fault this hotel, it is just wonderful.

Room Tip: The rooms with private roof terrace offer the opportunity to sit in the morning sun, sipping fresh o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Definitely a hotel for couples ...of any age.
Very rustic and a rooftop pool that is so peaceful.
We ate at the restaurant twice the staff are great and very attentive.
Very lose to all you want to see as a tourist.
Get a suite with a roof top terrace we had breakfast and lunch on ours so restful.
The rates include breakfast, lunch plus soft drinks and laundry so maybe not so expensive as first thought!
We will go back

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Villa des Orangers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa des Orangers

Also Known As:
La Villa Des Orangers Hotel Marrakech
La Villa Des Orangers Hotel
La Hotel Marrakech
La Hotel Des Orangers
Address: 6 rue Sidi Mimoun, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#25 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#51 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#75 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Villa des Orangers 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the foot of the Koutoubia mosque, with its matchless landmark minaret and only 5 minutes walk from the Jemaa el Fna square, the Villa des Orangers offers an exceptional location to explore the medina. The Villa des Orangers is an intimate haven of peace located near the bustling souks of Marrakech with 27 rooms and suites arranged on two levels around three verdant open-sky patios with water fountains surrounded by galleries of chiseled plaster and a garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Expedia, Priceline, HotelsClick, Escapio, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your La Villa des Orangers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Villa des Orangers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.