We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Villa des Orangers

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added La Villa des Orangers to your Saves list
La Villa des Orangers
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 rue Sidi Mimoun, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
paris
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

Wonderful Riad and very attentive staff. This is a real 5 star place and we recommend it highly for couples or singles. We stayed in a deluxe room with a private terrace overlooking the medina. Then got upgraded to a room also with a private terrace and with a the biggest bathroom we have seen,all marble. The decoration of the rooms and of the riad is high end. The attention to detail is exceptional.

A special thanks to our exceptional host, the Manager Jean-Paul, who did everything to make our stay unforgettable. We will be back for sure.
Mario&Nathalie

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    31
    4
    4
    4
See reviews for
43
213
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
winchester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

To walk into the The Villa Des Orangers from the road outside with its eclectic mixture of cars, motorbikes, bicycles and horse and carts, is to walk straight back into a serenity and beauty that could have come straight out of an Arabian Nights story book.

Previous reviews detail the splendour of the old Riyadh buildings, the cool fountains full of fresh, delicate rose petals, the swimming pools so swimmer–friendly, the delicious food and, most of all, the professional, attentive, and highly personable staff.

My husband and I – the daftnotstupid team – endorse all these comments. But what, I think, speaks louder than words, is the fact that we have been staying at the Villa Des Orangers every June for the last 10 or so years.

As part of the press corps covering the Essaouira Gnaoua and World Music Festival, we choose to spend several days at the Hotel before and after the Festival to totally relax; and the Villa Des Orangers is by far the best place to do that.

We have stayed in nearly every one of the rooms, ranging from the smaller two level inner rooms to the magnificent suite facing the ground floor swimming pool. Our preference, however, is to have one of the terrace suites, with the bedroom a flight of steps below.

There is no better way to spend an evening than to chill out on our own terrace, usually in swimwear well into the evening, and having our dinner served for us on the terrace. That is, after having had a beauty treatment or two at the newly created spa. Every so often we hear the call to prayer cascading around the town and the drumming from the Djema el Fna Square. And when the sun has set, it is a delight to lie on our loungers and trace the stars.

As you can well imagine, we cannot recommend this wonderful place highly enough.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

Firstly this is billed as a hotel but it is a Riad in all but name with good location near the Royal Palace on the edge of the Medina - just a short walk to the Mosques and Jmaa El Fnaa square.
It is French owned and beautifully appointed with architectural mouldings and carvings in abundance with attentive staff lovely rooms around a quadrant format puntuated with flowers and the central orange tree.
It has a spa and beautiful pool plus a relaxing roof terrace.
The breakfasts- served in the room were a joy comprising Moroccan fresh goodies and my wife and I when unable to dine in the excellent restaurant on account of it understandably being fully booked were offered an alternative in an instant- we dined in the most romantic of settings in a beautiful hunting lodge/Moroccan room log fire silver service Michelin standard food with first taste Moroccan wine from Essouira!
You will go a long time in life and not repeat such a good experience.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

This excellent Riad provided a most peaceful respite from the hub-bub of Marrakech. The location is excellent, just minutes walk from Djemaa el Fna. Our room was spacious and extremely well appointed. The staff was gracious almost without exception, and the lunch was especially good. The pool was also a bit warmer than others we swam in Morocco, which our teen and pre-teen children enjoyed. However, please note that quiet and decorum are expected in the pool and elsewhere throughout the property. If you want simple elegance, quiet and refined service and relative proximity to Djemaa el Fna, this Riad would suit you well.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West-Indies
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

This was my first trip to Marrakech for a friends birthday and I am so glad we were recommended to stay in the Villa des Orangers. It is probably the best hotel I stayed in ever! and we travel an awful lot. Everything was simply perfect. The staff (nothing too much, ever present, but discreet, especially the maitre d'. My husband and I fell in love with him). The room was wonderful (even though the first days were a bit cold and we stayed indoors a lot, they kept the fire going for us all day and night). We also had the added bonus of a view of the snow covered Atlas mountains from our terrace. A beautiful restaurant with heavenly food. They also were very happy to adjust to my food preferences. All done with great style and courtesy. A wonderful place with great hospitality, friendliness and charm. We definitely will go back, I hope very soon.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gloucestershire, uk
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

While we thought the bedrooms a little dingy (very nice tho, just not as nice as our next destination!), the rest of this place is OUTSTANDING!!

I'm not sure why this Villa isn't rated higher as it's a huge palace offering everything you could want, very central, and the poolside is to die for.

The staff are great (they'll organise your nights out for you with pleasure), the restaurant fab, and we were quite blown away with the luxury of the several communal areas.

We really liked the free drinks and lunch (DELICIOUS!) which saved us money during our trip. The gym was well equipped and we had a superb stay.

I think you can book it with confidence - get ready to marvel at the interior.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

We stayed at this quality hotel, hidden behind large wooden doors, close to the Palace and the main Djemaa El Fna Square. The hotel consists of two Riads the first being traditional and the second more modern with a large swimming pool. Our junor suite was large and was adjacent to a more private small swimming pool. The meals were exceptional, although the dinners were reasonably expensive (on Moroccan standards). Management was very efficient and service could not be faulted. The hotel is a place where one can feel totally secure and at the end of the day listen to the musicians while having complimentary drinks in either Riad. Definitely worth staying here.

Room Tip: A room next to the "private" pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Villa des Orangers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa des Orangers

Address: 6 rue Sidi Mimoun, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#12 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#16 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#26 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Villa des Orangers 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the foot of the Koutoubia mosque, with its matchless landmark minaret and only 5 minutes walk from the Jemaa el Fna square, the Villa des Orangers offers an exceptional location to explore the medina. The Villa des Orangers is an intimate haven of peace located near the bustling souks of Marrakech with 27 rooms and suites arranged on two levels around three verdant open-sky patios with water fountains surrounded by galleries of chiseled plaster and a garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Escapio and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Villa des Orangers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Villa Des Orangers Hotel Marrakech
La Hotel Marrakech
La Hotel Des Orangers

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Villa des Orangers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.